We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bigelow Hotel and Residences, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Ogden
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Ben Lomond Suite was and exceptional stay. Very beautiful and clean. Well worth checking out. We stay for 2 nights and enjoyed the comforts of this Hotel. Better yet the breakfast was exceptionally well done. Couldn't believe it was a full elf serve breakfast and free at that

Room Tip: It was a single queen size room with a living room very nice and cozy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aubrey w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayBenLomondSuites, Owner at Bigelow Hotel and Residences, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear Aubrey W.,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We love sharing good reviews with our team. We are so glad that you enjoyed the beauty of our hotel and breakfast, we know that housekeeping and the breakfast team will love hearing your praise.

Thank you again for taking the time to review our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (379)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

292 - 298 of 379 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

This place saved us from a horrible experience at the Summit Hotel. They were able to set us up in a great corner suite for the same price as the Summit. Areas of improvement include housekeeping and front desk service. After several conversations they were unable to honor our tax exempt status that we clearly explained submitted all of the documentation. But overall it was a nice stay and we enjoyed having the extra room.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlisonLM8021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayBenLomondSuites, Owner at Bigelow Hotel and Residences, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Dear AlisonLM8021,

Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review. We are glad that we were able to help you have a pleasant stay in Ogden, Utah and that you enjoyed our large suites. We apologize that we were not able to honor your tax exempt status. The state requires that we have very exact tax exempt documentation, if we do not have the correct form the hotel is required to pay the tax out of pocket.

Thank you again for the review. We hope you stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

This hotel use to be one of our family's favorites to stay lodge at when we were in Ogden for business or pleasure. Four years ago someone bought them out and from our recent stay in April 2013 I would say customer service went with the sale of the ownership. First they booked our reservation for the wrong dates and did not have a room when we arrived. It took them several hours to allow us to stay in one of their condos for the two night stay. Due to our large family we needed a roll-away which was promised at no charge and they charged us for it. The next morning for breakfast when we went down there was no food available and even the bread basket for toast was empty as well as hot water for tea. They had several people waiting in line to eat. When i mentioned something to the front desk staff they simply said well we can not guess how much to have with a who cares attitude. Then when i t was time to service the rooms the left no clean towels in the room. They told us at 3:00 in the afternoon when we asked for towels they were all being washed but miraculously when i asked for the management name and number to contact we had clean towels to our room within fifteen minutes. I found the front desk staff and breakfast staff very rude. Although the hotel is beautiful the service makes it ugly. Guaranteed to never re-visit.

Room Tip: Do not stay at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayBenLomondSuites, Owner at Bigelow Hotel and Residences, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Dear Shay P.,

We are very sad to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We apologize for the mistaken date on your reservation and that a room was not immediately available for you to check into. We are also sad to hear that you had difficulty with breakfast and housekeeping. A quick glance at our TripAdvisor reviews shows that your experience is not the norm for our hotel. We would greatly appreciate it if you would call us or shoot us an email with the name your reservation was under so we can look into your experience further and address it with additional training. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us so we can learn from it and improve our service.

Have a nice day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We were there for just one night as we were meeting some parts of our extended family. The rooms are gorgeous, we were given a room with a four poster bed and a jacuzzi in the bathroom. However being an old hotel water pressure was not the best and filling the tub up took some time. We never managed to get the water really hot either but guess that too is down to the age of the hotel. We truly enjoyed our stay, but had to rush out in the morning as there was a bicycle race going on and they were closing down the street. We forgot our sons baby towel there, but after a phone call when we arrived back in Sweden, hotel staff were able to locate in and with our close family returning to Ogden later on that summer, we were able to get the towel back. Will certainly go back if we get the opportunity.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swede81Sweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayBenLomondSuites, Owner at Bigelow Hotel and Residences, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Dear Swede81Sweden,

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We are sorry to hear that the tub did not fill up quickly with hot water. If this ever happens again while visiting a hotel give the front desk a call so they can either have maintenance correct the problem immediately or move you to another room. If you remember your room number shoot us an email so we can confirm that the water pressure and temperature in the room are set correctly. We are glad that we were able to get your son's baby towel back to you efficiently. We hope that you will visit us again soon when you visit your family in Ogden. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor.

Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

I always stay at the Ben Lomond in Ogden. I stay there for business and pleasure. Great historic place and is kept that way. Staff is always friendly and helpful. Free hot breakfast is worth having. Staff remembers me from previous stay 3 months ago. Rooms are spacious and I don't hear my neighbors at all. Kitchen with coffee, fridge and micro, are a great benefit to the rooms. The bar/restaurant on the first floor is very good too. An Irish theme food and beer pub. A live three piece irish band was there Wednesday night. Nice resaurant on the 11th floor, I haven't tried, but have heard it is great too. Even the elevator is historic.

Room Tip: double queens or kings are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayBenLomondSuites, Owner at Bigelow Hotel and Residences, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear Lynn F,

Thank you for staying with us when you visit Ogden. We are so happy that you enjoy our hotel, staff and breakfast. We are glad you got to catch the live three piece Irish band at MacCool's on Wednesday, they add a lot of atmosphere to your meal. We can't wait to share your review with our team. Thank you so much for taking the time to write this nice review.

Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

A grand historic hotel. Delilghtful breakfasts. Outstanding restaurants in hotel.
An easy driving distance to both Snow Basin & Powder Mountain.
Also easy drive from Salt Lake City. Personal very helpful and gracious !

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carolynk935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayBenLomondSuites, Owner at Bigelow Hotel and Residences, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear Carolynk935,

Thank you for taking the time to write a great review. We are so glad you enjoyed breakfast, MacCool's and Restaurant 1107. We are happy you discovered our two wonderful ski resorts, Snowbasin and Powder Mountain. They are great mountains that are not well know to people outside of the local area, which means no crowds. We can't wait to share your review with the rest of the team, we love being praised for being helpful.

Thank you for staying with us, we hope to see you again soon. Have a spectacular day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

My husband stayed here once before for a business trip and enjoyed his stay. We came to spend time here as a family for a few days. We really love this historical, classy hotel. The staff is super friendly and helpful. It was a very relaxing, pleasant stay. I look forward to returning for another stay in the near future. Maybe just my husband and I the next time! Great experience...

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hhconley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayBenLomondSuites, Owner at Bigelow Hotel and Residences, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear HHConley,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We are so glad you and your husband enjoy our historic hotel. We look forward to sharing your review with our team, we love hearing that they were friendly and helpful. We hope you visit us again soon.
Have a delightful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ogden hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ogden
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ogden UT
2.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 21 in Ogden
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus High Country Inn
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Ogden
Courtyard Ogden
#6 of 21 in Ogden
145 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#9 of 21 in Ogden
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bigelow Hotel and Residences, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bigelow Hotel and Residences, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Address: 2510 Washington Blvd, Ogden, UT 84401-3137 (Formerly Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Ogden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ogden
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ogden
#6 Business Hotel in Ogden
Price Range: $105 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bigelow Hotel and Residences, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in Utah's second oldest hotel. It is rich in history including the gambling, extortion, bootlegging and corrupt cops. Step back in time and have the Grand Dame of Ogden welcome you. Just like Mae West in the 20s and 30s, the Historic Ben Lomond Suites ran the city. She was big and boisterous and ran the town her way. The Ben Lomond is the only all suite hotel located in downtown Ogden. Ben Lomond Suites is located in the epicenter of Ogden. All within walking distance of numerous independent restaurants and bars, shopping, night life, theaters, Ogden Eccles Conference Center, Ogden Amphitheater, Egyptian Theater, Salomon Center. All rooms are suites with microwave, fridges. Rooms are larger than a standard hotel with separate living rooms and bedrooms. Free wireless internet, and free covered parking. Ben Lomond Hotel has a business center, fitness center, and coin operated guest laundry. Ben Lomond Hotel also has 6 event spaces that have capacities of 25 to 350 guests. Ben Lomond Hotel has two great restaurants and a bar. Breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as room service are available daily at the hotel's on-site restaurant, The Bigelow Grill. Fine evening dining can be found at Restaurant 1107 located on the hotel's 11th floor. Come and enjoy Ogden's history and find out why Al Capone said, "Ogden is too rough a town for me!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Bigelow Hotel and Residences, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ben Lomond Historic Suite
Bigelow Hotel And Residences, An Ascend Hotel Collection Member Ogden, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing