We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love the Ben Lomond Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bigelow Hotel and Residences, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Ogden
Reviewed November 5, 2013

I make occasional trips to Ogden, and love staying at the Ben Lomond Hotel. I love the old-timey feel of this grand old dame, built in the late 1920s, I believe. The prices are right, the beds are comfy, and they even play (softly) 1930s and '40s swing band tunes in the corridors. Get a corner suite and enjoy the view of Ogden's Washington Blvd. You can see down a hugely revitalized 25th Street to the Union Pacific depot/museum at the end. There's a nice little restaurant on the top floor, with more great views, a pleasant Irish pub on the main floor, also with good food. It's fun to be smack-dab downtown, too. Breakfast is enjoyable. The scrambled eggs with cheese are always good, and I love the bacon. This is how hotels are 'spozed to be. (And the front desk folks are helpful.) It's a quiet hotel; at least I've never noticed any rowdy customers. What a grand place.

Room Tip: Get one of the suites overlooking Washington Blvd. The price is fine, and the view is sublime.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarlaSuzie_47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayBenLomondSuites, Owner at Bigelow Hotel and Residences, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear CarlaSuzie_47,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay, view and breakfast. We can't wait to share your review with our team.

We hope you stay with us again soon.

Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (376)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 376 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2013

The Ben Lomond Suites is a handsome 1920s building (the tallest in Ogden), elegantly restored and maintained. We had a large suite with a well-furnished sitting room and a comfortable sleeping area. There's a parking garage for guests and a top-floor restaurant (unfortunately closed on the Sunday we were there) and an Irish pub and restaurant on the main floor. Breakfast was in an alcove off the main lobby. It had good variety and was well-presented. The staff we dealt with were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Our eighth-floor room offered a nice mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dapope01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayBenLomondSuites, Owner at Bigelow Hotel and Residences, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear Dapope01,

Thank you for staying with us and writing such a nice review. We are so glad you enjoyed our historic building, restaurant and large suite. We hope you have the opportunity to stay with us again soon.

Have a wonderful day!

Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

On a recent trip to the west coast we stopped in Ogden UT looking for a place to stay. Went to the Ben Lomond and had the most enjoyable stop on our trip. The hotel was more than accommodating, the room was perfect for our needs, the staff was very friendly, and the breakfast was very good. Historic building with photos throughout the building of the past. Went down the street and enjoyed the restaurants and retail stores. For an overnight stay, we enjoyed ourselves so much, we plan to go back and spend more time just in Ogden.

Room Tip: free ramp parking. A little off the main road, but worth the drive into the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayBenLomondSuites, Owner at Bigelow Hotel and Residences, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Bob H,

Thank you for staying with us and writing an excellent review. We are so happy to hear that we were the most enjoyable stop on your trip.

We hope you make back our way again soon!

Have a wonderful day!

Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We have made multiple trips to Ogden to watch our daughter play soccer (Go Weber !)
The Ben Lomond has become out home away from home. Great service. Clean/comfortable rooms. Great views. Great breakfast. Hotel has lots of character. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayBenLomondSuites, Owner at Bigelow Hotel and Residences, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear Thomas W.,

Thank you for staying with us when you come to Ogden to watch your daughter's soccer games at Weber State University. We are glad that Ben Lomond Suites has become a home away from home for you, that sort of comfort is what we strive for. Thank you for posting such a kind review.

We hope to see you again soon!

Have a fabulous day!
Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This was our first stop on this tour,.we performed at the Egyptian Theatre.This hotel,staff,and hospitality was the best.We also enjoyed the city and the scenery was incredible.We hope to stay here again on our next concert at the Egyptian Theatre..

Room Tip: Beautiful place with an excellent staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayBenLomondSuites, Owner at Bigelow Hotel and Residences, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear Steve U,

Thank you for staying with us for your performance at the Egyptian Theater. We are glad you enjoyed the hotel and Ogden.

We are looking forward to your next performance in Ogden.

Have a wonderful day!

Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed at the Ben Lomond Suites in Ogden twice in the past 1.5 weeks. The location is right on 25th Street (lots of shopping, restaurants, pubs), and is a beautiful historic building. If you love architecture, this is the place to stay. The rooms were HUGE - "bedroom" area, and a "sitting room" area (each with a tv). Wet bar, including sink and mini-fridge. Had dinner at McCools, and the food was amazing (mostly Irish themed). Had tv's to catch football, too. Would absolutely stay here again! (Staff was great, too - and we were allowed to take our mountain bikes up to our rooms!)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayBenLomondSuites, Owner at Bigelow Hotel and Residences, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Lisa R.,

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for writing a great review. We are so happy you loved the architecture and took full advantage of our huge suites.

We look forward to you staying with us again soon!

Have a grand day!

Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

My boyfriend and i are staying at Ben Lomond Suites for the weekend, as my sister is getting married in the hotel. We got in, and tried checking in, however my reservation could not be found. The lovely ladies working the front desk, Lashelle and Josselyn, were extremely sweet, and genuinely upset for me. I had booked through hotels.com, so I gave them a call, waited 20 minutes on hold to find out they had COMPLETELY misspelled my name, both first and last. Once found, Lashelle was kind enough to upgrade our room for our trouble, even though it was hotels.com's mix up, and not the actual hotel's. I'm very pleased with the service I've received here, and the room is wonderful. I highly recommend coming here if you're ever in Ogden.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AimeeNicoleCezloer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayBenLomondSuites, Owner at Bigelow Hotel and Residences, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear AimeeNicoleCezloer,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to post such a nice review. We are sorry to hear about the mix up with hotels.com, we are glad that Lashelle and Josselyn were able to upgrade you and help with the mix up.

We hope to see you again soon.

Have a lovely day!

Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ogden hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ogden
2.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 21 in Ogden
316 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ogden UT
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus High Country Inn
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Ogden
Courtyard Ogden
#6 of 21 in Ogden
143 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ogden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bigelow Hotel and Residences, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bigelow Hotel and Residences, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Address: 2510 Washington Blvd, Ogden, UT 84401-3137 (Formerly Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Ogden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ogden
#3 Family Hotel in Ogden
#6 Business Hotel in Ogden
Price Range: $78 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bigelow Hotel and Residences, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in Utah's second oldest hotel. It is rich in history including the gambling, extortion, bootlegging and corrupt cops. Step back in time and have the Grand Dame of Ogden welcome you. Just like Mae West in the 20s and 30s, the Historic Ben Lomond Suites ran the city. She was big and boisterous and ran the town her way. The Ben Lomond is the only all suite hotel located in downtown Ogden. Ben Lomond Suites is located in the epicenter of Ogden. All within walking distance of numerous independent restaurants and bars, shopping, night life, theaters, Ogden Eccles Conference Center, Ogden Amphitheater, Egyptian Theater, Salomon Center. All rooms are suites with microwave, fridges. Rooms are larger than a standard hotel with separate living rooms and bedrooms. Free wireless internet, and free covered parking. Ben Lomond Hotel has a business center, fitness center, and coin operated guest laundry. Ben Lomond Hotel also has 6 event spaces that have capacities of 25 to 350 guests. Ben Lomond Hotel has two great restaurants and a bar. Breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as room service are available daily at the hotel's on-site restaurant, The Bigelow Grill. Fine evening dining can be found at Restaurant 1107 located on the hotel's 11th floor. Come and enjoy Ogden's history and find out why Al Capone said, "Ogden is too rough a town for me!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Bigelow Hotel and Residences, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ben Lomond Historic Suite
Bigelow Hotel And Residences, An Ascend Hotel Collection Member Ogden, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing