We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite quaint place-more like a hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Ogden
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Ogden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Extremely nice rooms - you can pay more, but not get much more in Ogden than this place- Parking is a hassel though as you have to walk around the block. But just the same just a nice place I do not remeber if they had a pool as I was too busy to look and injoy if they did I do know the have a hot tob in the basement as I heard someone menting it in passing

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clif S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie M, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Ogden, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. You are correct we have a beautiful huge oversized Hot Tub that we laughing refer to as our one stroke pool. Our covered parking is access by a short half block walk from the hotel. While you enjoyed our rooms we are currently renovating our rooms and lobby area to make them even more pleasing. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (705)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

587 - 593 of 705 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

We were a road tripping family and unexpectedly had to stay over due to snow...lots of snow! We called ahead to ensure rooms and although nice over the phone when my husband checked us in the person was not overly helpful.
This Hampton Inn is a historic, larger, downtown version of the usual downtown HI you'll see. The room was fine, no fridge or micro in ours and the bathroom is a tad smaller then usual properties but typical of other historical hotels I've stayed at. The price was terrific! Around $80 with AAA discount on a Sunday.
Parking is off site, around the corner...in snow.
However, there are great amenities within a short walk. Movie theatre, 5 Guys, and a Wing place we were able to take the kids to. Many more dining choices as well.
This Hampton in had its expected breakfast in the morning and cookies out at night. They did also have hot apple cider and that was a nice surprise after walking in the snow back from dinner.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bensthreegirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie M, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Ogden, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. First of all “Welcome to Utah” the greatest snow on earth and this year LOTS of it. I am pleased that our Guest Service Agent was pleasant and I appreciate the rest of your comment regarding check-in as we will use this information in our future training sessions. We are currently renovating the hotel and when all rooms are complete we will have refrigerators in all rooms and more than half of the rooms will have microwave ovens. We are centrally located in the downtown area, one block from Historic 25th Street and the Junction (where you went with your family). We are glad you enjoyed the Hot Apple Cider and Fresh Baked Cookies. We love having you Here!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

wonderful hotel! Very accommodating and understanding as we were stuck in an interstate road block for 4 hours and couldn't check in until very late! The front desk was very nice and let us know the best spots for parking (especially as we didn't check in until super late). The bedrooms were fabulous and the beds so comfortable we didn't even want to leave.
the Complimentary breakfast had way beyond what we could eat and the coffee was unexpectedly tasty.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TLTwoNest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie M, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Ogden, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Thank you for your wonder comments regarding our hotel. We couldn’t agree with you more. Sounds like you slept on Cloud 9™, we hope you return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed here one night just before the Christmas Holidays on a drive from Portland, OR to Denver, CO. We booked our hotel through AAA travel by calling as we got closer to our destination. I cannot blame Hampton for the downtown location when we specifically asked AAA for something convenient to the interstate, so I won't comment negatively on the location. In fact, I liked that it was downtown as it offered us a chance to walk after 12 hours in the truck driving, but my husband was less than pleased. It's a quick jaunt to the hotel from the Interstate, so I didn't see a problem. We drove up to the hotel and then around the block because it wasn't clear where we should park to check-in and unload. There is a curb-side space for a few cars near the front door and we stopped there. The clerk was helpful, the lobby was gorgeous.

The only thing I wish was that the clerk was more adamant that we unload our luggage curbside and offer a valet cart because parking was around the corner and a half a block away (not to mention that we had to drive around the block again to get to it because the entrance was behind us). We didn't unload and had to walk our belongings including a giant Pelican case that was holding all the Christmas Gifts. It was cold and that half block seemed long.

The garage was fine and actually safe (it is Utah), we had a motorcycle chained to the truck bed and were a little concerned as we did not notice any security cameras but only signs that said to take valuables as the hotel was not responsible. That worried my husband a bit, but we asked the clerk and she said it was monitored. The bike was still there in the morning.

Located in a little downtown area with dining and shopping options, we took advantage of eating out at a little pub and walking to see the holiday light display in the public park. Safe little downtown.

The rooms were very nice, we booked a 2 Queen bed room and it was very spacious. The bathroom was probably the biggest bathroom I've ever seen in a hotel - it was the same size as the hotel room!!!! Probably because so many Utah families are more than traditional sized? Anyway, a family of four would be TOTALLY COMFORTABLE considering the space.

Breakfast in the morning was a full continental - eggs, sausage, make your own waffles, toast, yoghurt, fruit and cereal, coffee service and juice. Fresh and delicious.

Worth it for the extra few miles into town after a long, long drive.

Room Tip: Double Queen on a high floor, ask for a large bathroom - you won't believe how big it is!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank walk_everywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie M, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Ogden, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are very happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We think we have a unique and nicely restored building; we all take great pride in our Hampton. Thank you for your nice comments about our hot buffet breakfast, and large bathrooms. All rooms are slightly different because this is a historic building. Our location is central to all downtown attractions. Again, thank you for your wonderful comments. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

This particular Hampton Inn was such a neat place to stay as they've maintained many of the old details from the building's previous life as a bank. There's beautiful crown molding and marble throughout. The rooms were equally nice. The breakfast actually had real healthy food - oatmeal and fruit so many times breakfast buffets are a just a bunch of junkfood. We stayed here two separate times in one week and found the front desk to be so helpful during both stays. They told us where to park for unloading (as it located in the downtown area with street only parking) and then let us know we could park on a meter without worrying about a ticket as it was a Saturday night.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie M, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Ogden, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are very happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. we think we have a very unique and nicely restored building, we all take great pride in our Hampton. Our location to all things downtown is an asset. Again, thank you for your wonderful comments. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We just returned from a four-night stay in this hotel. Here's my take:

Pros:

Beautiful old historic building, beautifully updated. I love old buildings, so the stay would have been worth it to me just for that.

Comfy beds, lots of pillows to choose from, extra blankets provided.

Clean, well-decorated rooms. The decor reflects a mildly Egyptian theme, since the Egyptian theater is next door.

Courteous service--everyone at the desk was efficient and friendly.

Great prices (we used Hotwire). Seriously better than most lesser hotels.

Breakfast included. Our schedule didn't permit actually taking advantage of it, so no comment on the variety or quality.

Nice, large TV. Desk area quite sufficient.

A nice touch is the lap table they provide in the room. Since my husband and I both use our computers on the road, it came in quite handy.

Neutrals:

There's not a lot of room on the bathroom vanity for *stuff.* This is pretty typical of most hotels. I get tired of things falling into the sink... but there it is.

Also typical of most hotels, the lighting is quite awful for trying to apply makeup. It's either from overhead in the bathroom, or too dark at the other provided mirror. (Maybe hotels need a "Bathroom Adviser" on the construction staff. ;)

The plumbing was somewhat noisy. Typical of old plumbing, and only noticeable while actually in the bathroom, so no big deal.

Cons:

Street noise was a bit intrusive. To be fair, this building has single-glazed double-hung windows. They have added a second pane of glass (inoperable) over the inside of the window frame, and I'm sure it mitigates the noise quite a bit. The downtown location makes traffic noise inevitable if your room faces the street (we were on the 7th floor) so there's not a lot they can do about it.

Parking is a bit of a walk. It's not far really, but it *was* December. :) The garage is claustrophobic...tight corners, and I wondered if there was clearance for our SUV... heh... no problems though.

All in all, the pros outweigh everything else. This is a great place to stay, and I'll gladly use this hotel for every trip to Ogden. If your experience here is like ours, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: You might want to ask for a room away from the streets. Use the designated Loading Zone in front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2D4DS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie M, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Ogden, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are very happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. we think we have a very unique and nicely restored building, we all take great pride in our Hampton. We are sorry the street noise invaded your room, with the building reaching it's 100 year mark in 2013 the windows were not constructed for the noises of this era. Again, thank you for your wonderful comments. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

The Hampton Inn and Suites in downtown Ogden is unlike any Hampton I have experienced. Located in a beautifully refurbished historic hotel, the 8-story building is in the heart of downtown Ogden. A bit off the beaten path if you're passing through on I-84 or I-15, it's easy to find and nice to get away from the heavily traveled thoroughfare.

Because the hotel was built early in the last century, rooms are a bit on the small side and the tub is tiny. But there's plenty of space and the room was very comfortable, typical of Hampton, with a luxuriously cozy bed, flat-screen TV, and nicely appointed bathroom complete with magnifying/makeup mirror. They've done a very nice job preserving the historic feel of the hotel.

Parking was the only downside. The garage is a block away, so be sure to drop your bags in the loading zone out front before you park.

Staff were also very friendly and accommodating throughout our stay. We will definitely stay here again when passing through this part of Utah.

Room Tip: For a nicer view, ask for a room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ExploreTheBigIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie M, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Ogden, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Hampton Inn & Suites--Ogden. We are thrilled to have made such a positive impression and pleased that you have recommended us so highly. We appreciate your positive comments and look forward to welcoming you back.
We love having you here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ogden hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ogden UT
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Ogden
Courtyard Ogden
#7 of 21 in Ogden
155 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bigelow Hotel and Residences, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 21 in Ogden
326 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ogden
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus High Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Ogden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Ogden

Address: 2401 Washington Blvd, Ogden, UT 84401-2315
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Ogden
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ogden
#1 Business Hotel in Ogden
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ogden
Price Range: $94 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Ogden 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Ogden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Ogden
Hampton Inn & Suites Ogden Hotel Ogden
Hampton Inn Hotel Ogden
Hampton Inn Ogden
Ogden Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites Ogden Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing