We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cuts corners”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Ogden
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Ogden
Richmond, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Cuts corners”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

This Holiday Inn Express is much like others in which we have spent the night, so no real surprises.

However, I was very frustrated with the way the management tried to save money. The paper goods were so cheap we used twice as much as normal, and the lighting in both the room and bath were what had to be the lowest wattage bulbs available. I’m not sure how much was saved in the long run. Plus, the hair dryer kept overheating.

The desk staff was pleasant, but relied on closed circuit TV to see when someone came up to the desk instead of having someone there all the time. We are long-time Priority Club members and were not recognized as such--very unusual. No big deal, but not what we have come to expect.

This is an adequate place to stay if you want to get away from Salt Lake City headed north. The room was large and clean, the shower was hot, and it was quiet. Sometimes that’s all a traveler needs.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dixie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ranch7, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Ogden, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear DixieM,

Thank you for taking the time to comment concerning your visit with us. We apologize that we did not meet your expectations.

I have passed your comments along to the various departments for review to see how we can correct the problems listed.

In closing, we value your business and appreciate your feedback.

Sincerely,
Susan Cross
AGM / DOS
Holiday Inn Express
Ogden, Utah
801-605-2298
ogdenhix@aol.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    77
    25
    6
    12
See reviews for
72
62
17
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

Awesome hotel! Comfy bed- quiet room & super friendly & helpful staff people! I would highly recommend this place! The breakfast was tasty & the environment was fancy! :-) After we asked, the front desk clerk recommended a great restaurant called Roosters.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ranch7, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Ogden, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Sue 1,
Weare delighted that we met your expectations. We appreciate your taking the time to respond about your stay to TripAdvisor. In the future, we would appreciate your choosing to stay with us again.

Sincerely,
Susan Cross
AGM / DOS
Holiday Inn Express
Ogden, Utah
801-605-2298
ogdenhix@aol.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We stayed on the 3rd floor King with a vaulted ceiling. Wow did that make the room seem huge! The Hotel was clean and comfortable. It was easy access from the highway and there was a gas station at the exit, as well as a restaurant across the parking lot, though we were too tired to use it. My only complaint is a small elevator and a narrow hall if you are trying to maneuver the luggage caddy before the door closes. A minor point considering the price was good, the staff friendly, and breakfast was ready promptly by 6:00am.

Room Tip: Go for the 3rd floor rooms with the high ceilings. The second floor does not have an ice machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dragon-spike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ranch7, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Ogden, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear dragon-spike,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Holiday Inn Express Ogden, Utah. We are glad that you enjoyed your room witht he vaulted ceilings and yes, it does make a very large and comfortable room.

I have passed your comments onto our various departments and have told them thank you for the job that they do.

We hope that we will see you soon for future visits.

Sincerely,
Susan Cross
AGM / DOS
Holiday Inn Express
Ogden, Utah
801-605-2298
ogdenhix@aol.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KATY
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Enjoyed our stay here! A plus that it was dog friendly, too. Lots of grassy areas nearby. Room was large and beds were comfy. Breakfast was better than average, lots of varieties to choose from. In the evening, there were fresh cookies, too, which is always a plus in my book! Very close to the highway.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abbruno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ranch7, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Ogden, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear abbruno,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your visit with us on TripAdvisor. I hope that your dog had as good a stay as you did. Yes, we love pets and find more owners are now traveling with their "buddies." Being a dog owner I kow how important they are to their owners.

I am glad that we met all of your expectations for the stay and that you enjoyed the cookies in the evening.

We would appreciate your choosing to stay with us again when you are in the area.

Sincerely,
Susan Cross
AGM / DOS
Holiday Inn Express
Ogden, Utah
801-605-2298
scross@ogdencomfortsuites.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

Very pet friendly. Pet rooms conveniently located to outside door and grassy area immediately outside. Front desk staff friendly and quite helpful. The room was quiet and the bed was comfortable. I've never had a pet room upgraded before! Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank debm760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ranch7, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Ogden, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Traveler,
We are so glad that you and your pet enjoyed your stay. Also, that both the pet and yourself were in an upgrade room. All of our guests are special, be they 2 leg or 4 leg. We appreciate your taking the time to respond on line.

In the future, we would appreciate your staying with us again, make sure you bring your pet.

Sincerely,
Susan Cross
AGM / DOS
Holiday Inn Express
Ogden, Utah
801-605-2298
ogdenhix@aol.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We travel twice a year with three cats, this hotel is our "go to" stop over in Utah. Always clean, good beds, linen is starting to get a little thin, but still very nice. Nice clean breakfast area. Reasonable in price, there is a pet fee, but that's expected. Would recommend this hotel to friends and family. Close to highway 15, so a quick in and out on arrival and departure, we were on the highway side of the hotel, didn't hear any noise, which was nice, as we were concerned when we got into our room. All in all a recommend, safe travels

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ranch7, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Ogden, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Marilyn G,
We always want to be your shining star in the middle of a storm, always "dependable" for you. You can always count on the Holiday Inn Express, Ogden, Utah.

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on line. We also appreciate your past business and would look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,
Susan Cross
AGM / DOS
Holiday Inn Express
Ogden, Utah
801-605-2298
ogdenhix@aol.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Nice, newer looking hotel. The staff were really friendly and helpful. What you would expect from a holiday inn as far as rooms. There clean and comfortable. Huge parking lot with quite a bit of parking for semi trucks. Easy to get in and out of.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Kristiemaewolfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ranch7, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Ogden, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Kristiemaewolfe,
I am glad that we had plenty of parking for your truck when you stayed with us. In fact, we have the largest parking lot of any hotel in Ogden. We would appreciate you business again if you are passing our way again.

Sincerely,
Susan Cross
AGM / DOS
Holiday Inn Express
Ogden, Utah
801-605-2298
ogdenhix@aol.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ogden hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 21 in Ogden
304 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ogden UT
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus High Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ogden
1.9 mi away
Courtyard Ogden
Courtyard Ogden
#6 of 21 in Ogden
126 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Ogden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Ogden

Property: Holiday Inn Express Ogden
Address: 2245 S 1200 W, Ogden, UT 84401-0260
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Ogden
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Ogden
#5 Business Hotel in Ogden
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ogden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Ogden 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Suites Ogden is located 2 miles from Historic 25th Street, 3 miles from Ogden Hinckley Airport, and 35 miles from the Salt Lake City International Airport. Outdoor enthusiasts can enjoy such activities as downhill skiing at one of three area resorts--Snowbasin, Powder Mountain, and Wolf Mountain; hiking and biking on miles of mountain trails; and boating and fishing at one of many nearby lakes or reservoirs. Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ogden, offers 75 guest rooms including 23 suites with our unique ability to accommodate 6 people per room, double occupancy. Maintain your exercise regimen in our fitness center, or you can enjoy our volleyball court, and sports court. Swim year round in our indoor pool or relax in our hot tub. Our conference rooms, equipped with state-of-the-art media equipment, make this an ideal place for executive retreats, banquets, seminars, conferences and training meetings. Wake up with our Express Start Continental breakfast featuring hot cheddar cheese omelets, sausage, bacon, cinnamon rolls and much more. This is a great location for everything Ogden has to offer: Snowbasin Ski Resort, Powder Mountain, Wolf Mountain, Lagoon Amusement Park, Dinosaur Park, Great Salt Lake, Golden Spike National Monument, Hill AFB Aerospace Museum. Visit Ogden, Utah and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel the best hotel in Ogden! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Ogden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Ogden Hotel Ogden
Holiday Inn Ogden
Holiday Inn Express Ogden Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing