We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place needs new management”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western East Zion Thunderbird Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mount Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“The place needs new management”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Checked for one night, booked over 4months in advance and got treated by the front deck like we were bothering their nap. Room was clean, laid out very poor. Only one coffee packet for two of us? After telling them they acted like that was normal. REALLY.
Men's room in the lobby very very very gross DIRTY.
Tried in the evening and it was bad, again in the morning and it had never been cleaned.

Room Tip: The food in the restaurant was very good, if only the management worked as hard as the restaurant cr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank todski85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya M, Owner at Best Western East Zion Thunderbird Lodge, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Only one coffee packet is of course not the norm. I am sorry the front desk staff was not chipper. That is actually quite unusual. The restaurant bathroom in the lobby can get overwhelmed after a bus of people have hit is, but most of the time its in very good shape. I am sorry you had such a bad experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,054 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    446
    140
    42
    16
See reviews for
363
477
39
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Located in a convenient area between Zion National Park and Bryce Canyon National Park. Our room was very large! Two queen beds, table chairs, pation with two outside chairs right near the pool. Hotel is very clean and staff is helpful and friendly. There is a gift shop and a restaurant on the property. I'd read the restaurant reviews first, though. The hotel was sold out both nights we were there so I recommend making your reservations early.

Room Tip: Make your reservations early. This place seems to be sold out on a regular basis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonia719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya M, Owner at Best Western East Zion Thunderbird Lodge, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for your review! It sounds like you have a great stay! The parks this time of year are simply magical.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Jordan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We went to a family reunion in southern Utah. This was probably the most expensive hotel in the immediate area. But the rooms were good sized, which I really appreciate. It was clean and didn't smell. We did have to turn off our airconditioner for a while though. We were on the second floor and a man below us was smoking a cigar and all that smoke was being pulled in through the conditioner. otherwise, nice stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Dwight P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya M, Owner at Best Western East Zion Thunderbird Lodge, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
I am so glad you had a good stay! I was on a cruise once and I like to just sit on the balcony and smell the clean ocean air, and the guy in the cabin next to me liked to spend his time on the balcony too, but with his cigar! It's a bummer, but there is nothing that can be done .... but on your next stay ask for a room in our one story building! That should solve that problem.

Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Thomas, Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this lodge for 3 nights while visiting Zion and Bryce. We loved the room, the decor and the cleanliness. There were 3 of us staying in one room and it was very spacious. We were lucky enough to get a second floor room that overlooked the golf course which was perfect for me to watch my husband and brother play a couple of holes while I relaxed on the balcony. Loved the balcony and the guys loved the golf course which was very reasonably priced for motel guests. The beds were very comfortable and the rustic pine decor was perfect for that location.
We used the pool area a couple of times and found the pool water pretty cold but the hot tub was perfect. There is also a very nice area to sit around the pool and the view is quite pretty.
It's about 12 miles to the Zion entrance, but it is a long amazing drive to the Visitors centre. It's about 60 miles to Bryce, so overall to do both parks, Mt Carmel is a good location.
There is free wifi which worked great even in this fairly remote location.
Breakfast is not included and there is no free coffee except for the coffeemaker in the room.
There is a gas station and a store right next to the lodge which is very convenient.
Now for the bad - the restaurant. We had looked forward to eating in the restaurant and trying the ho-made pies, so we ended up disappointed. We went for lunch on our first day and it started with the unfriendly hostess. Service was so slow, although our waiter was friendly. We were in the restaurant for almost 2 hours just to have lunch, time we would have preferred spending doing other things, although we did enjoy watching the hummingbirds feeding outside the restaurant window. We went back for dinner and again the hostess was quite rude and looked at her watch before seating us and telling us they were closing at 10 (which we already knew) it was 8:50. We sat at our table until 9:20 with no one even acknowledging we were there before we decided to get up and leave. We ended up going to Golden Hills Restaurant across the road and ended up having all of our meals there. The place is not as nice as the Thunderbird, but the food, service and prices are a lot better. And it was still convenient just to walk across the road.
I've read other reviews that the restaurant at the Thunderbird was good, but we spoke to other guests at the motel during our stay that were also unhappy with the slow and unfriendly service.
Overall, we absolutely loved the hotel and golf course. Too bad the restaurant service was so bad. They lost a lot of business from us.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HOG-dogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya M, Owner at Best Western East Zion Thunderbird Lodge, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
I am so glad your roommates got to enjoy the golf course and you got to enjoy your large room while they played! This time of year, during monsoon season, the mostly solar heated pool can start to get a bit chilly.

I will pass your restaurant comment to those who do run the restaurant.

When school started the restaurant lost a of lot of their employees, and now are struggling to keep up. We are in a remote area and we rely on college and even high school students to work in the summer, but when they go back to school we do struggle. This is a beautiful place to live, but with a population of less that 600 people from the only nearby town, and that population is mostly retired people and grade school kids, it is not always easy in the spring and fall! We have survived since 1931 and we will keep working hard to do so. I am sorry we were behind during your visit, but I want you to know we try very hard to do a good job here, but try to understand our location!

Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights in August 2012. Used it as the starting point for Bryce Canyon, Grand Canyon, and Zion National Parks.

It's the perfect distance to Zion, just about 30 mins. Bryce is alittle more then an hour, and the North Rim of the Grand Canyon is almost 3 hours away, and a long boring drive too.

The food at the Thunderbird Restaurant was excellent, breakfast was probably too much food, but it was worth it because of the long drives and hikes ahead of us on our stay.

Driving 10 minutes down the road (in any of the 3 available directions) will give you a truly spectacular view of the night sky, and the Milky Way. You should do it.

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same, but if you want one with some view of the night sky, try for one towards...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lord-xeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya M, Owner at Best Western East Zion Thunderbird Lodge, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
We think the same! Thank you for your wonderful review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2013

our room was very clean got a decent price although the ac unit was noisy I would stay again if i were passing through. fun decor. great food at adjacent resturant: reubin and potato salad, fish and chips

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya M, Owner at Best Western East Zion Thunderbird Lodge, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thanks for your review. I really dislike hotel air conditioners too, and if cool enough I like to just open a window or door all night!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Ogden, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We knew we'd be late but we didn't arrive until 1:15 a.m. The manager came down quickly and made sure we were all settled in and was very nice despite the late hour. Room was big and clean. On-site restaurant was very good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Lee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya M, Owner at Best Western East Zion Thunderbird Lodge, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am so glad everything went well for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Carmel
17.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springdale - Zion Natl Pk Area
17.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springdale Zion National Park
17.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites at Zion Park / Springdale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 16 in Springdale
1,839 reviews
14.4 mi away
Canyons Boutique Hotel - A Canyons Collection Property
17.2 mi away
Quality Inn at Zion Park
Quality Inn at Zion Park
#13 of 16 in Springdale
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western East Zion Thunderbird Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western East Zion Thunderbird Lodge

Property: Best Western East Zion Thunderbird Lodge
Address: Junction SR-9 & US-89, East Zion, Mount Carmel, UT 84755 (Formerly BEST WESTERN East Zion Thunderbird Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Mount Carmel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mount Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western East Zion Thunderbird Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zion National Park lodging at its best! The BEST WESTERN East Zion Thunderbird Lodge offers a refreshing pool, hot tub, 9 hole golf course and free club rentals. Our rooms are 100% smoke free, 100% pet free, with balcony views and patios that overlook the beautiful mountains and lush green golf course, DirecTV. In-room coffee and tea, guest laundry facilities, direct dial in-room phones, free local and 1-800 calls, internet connections, AAA, AARP. We are located 12 miles from the east entrance to Zion National Park, 60 miles from Bryce Canyon National Park, 85 miles from the North Rim of the Grand Canyon, 45 miles from Cedar Breaks National Monument, and 12 miles from the Coral Pink Sand Dunes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Best Western, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western East Zion Thunderbird Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western East Zion Thunderbird Hotel Mount Carmel
Best Western Mount Carmel
East Zion Thunderbird Hotel
Best Western East Zion Thunderbird Lodge Utah/Mount Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing