We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“some things great, some things not so great”
Review of Road Island Diner

Road Island Diner
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Oakley
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We have been here a few times. the first time was just after the business opened, and it was not good, but has improved significantly. Among other things the grilled cheese was not even melted. It was two pieces of toast with cold cheese inbetween, and that is something that hasn't changed. Dont order grilled cheese, the one you make at home will be better. Their mac and cheese is also just average. It honestly tastes like kraft mac and cheese, and it's just not what you expect from such a great place. That said, their shakes are fantastic, and any meat that has been cooked slow is great. Pulled pork and brisket are delicious, and their meatloaf is good too. They have great potato wedges, as well as mashed potatoes. no problems at all with service, or timing.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 920anon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 105 of 137 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2012

If you are travelling near the Uintahs, you have to stop at the Road Island Restaurant, a classic train car restuarant from the 30's. The owner has done an amazing restoration job and it is a great authentic diner experience, with the girls in pink dresses, and names like "Flo". There are jute boxes on every table and it's a giggle.

The food has been very inconsistent for us. Most of the times it's been pretty good and a couple of times it was downright terrible. I would stick to burgers and shakes.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank misseswissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith W, Owner at Road Island Diner, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

We appreciate your critique. We are happy you had a good experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We have eaten at the Rhode Island diner before and had a good overall experience. So much so that after spending the day kayaking and paddleboarding in the Uintahs, my kids begged us to stop for dinner on our way back down to Salt Lake. We arrived at 6 p.m. on Labor Day to what can only be described as a mess. The diner was only half-full when we entered but were quickly and rudely told by only one of two waitresses that the wait was up to 30 minutes not because they were full but because the staff could not keep up. No welcome at all. In fact, they seemed put out that we wanted to eat there at all. We sat around and were in the way of everyone while the clean booth they eventually sat us in (20 minutes later) was open and right next to us. Three groups of people got the same rude welcome to the diner and proceeded to leave. The waitresses walked around us and talked loudly and rudely about customers who were less than happy with the wait for their food, or the processing of their bill. Finally we were seated and immediately informed that they were out of at least half of their menu. At one point, they had to inform a family that they were out of fries and then five minutes later go back and tell them the cook "found some more" in the kitchen. We quickly readjusted our order so that we would not lose the waitress and have to wait even longer. No salads were delivered and our children got their malts well before their dinner. When the food arrived we cancelled our salads that never came. The waitress looked surprised and had to look on the ticket to see that we really had ordered salads and then offered us free ice cream for the mistake. No thank you. The food was O.K. If the service and experience had been better, the food would have been fine. The flies were horrible. We will never go back. Honestly, the worst experience in a restaurant in a long time. A sign posted on the counter asks customers to please post good reviews on social media because a competitor and disgruntled employee are launching a smear campaign against the restaurant. I rarely post reviews but after seeing that plea and then going through our "dining experience", I can now say that I know why they have horrible online reviews and it is well deserved!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dplower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

A fun outing from Salt Lake City, and the diner is quite charming. However, the lunch sandwiches that we ordered were almost beyond mediocre, especially considering the prices that they charged. I would definitely not recommend the place, unless they pay a lot more attention to the quality of their menu.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Paula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith W, General Manager at Road Island Diner, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

We are sorry your sandwiches were not to your liking. Those ordered are our most favored but are prepared different from what some folks expect. Your waitress should have corrected any displeasure. We hope ypu will return as we care about your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

As locals we have eaten at the diner many times but after the last visit our return is up in the air ! The food looked good not only to us but the flies also. After telling the waitress the response was we put fly strips out at night but they are getting worse ! No sorry or please come back or would you like your dinner to go to a fly free envirement !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank YODADOG58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith W, Front Office Manager at Road Island Diner, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

We apologise about the flies on Saturday. We do our best to keep them out but wiith long lines out the door,it is difficult. August and super hot weather make it a challenge. We are working hard to offer a great dining environment, Lucy .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Road Island Diner also viewed

 

Been to Road Island Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing