We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bigelow Hotel and Residences, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Suites(Ogden)(Great Value!)
$95
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn & Suites Ogden(Ogden)(Great Value!)
$129
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus High Country Inn(Ogden)(Great Value!)
$95
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$118
$107
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
$104
Courtyard
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$60
Motel 6
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Express Ogden(Ogden)(Great Value!)
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleep Inn(Ogden)
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$125
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (394)
Filter reviews
395 results
Traveler rating
198
110
49
18
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
198
110
49
18
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsben lomondhistoric hotelsitting roomfront deskseparate bedroomsleeping areabar sinkjetted tubrooms are spaciouswithin walking distanceflat screencovered parkingcookie cuttercoffee makerbagelsdowntown ogdenunion station
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
309 - 314 of 395 reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2013

This hotel use to be one of our family's favorites to stay lodge at when we were in Ogden for business or pleasure. Four years ago someone bought them out and from our recent stay in April 2013 I would say customer service went with the sale of the ownership. First they booked our reservation for the wrong dates and did not have a room when we arrived. It took them several hours to allow us to stay in one of their condos for the two night stay. Due to our large family we needed a roll-away which was promised at no charge and they charged us for it. The next morning for breakfast when we went down there was no food available and even the bread basket for toast was empty as well as hot water for tea. They had several people waiting in line to eat. When i mentioned something to the front desk staff they simply said well we can not guess how much to have with a who cares attitude. Then when i t was time to service the rooms the left no clean towels in the room. They told us at 3:00 in the afternoon when we asked for towels they were all being washed but miraculously when i asked for the management name and number to contact we had clean towels to our room within fifteen minutes. I found the front desk staff and breakfast staff very rude. Although the hotel is beautiful the service makes it ugly. Guaranteed to never re-visit.

Room Tip: Do not stay at this hotel.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayBenLomondSuites, Owner at Bigelow Hotel and Residences, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Dear Shay P.,

We are very sad to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We apologize for the mistaken date on your reservation and that a room was not immediately available for you to check into. We are also sad to hear that you had difficulty with breakfast and housekeeping. A quick glance at our TripAdvisor reviews shows that your experience is not the norm for our hotel. We would greatly appreciate it if you would call us or shoot us an email with the name your reservation was under so we can look into your experience further and address it with additional training. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us so we can learn from it and improve our service.

Have a nice day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We were there for just one night as we were meeting some parts of our extended family. The rooms are gorgeous, we were given a room with a four poster bed and a jacuzzi in the bathroom. However being an old hotel water pressure was not the best and filling the tub up took some time. We never managed to get the water really hot either but guess that too is down to the age of the hotel. We truly enjoyed our stay, but had to rush out in the morning as there was a bicycle race going on and they were closing down the street. We forgot our sons baby towel there, but after a phone call when we arrived back in Sweden, hotel staff were able to locate in and with our close family returning to Ogden later on that summer, we were able to get the towel back. Will certainly go back if we get the opportunity.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swede81Sweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayBenLomondSuites, Owner at Bigelow Hotel and Residences, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Dear Swede81Sweden,

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We are sorry to hear that the tub did not fill up quickly with hot water. If this ever happens again while visiting a hotel give the front desk a call so they can either have maintenance correct the problem immediately or move you to another room. If you remember your room number shoot us an email so we can confirm that the water pressure and temperature in the room are set correctly. We are glad that we were able to get your son's baby towel back to you efficiently. We hope that you will visit us again soon when you visit your family in Ogden. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor.

Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

I always stay at the Ben Lomond in Ogden. I stay there for business and pleasure. Great historic place and is kept that way. Staff is always friendly and helpful. Free hot breakfast is worth having. Staff remembers me from previous stay 3 months ago. Rooms are spacious and I don't hear my neighbors at all. Kitchen with coffee, fridge and micro, are a great benefit to the rooms. The bar/restaurant on the first floor is very good too. An Irish theme food and beer pub. A live three piece irish band was there Wednesday night. Nice resaurant on the 11th floor, I haven't tried, but have heard it is great too. Even the elevator is historic.

Room Tip: double queens or kings are all good.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayBenLomondSuites, Owner at Bigelow Hotel and Residences, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear Lynn F,

Thank you for staying with us when you visit Ogden. We are so happy that you enjoy our hotel, staff and breakfast. We are glad you got to catch the live three piece Irish band at MacCool's on Wednesday, they add a lot of atmosphere to your meal. We can't wait to share your review with our team. Thank you so much for taking the time to write this nice review.

Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

A grand historic hotel. Delilghtful breakfasts. Outstanding restaurants in hotel.
An easy driving distance to both Snow Basin & Powder Mountain.
Also easy drive from Salt Lake City. Personal very helpful and gracious !

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carolynk935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayBenLomondSuites, Owner at Bigelow Hotel and Residences, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear Carolynk935,

Thank you for taking the time to write a great review. We are so glad you enjoyed breakfast, MacCool's and Restaurant 1107. We are happy you discovered our two wonderful ski resorts, Snowbasin and Powder Mountain. They are great mountains that are not well know to people outside of the local area, which means no crowds. We can't wait to share your review with the rest of the team, we love being praised for being helpful.

Thank you for staying with us, we hope to see you again soon. Have a spectacular day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

My husband stayed here once before for a business trip and enjoyed his stay. We came to spend time here as a family for a few days. We really love this historical, classy hotel. The staff is super friendly and helpful. It was a very relaxing, pleasant stay. I look forward to returning for another stay in the near future. Maybe just my husband and I the next time! Great experience...

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hhconley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayBenLomondSuites, Owner at Bigelow Hotel and Residences, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear HHConley,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We are so glad you and your husband enjoy our historic hotel. We look forward to sharing your review with our team, we love hearing that they were friendly and helpful. We hope you visit us again soon.
Have a delightful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews