We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food.....Lack Luster Bar”
Review of The Sonora Grill

The Sonora Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
The Sonora Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 366 Restaurants in Ogden
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $19
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: The Sonora Grill is a unique and independent restaurant serving regional Mexican cuisine in a refined atmosphere with unparalleled customer service. Executive Chef, Chris Mortenson, brings with him an impressive resume of experience from restaurants in Seattle, Portland, San Francisco, and Las Vegas. Chef Chris along with owner Steve Ballard are excited to share their passionate interpretation of Mexican food with its patrons. The Sonora Grill will feature a large ceviche bar, catering, full bar and lounge, private party room, private banquet room, and take out with a walk up window.
Nampa, Idaho
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Food.....Lack Luster Bar”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Four of us were quickly taken in and seated. We were put on the west side of the building very warm even with the sun shade so I wouldn't go there again Fish Taco , Chili Relleno were all good. The smokey pico degio was wonderful. Great service very attentive we will go back. I ordered a Long Island Ice Tea which was served in a 12 oz??? water glass for 7.95. It should be served in a Tea Glass 20 minimum. 12 oz won't hold the booze let alone the ice and sweet and sour. Should have known better than to order a mixed drink in Ogden. Stick to bottled beer you'll have a good time.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rmberg3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    118
    37
    19
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very nice, great food.”
Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

Went on a Friday evening, had reservations for a group of seven. Seated right away and the food was really good. Had the chili relleno plate. Wife had the tacos. Everyone in the group was pleased with the meal. The staff was friendly and efficient.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

The food portions were very large and the variety was excellent. Most restaurants in Ogden are more family style food. This was definitely a will return.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Barbra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good value for lunch”
Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

Stopped on our way through town for a late lunch. Overall, the food was good and the prices for lunch were reasonable. Nice upscale atmosphere and good service.

Loved the chile verde. Good flavor and texture. If I came back, I'd want more.

Loved the sweet pork taco - pulled pork, pineapple, poco de gallo, and a smokey sweet good sauce.

Not a fan of the chicken cabbage salad. It was light on chicken, the lettuce was wilted, and it seemed a rather odd combo. Lettuce, cabbage, poached chicken, vinegar, and sour cream. Just.... No.

Not a huge fan of the poached chicken and cheese tacos on the kids menu either. Too much cheese and too little flavor.

If we are in town again, we would come back. I'd just avoid a few things on the menu.

Chip and salsa were delish!

Helpful?
Thank Susan86761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Layton, Utah
Level Contributor
74 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Long Wait for Great Mexican Food”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

The Sonora Grill offers great high end Mexican food. The only downside is the long wait times. They don't take reservations so if you don't want to stand around waiting for an hour go during a slow time. My wife and I went on a Friday night which was a mistake. The hostesses were not organized and were seating people ahead of us that had arrive after us. When we finally were seated service was good and attentive. I had the habanero fish tacos and they were amazing. It is a little on the pricey side but is justified by the good food.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rich C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sonora Grill also viewed

 

Been to The Sonora Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing