We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyed staying there”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Midvalley - Murray
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Murray
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The room was very comfortable and quite large. I had a King Size bed and a complete sitting area with a small partial wall between the 2 areas giving it a "suite" feeling. It comes with a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker, DirecTV, and an alarm clock that is an iPod dock.

I really liked free internet and parking. The breakfast was one of the best free breakfasts I've had at a hotel. All it needed was the Waffle machine. They have an assortment of fresh fruit, cereal, bagels, and bread. They change up the egg, sausage, potato, and pancakes or french toast each of the days I was there. It did not feel like it was a free breakfast from the quality of it.

The offer a light dinner which I did one evening. It was so-so. Looking at the dinner menu they definitely go a bit cheap on the dinner options. Just the fact that they offer the option impressed me as it came in handy the one evening I did have it.

The indoor pool and hot tub is so-so. Not the biggest pool and the evening i decided to use the hot tub, it was as cold as the pool. I heard that the next day it was warm again.

I found the front desk staff very friendly and helpful. The staff running the food were always on top of cleaning up the dining area and re-filling the food.

They also have a little step down sitting area with a fireplace. It looks like it could be a nice little social gathering spot in the winter.

I do hope to return at some time and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Spacious room. 1 Bed room had sleeper couch if you needed a 2nd bed. Price includes breakfast, din...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HDcine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (388)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

274 - 280 of 388 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2013

We were helping our son & family move and needed a place for the night. Generally we would find something right on the interstate but there was a dog show in town & everything was booked. We did find a Motel 8 but it had insufficient parking. We had several vehicles plus a large moving van & wanted to be able to keep an eye on everything. While we were driving around we saw Crystal Inn and called. While the price was a little higher than we usually would pay, it was 9pm & everyone was tired, so we accepted the rate.

First check-in was easy. Had we been there earlier in the evening, they even have dinner included in the price. Breakfast is also included and while it is a buffet, it is wonderful. Lots of choices and hot too. We were totally impressed with this place and would definitely stay at another one.

The beds were so comfortable. The room was large enough for a small table and a couple of chairs. There was a couch and an extra lounge chair. Too bad we were just passing through. It is off the interstate but easy to get back on and this place is in a quiet location.

Unfortunately it is only located in Utah but we go through there on occasion so I will definitely put it on top of my list for places to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank great2bretired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

This hotel (at least the common areas and our room) was spotlessly clean and neat in every respect. Not only that but the A/C was QUIET as were the hallways. The front desk folk, especially Teresa who is a shining example of what front desk staff should be, were courteous, helpful and informative. The breakfast was fantastic (although the coffee was horrible thanks to their coffee machine) with a wide assortment of delicious offerings constantly replenished. The little "dinner" (not what you'd want as a steady diet) was satisfying and quite good for those who might wish to save money or don't have the time or inclination to venture out. It is nice to see that, even in a busy hotel, everything can be kept so clean and inviting. "So", you say, "I guess I'll stay".......A couple of things to be prepared for that contribute to the "4" rating in place of a "5". The mattress, although a pillow top, was very hard which contributed to a restless night for us. If a hard mattress is your thing you're good but if a a plush pillow top is what you're used to you might have a problem. An assortment of pillows lets one choose from hard to medium/hard but none were "pillow soft". The worst thing is the traffic noise. Right adjacent to the freeway on one end, and a busy road on the other, the noise starts, during the work week, at 4:30 AM building to a crescendo by 5 AM so, if you're wanting to sleep past 5 better bring ear plugs.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room....less noise even though there seemed to be very little room to room or ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rjredeemed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

The hotel was nice enough and the rooms were large. Lots of kids in the breakfast room and had a bit of a worn look to the place with narrow dark hallways. Looked like the cheap hotels I stayed in when I was younger and trashed on ski trips. Anyway, the breakfast was okay especially for this type of hotel and at least was cooked as opposed to pre-packaged and nuked which is a big plus.

The a/c running in the room was quite noisy but didn't particularly bother me.

Room Tip: There is only a single elevator which can be a bit slow so you may want to consider that as you go f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaQi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Due to a business/client relationship in Sandy, we are bound by GSA rate which is $96 for this area. Sandy UT is an area where the low-ends are at $65-75 and the higher-ends are at $125+. There is VERY LITTLE between the low-ends and the higher-ends to choose from. The Crystal Inn fits the bill.
> The hotel facility is older, but a good effort to update and modernize. Carpets, walls, lobby, elevator, front desk is all very nice.
> Rooms are clean and serviceable, and they are in the process of replacing beds (Kings are all new).
> Breakfast is nice. Hot/basic. Coffee avail 24 hrs/day. We never ate the dinner that is offered.
> Small workout room with Nautilus, treadmill, elliptical and bike with flat screen TV. I was the only person in there each morning.
> Experienced some mechanical noises at night - not sure where it was coming from. Front desk staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This hotel was very nice! This hotel did not only serve you a free deluxe hot breakfast, but also dinner too (5-7pm) the food was really good! The indoor heated swimming pool was excellent! The staff is the most nicest people ever! They were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cameron V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Just your average hotel. My room smelled like B.O. and no matter how long I kept the window open. I could not get rid of that smell.
I had a great window view of the mountains, but the Red Cross sign that said "Please give blood" blocked that great view. It will be on all night so expect your room to glow.
All in all, a horrible experience. I will never stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 332.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nella180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crystalstar9, Director of Sales at Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Midvalley - Murray, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Thank you for your business and thank you for your time in reviewing our hotel. Our principal goal is to provide excellent service and lodging to each guest. Consequently, it’s disappointing to learn that your recent experience with us was less than satisfactory. Please accept our sincere apology for the difficulties you encountered during your stay. We measure our success by how our guests evaluate our services and facilities. With this in mind, I want you to know that the comments and suggestions we receive are taken seriously. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to be your home away from home again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murray
2.5 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Salt Lake City-Murray, UT
1.8 mi away
The Park Inn by Radisson Salt Lake City – Midvale
1 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Salt Lake City-Fort Union
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Salt ...
#23 of 76 in Salt Lake City
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 6 in Murray
136 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salt Lake City South-Murray
9 mi away
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Midvalley - Murray? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Midvalley - Murray

Address: 818 E Winchester St, I-215, Exit 9, Murray, UT 84107-7533
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Murray
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Murray
Price Range: $101 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Midvalley - Murray 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of the Salt Lake valley and at the base of the Cottonwood Canyons, Murray is often referred to as the "hub of Salt Lake City." This location is centrally located withing the valley. It is the perfect hotel for skiers who want to experience four world-class ski resorts - Alta, Brighton, Snowbird, and Solitude, which are minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Midvalley - Murray reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal Inn Hotel And Suites Midvalley - Murray
Crystal Hotel Midvalley Murray
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Midvalley - Murray Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing