We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sometimes funny, sometimes not so much”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Desert Star Playhouse
Ranked #2 of 8 things to do in Murray
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Herriman,ut
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Sometimes funny, sometimes not so much”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

I have been to several plays here. Even had season tickets last year. This is a fun way to spend an evening. They even have decent food (loved the pizza). That being said, sometimes the plays are hilarious and sometimes they think references to familiar things are inherently funny. There are several very talented actors and staff. The songs they perform after the play are often as entertaining as the play itself. Overall a decent way to spend an evening but expect content quality to be a bit uneven.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    12
    3
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wapiti, Wyoming
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“A great place to waste your time”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Time enjoyed wasting is not wasted. I've only seen one show here - the Lone Ranger - but I had a fantastic time. It wasn't broadway. It was fun. Downside- the tables are crammed in super tight and the food choices are eh. But go, catch a show, put on your good attitude and enjoy your life for a couple hours.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Becky F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I've seen better high school productions. I attended the first act of the Lone Stranger. The sets, props, and costumes (even the makeup!) were very poor quality. Supposed to be a parody, but the jokes fell flat. The theater is cute, decorated in western theme but some of the seating is really tight. Choose your seating carefully and eat before you go. They sell food to help ends meet but only offer concession-style fare. Two soft drinks cost $5.0 and there is no place to park.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank nottaGeezerYET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fun Filled”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I went to see "The Lone Stranger" with family and it was hilarious. At times, I wondered why I could laugh at such silliness.And then, just when I thought it was over, came "swing Thing Olio" This is when the actors come not in character but instead entertaining us with a musical revue
We had a light dinner, which was pretty good.
This is a great place to bring out of towners or to celebrate an event.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank TropicalMillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Desert Star Playhouse also viewed

Murray, Wasatch Range
 
Murray, Wasatch Range
Murray, Wasatch Range
 

Been to Desert Star Playhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing