We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Rooms!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN East Zion Thunderbird Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN East Zion Thunderbird Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mount Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Rooms!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

The room was exceptionally clean, stylish, spacious, well-stocked, and even smelled great. The hotel staff were nice and did their best to accommodate my disabled mom. Parking was plentiful, and the location was outstanding. The restaurant seemed overpriced (we didn't eat any full meals there), and the coffee pretty awful, but the pie was actually incredibly tasty and generously portioned, and this review isn't for the restaurant anyways. Overall great value, and you get to stay within an hour's drive of both Bryce and Zion. Awesome!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Serga C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya M, Owner at BEST WESTERN East Zion Thunderbird Lodge, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Don't you love the smell of a clean room! I remember the days when I would go into a motel room and they sprayed that awful stuff that always made me wonder what they were hiding. Luckily those days are mostly a thing of the past. I love to hear that our rooms are clean and that your handicapped room worked well for you! We just remodeled all our handicapped rooms this winter.


I will pass your restaurant tips to those that do manage it. Thank you for limiting your comments on this lodging thread to the lodging!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    420
    132
    39
    13
See reviews for
333
448
37
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night here and were delighted to to find clean accommodations. The restaurant was good an very close to the office. We planned to stay in Kanab that night, but the hotels we full. We will go back to this jewel!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barb G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya M, Owner at BEST WESTERN East Zion Thunderbird Lodge, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
I am so glad you found us! Thank you for your wonderful review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Good place to explore both Zion and Bryce Canyon National Parks. It's a little in the middle of nowhere so if you don't want to drive a half hour for dinner, you have the choice between the hotel restaurant and another hotel.

Our room was big but not really nicely furbished, our friend had a room with a lot of woodwork and character but we had a typical motelroom without even a cabinet for the fridge or microwave. But the room was spacious and we had a big sitting area outside in the sun and direct acces to a nice lawn which was great for our 1,5 year old to play.

The pool was still closed. The restaurant was pretty basic but the people are nice and the food is ok, the pies are really amazing.

A nice place, nothing fancy and a bit dated but it has everything you need.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank josiewitchgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya M, Owner at BEST WESTERN East Zion Thunderbird Lodge, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Oh no! You got our thrown together room. That means that is the very next room to get the handcrafted log furniture, but it's in transit! That's why your friend had different furniture.

There are other places to eat - the Buffalo Bistro, the Buffalo Grill, Soup Town.. all within a few minutes. The city of Kanab is 17 miles away with all kinds of place to eat, but yes Springdale is 25 miles away from us and it takes a while to travel through the park.

It's still a bit chilly here to open the pool, but I think we strive to do so on Mother's Day if the weather cooperates.

Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Convinient base to explore Zion from the east. Rooms were clean, felt new, and had nice woodwork furnature. Room reading materials contained unusual hiking hints, such as directions to the Wave! Lots of electric sockets at the right spots was a great help for our numerous devices. There were a few glitches: smoke detector was making funny noises, internet was not working until we complained (they rebooted the router), and the room did not have enough shampoo. The room opened directly to the street, so the area next to the door was a bit cold. There is no free breakfast, and the restaurant is an overpriced diner.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank a-guy-from-Atlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya M, Owner at BEST WESTERN East Zion Thunderbird Lodge, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
We have come to realize that even being out in the wild of Utah we must conform to the need for sockets! The world is becoming quite electronic, so yes, those have been placed in the rooms.

As author of a hiking book for Zion and the surrounding area, Favorite hikes in and around Zion National Park, I do like to share what I know with my guests. I am glad you found my tips helpful.


Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Hotel was average though a bit dated. They still use the 'never wash bed spread' but the bathroom was very clean... no signs of mildew anywhere (one of my pet peeves). The attached restaurant is sufficient. Most meals tasted pre-packaged/frozen but still edible and the kids didn't complain. Pool and hot tub are seasonal.

Just a few minutes to the more scenic East Entrance to Zion and just over an hour to Bryce. No nearby restaurant options. Attached Chevron also closes in the evening, so if you're getting an early start to catch sunrise in the parks, better prepare food/drinks the night before.

I would recommend this as a more 'out of the way' hotel with less hustle-bustle of other hotels that service the parks.

Room Tip: No noise from the ice/vending room or from guests upstairs. First floor is easier access - better i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billandiris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya M, Owner at BEST WESTERN East Zion Thunderbird Lodge, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
I am glad the hotel was adequate for you.

Thank you for your reply.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

The location of this motel is perfect for a stop between Zion National Park and Bryce Canyon National Park. (The road from east Zion to the motel is gorgeous.) The front exterior of the motel room was not very welcoming - sort of stark, with no front window - but a pleasant surprise upon entry. The room was very spacious and beautifully furnished, with a sliding glass door leading to a private patio. The room provided a small fridge, coffee maker, good TV, good Internet connection, comfortable bed, and was very clean and well maintained. In other words, everything a weary traveler could ask for in a reasonably priced motel.

The motel is located at a crossroads, with some traffic noise, but it is not too bad. Note that everything (gas station, convenience store, restaurants) at the intersection closes early in the evening, so plan accordingly. The onsite restaurant was pretty good, and a convenient option.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya M, Owner at BEST WESTERN East Zion Thunderbird Lodge, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you so much for your review.

Just one point I would like to make is that your stay was in early spring, in the summer, during our busy season all things are open late.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Carmel
17.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springdale Zion National Park
17.3 mi away
Quality Inn at Zion Park
Quality Inn at Zion Park
#12 of 16 in Springdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
15.2 mi away
Zion Lodge
Zion Lodge
#1 of 2 in Zion National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springdale - Zion Natl Pk Area
17.2 mi away
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 16 in Springdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,752 reviews
17.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites at Zion Park / Springdale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN East Zion Thunderbird Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN East Zion Thunderbird Lodge

Property: BEST WESTERN East Zion Thunderbird Lodge
Address: Junction SR-9 & US-89, East Zion, Mount Carmel, UT 84755
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Mount Carmel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mount Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN East Zion Thunderbird Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zion National Park lodging at its best! The BEST WESTERN East Zion Thunderbird Lodge offers a refreshing pool, hot tub, 9 hole golf course and free club rentals. Our rooms are 100% smoke free, 100% pet free, with balcony views and patios that overlook the beautiful mountains and lush green golf course, DirecTV. In-room coffee and tea, guest laundry facilities, direct dial in-room phones, free local and 1-800 calls, internet connections, AAA, AARP. We are located 12 miles from the east entrance to Zion National Park, 60 miles from Bryce Canyon National Park, 85 miles from the North Rim of the Grand Canyon, 45 miles from Cedar Breaks National Monument, and 12 miles from the Coral Pink Sand Dunes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Best Western and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN East Zion Thunderbird Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western East Zion Thunderbird Hotel Mount Carmel
Best Western Mount Carmel
East Zion Thunderbird Hotel
BEST WESTERN East Zion Thunderbird Lodge Utah/Mount Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing