We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Historic Comfort!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Ogden
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great Historic Comfort!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

This hotel is beautiful and historic! The lobby is wonderful. The elevators have that historic yet slightly afraid they will break down charm. The front desk staff is always friendly. The views are amazing! The hotel sits in the only good part of Ogden (its downtown) and is in walking distance to everything that is anything in Ogden. The rooms are very large. We stayed in a suite and it is HUGE! The regular rooms are a good size too. The furnishings are dated but still stately. The beds are very comfortable. The haunting stories are fun and rather harmless. Your stay comes with a great breakfast in the beautiful lobby and all this for very reasonable rates. Really the only complaint is that in the summer the hotel hallways are VERY warm. The rooms have air conditioning and have be whatever temperature you desire but the hallways are warm.

Room Tip: Choose one that faces west for a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NGreen8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayBenLomondSuites, Owner at Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for the nice review. I'm glad you enjoyed some of my favorite features of Ben Lomond Suites; the history, great location and large rooms. I'm also happy that you found the elevators charming and the haunting stories entertaining. In the three years I've been at Ben Lomond Suites the elevators' have entertained me with their quirky personalities, but have never tried to keep me with them. The hallways do get a bit warm on hot days in the summer but luckily Ogden only has a few hot days and the ACs in the rooms work great. Thanks again for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    89
    37
    12
    13
See reviews for
78
97
22
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Payson, Utah
Level Contributor
86 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

I really couldn't have asked for more from the Ben Lomond. First off the lobby area is simply stunning. It is a genuine grand hotel. It was a great change from the Days Inn type places we normally stay. The rooms were very big and the bed was incredibly comfortable. The staff was great and the breakfast was much better than I had expected.

A bonus: Allegedly this place is haunted, so that aspect was pretty cool,

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dodg1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayBenLomondSuites, Manager at Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and our grand historic lobby. We are looking forward to sharing your review with our team.

We agree ghost stories can be entertaining and when you have been around as long as we have people are bound to tell a few ghost stories for fun.

Thanks again for the review. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon UK
Level Contributor
98 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Ogden is a pleasant place to stay and if in the area I would urge you to consider accommodation at the Ben Lomond Suites.

During our tour of the US we stayed at 17 different hotels and I have to say this was my personal favourite. We walked into our room and immediately thought 'Wow' simply because of the size of the place. Our accommodation comprised of a very large lounge area with comfortable seating and a good-size television. The bedroom was also of a decent size with a lovely big bed that was extremely comfortable and afforded a splendid night's sleep. There was a small kitchenette and the bathroom contained a jacuzzi which was quite wonderful after a hard day of driving. Everything was spotlessly clean and the room was faultless in every way. As a bonus, the hotel is centrally located, easy to find and provides secure underground parking.

We thought breakfast was 'okay' although nothing special, but that is a small point considering the quality of the accommodation. Not only is this a superb hotel but we considered it to be one of the best 'value for money' places we have ever stayed at.. We really can't praise this hotel enough and thoroughly recommend it to anyone thinking of staying in the Ogden area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tillard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayBenLomondSuites, Owner at Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our historic hotel, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We are the only all suite hotel in downtown Ogden and as you noticed our rooms are much larger than other hotels. We are also glad to hear you had a good night's sleep, that's what we strive for. We would love to hear what we can add to breakfast to make it "great" instead of just "okay", if you have time shoot us an email with your ideas.

Thanks again for you nice review.

Have a Great Day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
169 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

This is really my kind of hotel. I love older hotels and search them out. That often comes with learning to deal with older facilities and not being surprised by the accommodations. I really loved this hotel. The outside facade and interior main areas are stunning. The views from the windows are really nice. The rooms are big, and the one point that always makes it or breaks it for me: the bedding is super comfortable. It was quiet. It was clean.
The downsides of this hotel, as previously mentioned, the bathrooms are furniture isn't so much antique as it is just dated. It felt a little like staying in Grandma's apartment circa 1985. That's not a bad thing, it just is what it is. The hallways are also a bit confusing as you get off the elevators.
Overall I would love to stay here again. The price can't be beat and I'm almost afraid one day they will renovate the bathrooms and furniture and so on and then it will be a $400 a night "boutique" hotel. Alas.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank okaugust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayBenLomondSuites, Owner at Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for the review. Ben Lomond Suites is a beautiful historic hotel and we love it when our guests' enjoy our history as much as we do. We are hoping to be able to update the bathrooms in the next year or so. We wish we could fill Ben Lomond Suites at $400 a night, but do not plan to realize that dream in the near future. Thanks again for the nice review.

Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I want to like this hotel. Second time I've stayed here, it's probably 5+ years since my last stay on business. Overnight family trip this time. Picked it for the huge rooms. Got the double queen in a newly "updated" room. Beds were great. Flat screen tv in bedroom, old style small tube tv in living room. Pretty clean room and property. Breakfast was good with attentive staff. The bad. Room, bathroom, wallpaper, and furniture outdated and worn out. Properties can be old and fantastic, unfortunately our newly updated room was in need of another update. New bathrooms, new fixtures would help a lot.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcus_O_Really
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed breakfast. We have some of the largest rooms in town and as you stated they are great for families. If you are traveling with teens we even have two bedroom, two bath suites that give you even more room. Updating the bathrooms is the next item on our list of renovations for our beautiful historic hotel. Thank you again for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina, Puerto Rico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Greetings Travelers:
I would like to say that the Ben Lomond Suites in Ogden, Utah are impressing. I arrive to Hotel this July
2012. As soon I went to the front desk I was receive with beautiful smile from Lashelle Mann at the Front desk. She welcomes me to the hotel and as soon as possible she accommodate me in one of the most elegant room I have stay in my life as a traveler, believe me you will find out. My room 301 is great for a couple and also for somebody like me that came in a business trip it has a home felling in it. So if you want to find peacefulness and relax you self this is the place to stay. Too bad a dint came with my wife. I most definitely will return to the Ben Lomond hopefully in winter season.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Juan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thank you for the nice review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay in July. Hopefully you and your wife can visit us this winter for a snow ski trip. Thank you again for taking the time to post a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Travelling SW USA by motorcycle, we often avoid larger cities in favour of smaller ones with some history or character. Not knowing anything about Ogden, Utah and seeing pics of Ben Lomond Hotel we were relying on other tripadvisor member ratings to guide us in our decision. We weren't disappointed! The room was very clean & absolutely huge. We were very surprised that a buffet breakfast also came with the room and it was excellent. The staff were friendly and accommodating. Oh, and we should mention that we had the best sleep of our trip so far here - super comfy bed & pillows! Plus - what hotel has a guest laundry? We made good use of it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mynemesis57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayBenLomondSuites, Owner at Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed breakfast and slept well, we strive to help our guests start the day off right with a good night's rest and a tasty breakfast. Our guest laundry is definitely helpful on long trips when you can't pack a change of clothes for every day of the trip. We hope the rest of your SW USA motorcycle trip is fun and safe and you come back and visit us again soon.

Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ogden hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ogden
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS High Country Inn
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ogden UT
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 21 in Ogden
4.0 of 5 stars 249 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#8 of 21 in Ogden
3.5 of 5 stars 124 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ogden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel

Property: Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Address: 2510 Washington Blvd, Ogden, UT 84401-3137
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Ogden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ogden
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ogden
#3 Family Hotel in Ogden
#7 Business Hotel in Ogden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in Utah's Second Oldest Hotel. It is Rich in History including the gambling, extortion, bootlegging and corrupt cops. Step back in time and have the Grand Dame of Ogden welcome you. Just like Mae West in the 20'and 30' the Historic Ben Lomond Suites ran the city. She was Big and Boisterous and ran the town her way. The Ben Lomond is the only all suite hotel located in downtown Ogden. Ben Lomond Suites is located in the epicenter of Ogden. All within walking distance of numerous independent restaurants and bars, shopping, night life, theaters, Ogden Eccles Conference Center, Ogden Amphitheater, Egyptian Theater, Salomon Center. All rooms are suites with microwave fridge and dry sinks. Rooms are larger than a standard hotel with separate living rooms and bedrooms. free wireless internet, and free covered parking. Ben Lomond Suites has a business center, fitness center, and coin operated guest laundry. Ben Lomond Suites also has 6 event spaces that have capacities of 25 to 300 guests. Ben Lomond Suites has two great restaurants and a bar. Come and enjoy Ogden's History and find out why Al Capone said, "Ogden is too rough a town for me!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ben Lomond Historic Suite
Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, An Ascend Collection Hotel Ogden, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing