We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good place to spend a night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Cottontree Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Salt Lake
Certificate of Excellence
bhm
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“good place to spend a night”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We have spent a night after flying in SLC for skiing at nearby ski resorts. The hotel was booked in advance. Clean and quiet. Breakfast was good. Coffee from the espresso machine was very good - Much better than at any popular coffee places. A good way to start a new day! Considering the price it was a good value

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CottonTreeManagement, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Cottontree Inn, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Best Western Plus CottonTree Inn - North Salt Lake. We are pleased to hear your positive comments regarding our convenient location to several ski resorts. It's true we are within 45 minutes of Alta, Brighton, Snow Bird & Solitude winter resorts. In addition, we are approximatey 1 hour from Deer Valley Resort, Park City Mountain Resort, Powder Mountain and Snow Basin. We hope you had an enjoyable time experiencing Utah's Greatest Snow on Earth. Thanks again and we look forward to the possibility of accommodating your future needs.

Thank you,
Nicole Walker
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    147
    40
    14
    4
See reviews for
158
124
31
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I've stayed at many Best Western Inn's over the years, and have had many good experiences and a couple bad ones. But this was the first Plus, didn't even know the Plus level existed until after I checked in. This newly remolded BW Plus was totally different from any other unit I've stayed at in the past. It was totally all new inside, the carpeting, paint, room furnishings, a large flat screen TV, and furniture with a contemporary look in a dark finish. The bathroom had a marble counter top and everything in both the rooms was high quality in nature. It's the first time I've been impressed with a BWP room. It has the feeling of staying in a higher-end hotel but with the BW price. They also have an indoor pool and hot tub and a very complete exercise room with all the newest type equipment as well. This new gear was all high tech and great to work out on.

They had a great breakfast selection and a few large areas in which to eat. One room could function as a casual meeting room that also has a large screen TV as well. This was the best BW room, or should I say the nicest Plus room I've every stayed in at a BW or a BWP. Great upgrade!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JerryQuill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CottonTreeManagement, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Cottontree Inn, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing our Best Western Plus CottonTree Inn - North Salt Lake for your recent stay. It's true, there are now 3 types of Best Western: Best Western, Best Western Plus and Best Western Premier. Thank you for noticing our new Best Western Plus designation. Recently we became a Best Western Plus hotel, which means that we offer amenties and services above and beyond a standard Best Western. We offer that little something extra, from well appointed rooms to modern amenities, Best Western Plus hotels are thoughtfully designed to suit the needs of any business or leisure traveler. For those who are unfamiliar with what Best Western Plus means, here is some information:

Our Standard Services & Amenities
What to expect when you stay at BEST WESTERN PLUS*
•Upgraded bath amenities—in case you forget anything, we have you covered
•Breakfast available to help you get the right start on your day
•Convenient in-room mini-fridge ideal for keeping drinks and snacks on-hand
•Fitness room to help you stay fit even while you’re on the road
•On-site laundry and/or same-day dry cleaning services
•FREE high-speed Internet to help you stay connected to work, friends and family
•FREE local calls
•FREE long distance access
•Spacious work desk in all guest rooms to keep you productive
•In-room coffee & tea maker
•Business center (copy, fax services and computer access to print airline boarding passes, maps & more)

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our newly renovated guestrooms and complimentary breakfast. Thanks again for sharing your positive feedback on TripAdvisor. I will be certain to share your positive comments with our management team and staff members.

Thank you,
Nicole Walker
Director of Sales
Best Western Plus CottonTree Inn - North Salt Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We always stay at this hotel when we are in Salt Lake. The shuttle service to the airport is great and they let you park your car while gone. It is clean, quiet, convenient and the staff is wonderful. The WIFI is inconsistent, you just have to be patient.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank VISHI G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CottonTreeManagement, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Cottontree Inn, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your compliments regarding our clean, quiet, convenient hotel and wonderful staff. We also appreciate your feedback regarding our wireless internet service. Our management team is aware of the issue and is working with our service provider to upgrade our Wi-Fi services in the near future.

Thanks again and we hope to see you next year!

Happy New Years!

Nicole Walker, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

After having a little stressful drive through Salt Lake, approaching from the south and encountering a few traffic accidents on the Monday of long weekend in September, we decided to push on through to avoid traffic in the commuter rush hour the next day and chose this hotel. Very glad we did. They've apparently recently updated and it was in showed, clean, nice rooms, comfortable beds, polite staff particularly Mary in the breakfast area. We wouldn't hesitate to choose this hotel again, very convenient to the freeway but we had no problem with traffic noise and we able to be on our way in the morning without any traffic problems.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LateTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CottonTreeManagement, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Cottontree Inn, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our BEST WESTERN PLUS CottonTree Inn on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your positive comments regarding our recently updated rooms, as well as our clean, nice rooms, comfortable beds and polite staff.

We are currently undergoing additional renovations this winter. As of January 1, 2013 we are pleased to say that 100% of our guestrooms will be newly renovated, our hotel will feature a new fitness center, business center and new elevator. In addition we will be 100% smoke free.

Thanks again for choosing our BEST WESTERN PLUS CottonTree Inn and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Thanks again,
Nicole Walker
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level 6 Contributor
438 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

I was on a road trip with an Egyptian colleague who had never been to America. He didn't have a lot of money so we chose "semi-budget" hotels ($100 - $150 range). As he drove up the freeway (I was teaching him to drive like a civilized person rather than the Egyptian way), I was on the phone with Best Western reservations and told them where I was and what time I wanted to pull off the highway so they chose this hotel for us. We were not displeased.

The hotel is conveniently just off the freeway at an interchange - easy off, easy on. Check-in was painless and counter personnel were very friendly. The hotel is spread out on two floors transiting to one toward the back of the lot. I mention this only because if you have little ones or are handicapped you may want to ask for a room at the front so you don't have to navigate stairs getting back to the lobby breakfast area inside.

The rooms are very spacious and clean. Internet was adequate for e-mailing.

Breakfast was provided - the typical BW fare with a twist; the waffles were marvelous! Two separate rooms with tables provided plenty of space to eat without tripping over anybody.

I would recommend this hotel if you are in a hurry and don't want to linger.

Room Tip: Ask for a room where you don't have to navigate stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CottonTreeManagement, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Cottontree Inn, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Best Western Plus CottonTree Inn - North Salt Lake. We appreciate your positive comments regarding our convenient location, friendly staff, clean rooms and breakfast.

Thank you for your additional feedback regarding the layout of our hotel. It's true that our hotel layout is spread out, guests who have limited mobility might prefer a room closer to the lobby. We are in the process of making our hotel more accessible in general. This November and December, we are adding 6 new ADA Rooms ,which will be conveniently located on the first floor, near the lobby area and swimming pool. In addition, we are also adding an elevator which will make our 1st floor, 2nd floor and meeting room area more accessable as well.

Please know that your comments have been reviewed in detail and steps are being taken to ensure these types of issues are handled on a preventive basis. We appreciate your patronage and hope you will stay with us the next time you are in town. I can assure we will do everything we can to make your stay a comfortable and happy one.

Sincerely,
Nicole Walker
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whidbey Island, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We were traveling w/ our dog so our hotel choices were limited. This hotel is in a location that is easy off/on the freeway, close to a few restaurant choices, & a fairly good choice w/ pets. I think the pet fee was $25. There was no pet area & no place to really walk the dog. We were required to take a queen/queen room due to our dog, although we requested a king. Not sure why so many hotels require that ... doesn't make sense to me. Large room, very comfy beds, recently upgraded, spotless. Included breakfast buffet was typical w/ good choices. We ate dinner at The Village Inn Restaurant, right next door to the hotel. Adequate ... hopefully you will find something better.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CottonTreeManagement, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Cottontree Inn, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Best Western Plus CottonTree Inn - North Salt Lake. We are proud to be a pet friendly hotel, however we do have a limited number of designated pet-friendly King and Double Queen rooms available. I am disappointed to hear we failed to provide the requested room type for your stay.

Please know that your comments have been reviewed in detail and steps are being taken to ensure these types of issues are handled on a preventive basis. We appreciate your patronage and hope you will stay with us the next time you are in town. I can assure we will do everything we can to make your stay a comfortable and happy one.

Sincerely,
Nicole Walker
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojai, California
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Clean, well-appointed rooms. Excellent location near restaurants and shopping. Problem with plumbing first nite, which front desk resolved by moving my room for me. They were so apologetic! The only improvement I would suggest is the breakfast. It was all but not edible: coffee machine did not work on first day, eggs were dry and tasteless, waffle mix had run out, and donuts were gone. Other than the breakfast, I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ojainel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CottonTreeManagement, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Cottontree Inn, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Best Western Plus CottonTree Inn - North Salt Lake. We are pleased to hear your positive comments regarding how our front desk resolved the plumbing issue. However, we are disappointed to hear our complimentary full hot American breakfast did not meet your needs. Generally we recieve nothing but compliments on our breakfast, but it sounds like we were a bit off one day. I will be sure to bring up the issues with our Management Team and breakfast staff.

Thanks again and we look forward to the possibility of accommodating your future needs.

Thank you,
Nicole Walker
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Salt Lake
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North
Comfort Inn & Suites North
#3 of 4 in Woods Cross
98 reviews
2.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bountiful, UT
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Salt Lake City/Farmington
8.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City / Farmington / Station Park
15.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Layton Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Cottontree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Cottontree Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Cottontree Inn
Address: 1030 North 400 East, North Salt Lake, UT 84054-1946 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS CottonTree Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Davis County > North Salt Lake
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Salt Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Cottontree Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Cotton Tree Inn, located on the edge of Salt Lake City, Bountiful City and Woods Cross in North Salt Lake, Utah. This North Salt Lake hotel is close to the Salt Palace Convention Center, the Lagoon Amusement Park, the Energy Solutions Arena, Legacy Event Center, South Davis Recreation Center, the Great Salt Lake and Antelope Island State Park. Our guests enjoy our free hot American breakfast, free airport shuttle, free parking, free high speed wireless internet access, free local calls & 24 hour access to our indoor pool and hot tub. For the ultimate experience, upgrade to one of our Deluxe King or Double Queen rooms which have been COMPLETELY REMODELED. Featuring all new furnishings, new carpet, new paint, new A/C units, LCD TVs and refrigerators. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Best Western, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Plus Cottontree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Cottontree Hotel North Salt Lake
Best Western North Salt Lake
North Salt Lake Best Western
Best Western Plus Cottontree Inn North Salt Lake, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing