We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to stay close to the highway.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Ogden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Ogden
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Ogden
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good place to stay close to the highway.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

Nice place to stay when on a road trip from the NW to the mid-west. Friendly staff, decent exercise room and good breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank or-ontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    73
    22
    6
    10
See reviews for
66
57
16
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

We were traveling from WA to CO and decided to stop here. The desk clerk was very nice. We called about 1.5 hours out and she remembered my call when we arrived. The decor was very nice in the lobby and rooms. The photos on the website are a good reference. Our family of 5 stayed in a first floor room with 2 dbl beds and a sofa sleeper.

BEDS: The mattresses need to be replaced. My husband and I woke up with sore backs. The mattress was high around the edges and low in the middle. It felt like sleeping in a bowl. The bed was pretty soft.

BATHROOM: The wallpaper above the shower was peeling off the wall. The bathroom door needed some touch-up paint.

FREE BREAKFAST: My boys are not picky when it comes to food, but they did not like breakfast. They're BIG meat-eaters and they did not like the sausage. The hot food seemed to be sitting there most of the morning. One of my boys had to spit out the eggs because of it's taste. Biscuits and gravy were on the menu. The biscuits were hard and the gravy had that dry gravy film on top from sitting there for awhile.

OVERALL: Good value. I would check the mattresses and watch out for the hot items at breakfast. Although our room needed some simple maintenance, it was spacious and comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BearDown96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ogden, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Dear BearDown96,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am pleased you mentioned the excellent check in process and our friendly staff. I was disappointed to read that you did not enjoy our breakfast, we will review for possible modifications so to better accommodate our guest in the future. I do apologize for any inconvenience that you have experienced.

I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint George, Utah, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

I've stayed at this property more than once and every time, it exceeds the expectations. This most recent booking was on a weekend that there were some high school sports competitions in town. Despite there being a large number of teenage girls staying at the hotel, the experience was wonderful! Housekeeping was great and the front desk staff was always cheery and welcoming. The room was very comfortable and always very stocked. No concerns about it not having been cleaned as needed! I will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: I was on the 3rd floor with a room facing the freeway. If you have the choice, try to get one on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

We arrived to a most friendly greeting from the desk staff, and for some unknown reason we were given a room upgrade!! It was a very nice room on the side of the hotel that was opposite I-15. It was very nicely appointed and very quiet. We ate at the nearby "Cactus Red's", but it is nothing to write home about, although they also had a very friendly and cheerful wait staff. I think (hope) that there are better choices for dining in Ogden. The breakfast here was quite nice and had a good variety. Their sausage and eggs had some flavor, a problem we had with another hotel on our trip. I would highly recommend this Holiday Inn Express.

Room Tip: Ask for a room opposit the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary_Goes_West
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
66 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

Decent hotel with good rooms. Nothing extra though. Biggest drawback is the location: it appears like it's located in the middle of nowhere although close to the highway.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lenusvyat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2012

This was the last night's stay on a cross-country journey, and we needed a place to get a good night of sleep before the final drive home. I have had a few nice stays at HI Express before, so I figured this was a good bet. The location is very convenient from I-15 and the room was quiet despite its proximity to the interstate. It is also far enough away from the crazy traffic of Salt Lake City to make a rush hour departure north a possibility (driving through SLC during that time should be avoided at all costs). We arrived late and the night clerk was on her cellphone, and I kind of felt like I was intruding, though once she put the phone down the check-in was pretty fast. The room was spacious and quite well-furnished, although the carpet was not vacuumed well (a fingernail clipping right by the bed, yuck!). However, these first two issues were quickly overcome by the comfortable bed and nice shower. The highlight of this stay was definitely the breakfast which was being taken of care by a sweet older lady who made sure all of the guests got enough to eat. There was a lot to choose from and everything was really fresh; this was by far the best hotel breakfast of the trip and they had an automatic pancake maker which was pretty cool.

My only complaint is the price. Over $100 for one night is a lot of money to start with and then you get charged $10 for another person. That seemed a little outrageous since all hotels I know of assume two people, particularly if you get a room with two beds.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauralee3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2012

during a cross-country road trip my boyfriend, my beagle and i needed to stop for the night and we decided on this holiday inn express in ogden, ut. i'm so glad we did! we were greeted courteously by the front desk clerk who gave me a bag of treats for my dog and another bag of treats for us since i am a priority member. they were helpful in finding places to eat/delivery food, which is always helpful after a long day of driving. our room was very spacious, warm, comfortable. the workout room was well stocked for a quick workout in the morning, and tho we didn't jump in, the pool and hot tub were incredibly inviting. the shower had great pressure and the hot water stayed consistently hot during the entire shower. for the continental breakfast we had fruit, biscuits and gravy, and bacon! my boyfriend said this was the nicest holiday inn express he's ever stayed in. thanks ogden!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacqui w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ogden hotels
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS High Country Inn
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 21 in Ogden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ogden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ogden UT
2.2 mi away
Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel
1.9 mi away
Courtyard Ogden
Courtyard Ogden
#7 of 21 in Ogden
3.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Ogden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Ogden

Property: Holiday Inn Express Ogden
Address: 2245 S 1200 W, Ogden, UT 84401-0260
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Ogden
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Ogden
#5 Business Hotel in Ogden
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ogden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Ogden 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Suites Ogden is located 2 miles from Historic 25th Street, 3 miles from Ogden Hinckley Airport, and 35 miles from the Salt Lake City International Airport. Outdoor enthusiasts can enjoy such activities as downhill skiing at one of three area resorts--Snowbasin, Powder Mountain, and Wolf Mountain; hiking and biking on miles of mountain trails; and boating and fishing at one of many nearby lakes or reservoirs. Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ogden, offers 75 guest rooms including 23 suites with our unique ability to accommodate 6 people per room, double occupancy. Maintain your exercise regimen in our fitness center, or you can enjoy our volleyball court, and sports court. Swim year round in our indoor pool or relax in our hot tub. Our conference rooms, equipped with state-of-the-art media equipment, make this an ideal place for executive retreats, banquets, seminars, conferences and training meetings. Wake up with our Express Start Continental breakfast featuring hot cheddar cheese omelets, sausage, bacon, cinnamon rolls and much more. This is a great location for everything Ogden has to offer: Snowbasin Ski Resort, Powder Mountain, Wolf Mountain, Lagoon Amusement Park, Dinosaur Park, Great Salt Lake, Golden Spike National Monument, Hill AFB Aerospace Museum. Visit Ogden, Utah and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel the best hotel in Ogden! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Ogden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Ogden Hotel Ogden
Holiday Inn Ogden
Holiday Inn Express Ogden Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing