We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bigelow Hotel and Residences, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Ogden
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I was excited when I got there because the lobby is nice and you know it is a historic building when you enter. My room was more like visiting my Grandma's house then a 3.5 start hotel, but I ended up kind of being okay with that. Staff was very nice and location was good as far as Ogden goes. I loved the restaurant, "McCool's" downstairs. It was a good experience overall, just different for sure.
The bed had lots of pillow's which was nice because I could just find the right one.

Room Tip: ask if they have a more modern room if possible. I should have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJfromCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayBenLomondSuites, Owner at Bigelow Hotel and Residences, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

We are glad you think our staff is nice, we love our friendly staff too.

We agree our hotel is in a prime downtown location, you can walk to Historic 25th Street and tons of restaurants, shops, bars, the movie theater, even minor league baseball games ; ).

We are so glad you enjoyed MacCool's, it is a great Irish pub. Just last month MacCool's finally got a club liquor license so guests can grab just a pint if they don't have time for a meal.

You can thank Lili, our head of housekeeping, for the lots of pillows. She doesn't think the bed looks right unless it has lots of pillows.

Just like Grandma we're a lit quirky, we think it comes with age, we are 85 years old after all.

Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (376)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

311 - 317 of 376 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2012

During a marathon drive from Texas back home to Washington State we were looking for lodging in Ogden Utah. Having stayed and a dingy, smelly place the nite before with pillows the size of postage stamps we decided it was worth a few more dollars to get a good nite's sleep. The Hotels.com app on my phone said this hotel was in our price range so we stopped. Words can't express how helpful Lan was at the desk. She must have seen the exhaustion on my face because she was beyond kind. The room was very large with a separate sitting area, immaculately clean, the bed so comfy and the pillows heavenly. The next morning we had an excellent breakfast including eggs and bacon in the lobby, all included, making the room an even better value. If you're in Ogden I highly recommend this hotel, you'll get decadent luxury and a price that will leave your wallet happy as well.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fran R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayBenLomondSuites, Manager at Bigelow Hotel and Residences, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Thank you for your nice review, we so glad you made it home safely to Washington. We are very happy that Lan treated you well, the room was clean and comfortable and you liked breakfast, our team at the hotel loves receiving this kind of praise. Thank you again for the review, we hope to see you again soon at Ben Lomond Suites.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

This hotel is beautiful and historic! The lobby is wonderful. The elevators have that historic yet slightly afraid they will break down charm. The front desk staff is always friendly. The views are amazing! The hotel sits in the only good part of Ogden (its downtown) and is in walking distance to everything that is anything in Ogden. The rooms are very large. We stayed in a suite and it is HUGE! The regular rooms are a good size too. The furnishings are dated but still stately. The beds are very comfortable. The haunting stories are fun and rather harmless. Your stay comes with a great breakfast in the beautiful lobby and all this for very reasonable rates. Really the only complaint is that in the summer the hotel hallways are VERY warm. The rooms have air conditioning and have be whatever temperature you desire but the hallways are warm.

Room Tip: Choose one that faces west for a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NGreen8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayBenLomondSuites, Owner at Bigelow Hotel and Residences, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Thank you for the nice review. I'm glad you enjoyed some of my favorite features of Ben Lomond Suites; the history, great location and large rooms. I'm also happy that you found the elevators charming and the haunting stories entertaining. In the three years I've been at Ben Lomond Suites the elevators' have entertained me with their quirky personalities, but have never tried to keep me with them. The hallways do get a bit warm on hot days in the summer but luckily Ogden only has a few hot days and the ACs in the rooms work great. Thanks again for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

I really couldn't have asked for more from the Ben Lomond. First off the lobby area is simply stunning. It is a genuine grand hotel. It was a great change from the Days Inn type places we normally stay. The rooms were very big and the bed was incredibly comfortable. The staff was great and the breakfast was much better than I had expected.

A bonus: Allegedly this place is haunted, so that aspect was pretty cool,

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dodg1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayBenLomondSuites, Manager at Bigelow Hotel and Residences, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and our grand historic lobby. We are looking forward to sharing your review with our team.

We agree ghost stories can be entertaining and when you have been around as long as we have people are bound to tell a few ghost stories for fun.

Thanks again for the review. Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Ogden is a pleasant place to stay and if in the area I would urge you to consider accommodation at the Ben Lomond Suites.

During our tour of the US we stayed at 17 different hotels and I have to say this was my personal favourite. We walked into our room and immediately thought 'Wow' simply because of the size of the place. Our accommodation comprised of a very large lounge area with comfortable seating and a good-size television. The bedroom was also of a decent size with a lovely big bed that was extremely comfortable and afforded a splendid night's sleep. There was a small kitchenette and the bathroom contained a jacuzzi which was quite wonderful after a hard day of driving. Everything was spotlessly clean and the room was faultless in every way. As a bonus, the hotel is centrally located, easy to find and provides secure underground parking.

We thought breakfast was 'okay' although nothing special, but that is a small point considering the quality of the accommodation. Not only is this a superb hotel but we considered it to be one of the best 'value for money' places we have ever stayed at.. We really can't praise this hotel enough and thoroughly recommend it to anyone thinking of staying in the Ogden area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tillard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayBenLomondSuites, Owner at Bigelow Hotel and Residences, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our historic hotel, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We are the only all suite hotel in downtown Ogden and as you noticed our rooms are much larger than other hotels. We are also glad to hear you had a good night's sleep, that's what we strive for. We would love to hear what we can add to breakfast to make it "great" instead of just "okay", if you have time shoot us an email with your ideas.

Thanks again for you nice review.

Have a Great Day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

This is really my kind of hotel. I love older hotels and search them out. That often comes with learning to deal with older facilities and not being surprised by the accommodations. I really loved this hotel. The outside facade and interior main areas are stunning. The views from the windows are really nice. The rooms are big, and the one point that always makes it or breaks it for me: the bedding is super comfortable. It was quiet. It was clean.
The downsides of this hotel, as previously mentioned, the bathrooms are furniture isn't so much antique as it is just dated. It felt a little like staying in Grandma's apartment circa 1985. That's not a bad thing, it just is what it is. The hallways are also a bit confusing as you get off the elevators.
Overall I would love to stay here again. The price can't be beat and I'm almost afraid one day they will renovate the bathrooms and furniture and so on and then it will be a $400 a night "boutique" hotel. Alas.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank okaugust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayBenLomondSuites, Owner at Bigelow Hotel and Residences, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Thank you for the review. Ben Lomond Suites is a beautiful historic hotel and we love it when our guests' enjoy our history as much as we do. We are hoping to be able to update the bathrooms in the next year or so. We wish we could fill Ben Lomond Suites at $400 a night, but do not plan to realize that dream in the near future. Thanks again for the nice review.

Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I want to like this hotel. Second time I've stayed here, it's probably 5+ years since my last stay on business. Overnight family trip this time. Picked it for the huge rooms. Got the double queen in a newly "updated" room. Beds were great. Flat screen tv in bedroom, old style small tube tv in living room. Pretty clean room and property. Breakfast was good with attentive staff. The bad. Room, bathroom, wallpaper, and furniture outdated and worn out. Properties can be old and fantastic, unfortunately our newly updated room was in need of another update. New bathrooms, new fixtures would help a lot.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcus_O_Really
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 10, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed breakfast. We have some of the largest rooms in town and as you stated they are great for families. If you are traveling with teens we even have two bedroom, two bath suites that give you even more room. Updating the bathrooms is the next item on our list of renovations for our beautiful historic hotel. Thank you again for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ogden hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ogden
2.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 21 in Ogden
316 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ogden UT
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus High Country Inn
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Ogden
Courtyard Ogden
#6 of 21 in Ogden
143 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ogden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bigelow Hotel and Residences, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bigelow Hotel and Residences, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Address: 2510 Washington Blvd, Ogden, UT 84401-3137 (Formerly Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Ogden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ogden
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ogden
#6 Business Hotel in Ogden
Price Range: $78 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bigelow Hotel and Residences, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in Utah's second oldest hotel. It is rich in history including the gambling, extortion, bootlegging and corrupt cops. Step back in time and have the Grand Dame of Ogden welcome you. Just like Mae West in the 20s and 30s, the Historic Ben Lomond Suites ran the city. She was big and boisterous and ran the town her way. The Ben Lomond is the only all suite hotel located in downtown Ogden. Ben Lomond Suites is located in the epicenter of Ogden. All within walking distance of numerous independent restaurants and bars, shopping, night life, theaters, Ogden Eccles Conference Center, Ogden Amphitheater, Egyptian Theater, Salomon Center. All rooms are suites with microwave, fridges. Rooms are larger than a standard hotel with separate living rooms and bedrooms. Free wireless internet, and free covered parking. Ben Lomond Hotel has a business center, fitness center, and coin operated guest laundry. Ben Lomond Hotel also has 6 event spaces that have capacities of 25 to 350 guests. Ben Lomond Hotel has two great restaurants and a bar. Breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as room service are available daily at the hotel's on-site restaurant, The Bigelow Grill. Fine evening dining can be found at Restaurant 1107 located on the hotel's 11th floor. Come and enjoy Ogden's history and find out why Al Capone said, "Ogden is too rough a town for me!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Bigelow Hotel and Residences, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ben Lomond Historic Suite
Bigelow Hotel And Residences, An Ascend Hotel Collection Member Ogden, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing