We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try the Layton Holiday Inn Express, You'll be MUCH happier.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Ogden
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Ogden
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Try the Layton Holiday Inn Express, You'll be MUCH happier.”
Reviewed August 21, 2010

We checked in with a VERY unfriendly girl. When we later commented about her to the other front desk staff. They said they get a lot of complaints about her. If thats the case why not replace her?? Really unprofessional and rude. We went upstairs and found a note posted on a table in the hallway. Thinking it may be important, we walked over to read it. It told us and anyone else willing to read it to stop shoving the lamps into the mirror behind the table. Ummmm okay. The room was okay, nothing special but okay. We went to breakfast the next morning and were delighted to see a granmotherly type lady running the breakfast. She spent the entire time we were down there talking to a couple about why she came to work there. Basically to get away from being the family babysitter. Okay, obviously it wasn't to make sure that the breakfast buffet was kept full because it wasn't. Oh well. At least there was a bowl of fresh fruit, yum......or so I thought! Actually I pulled 4 moldy oranges from the bowl before giving up. I thought I shouldn't return them to the fruit bowl so I carefully placed the oranges on the counter (very moldy side up) and walked away. I was a little grossed out when she finally went to check out the food on the buffet and she very carefully picked up the moldy oranges and placed them all moldy side down back in the bowl. Our second day we again encountered the very rude girl at the front desk. That was enough for us so we checked out the next morning and moved to the Holiday Inn Express Layton. Much better, exactly what we have come to love about the Expresses. They sincerely need to get rid of the cranky rude blonde girl who seems to work one of the later shifts. We won't stay here EVER again when Layton is so close.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Momroadtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    76
    25
    6
    11
See reviews for
71
61
17
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
West Yellowstone, Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2010

Oh my...where can I start. When I arrived I got upgraded to the handicap room...which was rather large. I go into the bathroom and notice that it smells like urine..really bad. I flush the toilet and it backs up. I call the front desk and the not so friendly lady tells me she will have maintenance come up right away. No one there within the next 15 mins so I call again and she says he's on his way. Apparently he's not at the hotel so they have to call him at home. He finally gets there and he does unplug the toilet with a snake. He was very pleasant.

The mattresses all have these plastic mattress pads on them...very crunchy and uncomfortable. I did realize that it wasn't a urine smell in the bathroom but the shower curtain was extremely moldy and needed to be washed or changed...why didn't housekeeping pick up on this??? I get back to the room the 2nd night and turn the air on and it starts making a noise like a leaf blower....extremely loud but I just thought what the hey...I'll just run my own little fan all night because I didn't want to deal with the unfriendly front desk people. Come on...why can't the front desk acknowledge you with a hello...how may I help you....how was your night....have a great day. You'll get none of that here because this HI is sorely lacking in customer service. Stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nottoopicky1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trophy Club, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
277 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2010

We stayed here for 1 night on our way out of Salt Lake City. The room was spacious and clean, and everything looked new. We also ate dinner at the restaurant next door, which was recommended by the front desk staff. It was also good. The hot spot seemed to be the hotel's pool, and it also seemed like people were "vacationing" at the hotel just to use the pool. Free cont. breakfast - not the best, but there is some variety.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank txerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigby, Idaho
Level 6 Contributor
314 reviews
297 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2010

This is an older property, which has been "refreshed" recently with new interior decor and the new HIE logo. There are a few things you'll notice around the property that reveal the building's age, but for the most part the remodeling is very nice, modern, and comfortable. I stayed on the east side of the building, so I cannot comment on highway noise on the west side. My room was quiet and comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajnuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2010

My seventy-six year old mother and I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites – Ogden, Utah for the night of Thursday, August 13th, 2009. When making our reservations online as a Priority Club member, we requested a suite on the top floor, away from any road noise, and that is what we were given. When we arrived, as a Priority Club member, we received a “goodie bag” filled with two bottles of water, mini chocolate bars, tootsie rolls, M&M's, and cracker snacks.

The large non-smoking suite included two queen-sized beds, each with four pillows on them, a clock radio, two regular chairs with a table, a sofabed with coffee table, a large television and remote with a poor selection of channels, a coffeemaker, a mini-fridge, a microwave, and an iron/ironing board.

The large bathroom included three sets of towels, a hairdryer, bottles of shampoo, conditioner, lotion, and body wash, as well as a bar of soap and a shower cap. There was a handle in the shower, which my mother liked, but the toilet was very difficult to flush.

The hotel is located just off of Interstate 15 and has an indoor swimming pool and hot tub, and a business and fitness center. Also, there are not too many restaurants or stores nearby, so you may want to ask for directions to find them.

After taxes, the American Automobile Association rate for Room 305 came to $115.39 U.S. Funds. Overall, we were very comfortable in the room as it was very clean, however the suite is showing its age and needs to be renovated.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macmaroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2010

I travel alot for work and this is a very nice place to stay. The hotel has new furniture & carpeting, it's clean. The rooms are so nice! Breakfast is good, the staff is very friendly. There are 2 restaurants close by with one across the parking lot, there's McDonalds, County Store, gas stations. The only thing missing was a refridgerator in my room, other than that great clean place to stay. Conviently right off the freeway (but without the noise in your room)

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rio2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland, oregon
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 12, 2009

We arrived late in the evening. the staff was friendly. The beds were the hightlight of the room as they were very comfortable. the bathroom was clean. the breakfast the next morning looked good but we had to leave early so we didnt get a chance to try it.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amiller66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ogden hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 21 in Ogden
302 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus High Country Inn
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ogden UT
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ogden
2.2 mi away
Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel
1.9 mi away
Courtyard Ogden
Courtyard Ogden
#7 of 21 in Ogden
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Ogden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Ogden

Property: Holiday Inn Express Ogden
Address: 2245 S 1200 W, Ogden, UT 84401-0260
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Ogden
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Ogden
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ogden
#5 Business Hotel in Ogden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Ogden 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Suites Ogden is located 2 miles from Historic 25th Street, 3 miles from Ogden Hinckley Airport, and 35 miles from the Salt Lake City International Airport. Outdoor enthusiasts can enjoy such activities as downhill skiing at one of three area resorts--Snowbasin, Powder Mountain, and Wolf Mountain; hiking and biking on miles of mountain trails; and boating and fishing at one of many nearby lakes or reservoirs. Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ogden, offers 75 guest rooms including 23 suites with our unique ability to accommodate 6 people per room, double occupancy. Maintain your exercise regimen in our fitness center, or you can enjoy our volleyball court, and sports court. Swim year round in our indoor pool or relax in our hot tub. Our conference rooms, equipped with state-of-the-art media equipment, make this an ideal place for executive retreats, banquets, seminars, conferences and training meetings. Wake up with our Express Start Continental breakfast featuring hot cheddar cheese omelets, sausage, bacon, cinnamon rolls and much more. This is a great location for everything Ogden has to offer: Snowbasin Ski Resort, Powder Mountain, Wolf Mountain, Lagoon Amusement Park, Dinosaur Park, Great Salt Lake, Golden Spike National Monument, Hill AFB Aerospace Museum. Visit Ogden, Utah and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel the best hotel in Ogden! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Ogden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Ogden Hotel Ogden
Holiday Inn Ogden
Holiday Inn Express Ogden Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing