We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An outstanding receptionist”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Ogden
Certificate of Excellence
Swannanoa, North Carolina
1 review
“An outstanding receptionist”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my two-day stay at the Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel. Every aspect of service was fine, although the breakfast was a little dodgy - bagels were stale and the choices for a vegetarian were limited. Especially enjoyable were brief conversations with Ms. Lan, a receptionist at the hotel. She was most accommodating while arranging for my room and delightful to converse with. She makes one feel welcome and she's a credit to her profession.

Room Tip: If you book online, deal with the hotels directly. It's my impression that you may get better r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LyallC2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayBenLomondSuites, Owner at Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear LyallC2013,

Thank you for staying with us at Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel and sharing your outstanding review on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you enjoyed interacting with Lan and we look forward to sharing your comments with her. We would love it if you would email us your ideas for improving the vegetarian offerings at breakfast. Our email address is on our website under contact us.

We hope you stay with us again soon here in Ogden.

Have an outstanding day!

Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    100
    46
    15
    17
See reviews for
88
116
25
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
SUMMERFIELD
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Staff-friendly,extremely helpful, helped with luggage, cooked something for me because I could not eat what was already cooked. Room, large, clean,well appointed. Historic hotel. Such fun to stay there. Hope to return.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lewalsojr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayBenLomondSuites, Owner at Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Lewalsojr,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We are looking forward to sharing your comments with our hotel team. We are glad that our team was helpful and cooked something that accommodated your dietary needs.

We hope you stay with us again soon!

Have a splendid day!

Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zephyrhills, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on our way to Salt Lake City from Yellowstone. It is a lovely old hotel with many beautifully restored areas. The staff was outstanding and made us feel welcome. The rooms were spacious and very comfortable.The on site restaurants were outstanding. It was a delightful stay in a charming little town. The old Union station nearby had great museums and we hated to leave Ogden.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Louise Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayBenLomondSuites, Owner at Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Mary Louise Z.,

Thank you for choosing to make us a part of your road trip to Salt Lake City and sharing your wonderful review on TripAdvisor. We are so glad you enjoyed our historic building and our team made you feel welcome. Hopefully you will get to stay with us again soon and enjoy more of what Ogden has to offer. If you are a snow skier, Snowbasin and Powder Mountain are great ski resorts just 30 minutes from the hotel that you won't want to miss.

Have a wonderful day!

Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandeville, Louisiana
2 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I did not expect this hotel to be what it was. clean, comfortable with really great customer service. i loved the lobby and breakfast and was grateful the room was comfortable and clean. Had to stay here sight unseen but would gladly stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steffanie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayBenLomondSuites, Owner at Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Hi Steffanie E.,

Thank you for staying with us at Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel and taking the time to write such a pleasant review. We are so pleased we exceeded you expectations. We can't wait to share your review with our team.

We hope you stay with us again the next time you are in Ogden.

Have a lovely day!

Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona, USA
Level Contributor
309 reviews
209 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I stayed at this hotel on business in the 1960s. Wow, it sure has changed. It still retains its historic character, but the rooms have been upgraded and are super nice. We were checked in by a very pleasant and efficient desk clerk (Yashelle) who gave us a lot of information plus a voucher for a free appetizer at the Irish restaurant in the hotel. We had a suite with two double beds for the price of $76.50 plus tax (senior rate). There was a bedroom and a sitting room, both with nice TVs. The beds were very comfortable, with pillow-top mattresses. There was a fridge, microwave and a coffee maker in the room. The sitting area had a desk and chair plus a couch, coffee table, and two end tables, all very nice furniture. The bathroom was roomy with a shower-tub combination with a Jacuzzi-type tub. The breakfast was very good with scrambled eggs, potatoes and bacon in addition to the usual cold items. We were planning to move to a hotel in Salt Lake for the next night, but we were so impressed by the room and the price that we extended for an additional night, trading off the driving time into Salt Lake for the amenities and price of the Ben Lomond. Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jspace63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayBenLomondSuites, Owner at Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Jspace63,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write such a nice review. It is so fun that you stayed at the hotel in the 1960s. That was before the 1980s renovation that took the hotel from 350 rooms to 124 rooms, so I'm sure that your room felt much bigger.

We are glad that you enjoyed your suite and breakfast enough to extend your stay with us another day. We hope to see you again soon!

Have a great day!

Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

This hotel has old-fashioned charm and friendly service at an excellent price. Our room was cozy, clean, and comfortable. The parking garage was handy and free. Good restaurants and entertainment are a short walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MC4252013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayBenLomondSuites, Owner at Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Mc4252013,

We are so glad that you enjoyed our hotel's old-fashioned charm and friendly service. It sounds like you got to enjoy some of the fun things downtown Ogden has to offer. If you have time this winter you should visit us again and explore Christmas Village (the holiday display across the street from the hotel) and Snowbasin and Power Mountain Ski Resorts.

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your review. We hope that you stay with us again soon.

Have a wonderful day!

Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valley village, ca
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Originally built in 1889 with the towers added in 1921. Very charming lobby from the 1890's period. Lots of historic pictures of the hotel and Ogden.
Friendly and accommodating staff. When we discovered a problem with our first room, we were upgraded to the honeymoon suite at no additional charge. The restaurant, while small, offered a nice view of the Wasatch mountains and the food that we had was very good.
If you are into historic buildings, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayBenLomondSuites, Owner at Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Jim S.,

We are so happy that you enjoyed our historic ambiance and friendly staff. We apologize that there was a problem with your first room, but we are glad that our team members were able to make it right.

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. We hope you have the opportunity to visit us again soon.

Have a lovely day!

Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ogden hotels
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus High Country Inn
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ogden
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ogden UT
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 21 in Ogden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Ogden
Courtyard Ogden
#8 of 21 in Ogden
3.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ogden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel

Property: Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Address: 2510 Washington Blvd, Ogden, UT 84401-3137
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Ogden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ogden
#3 Family Hotel in Ogden
#6 Business Hotel in Ogden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in Utah's second oldest hotel. It is rich in history including the gambling, extortion, bootlegging and corrupt cops. Step back in time and have the Grand Dame of Ogden welcome you. Just like Mae West in the 20s and 30s, the Historic Ben Lomond Suites ran the city. She was big and boisterous and ran the town her way. The Ben Lomond is the only all suite hotel located in downtown Ogden. Ben Lomond Suites is located in the epicenter of Ogden. All within walking distance of numerous independent restaurants and bars, shopping, night life, theaters, Ogden Eccles Conference Center, Ogden Amphitheater, Egyptian Theater, Salomon Center. All rooms are suites with microwave, fridges. Rooms are larger than a standard hotel with separate living rooms and bedrooms. Free wireless internet, and free covered parking. Ben Lomond Hotel has a business center, fitness center, and coin operated guest laundry. Ben Lomond Hotel also has 6 event spaces that have capacities of 25 to 350 guests. Ben Lomond Hotel has two great restaurants and a bar. Breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as room service are available daily at the hotel's on-site restaurant, The Bigelow Grill. Fine evening dining can be found at Restaurant 1107 located on the hotel's 11th floor. Come and enjoy Ogden's history and find out why Al Capone said, "Ogden is too rough a town for me!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ben Lomond Historic Suite
Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, An Ascend Collection Hotel Ogden, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing