We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Rooms and a Historic Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western East Zion Thunderbird Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mount Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 9, 2013

This lodge has been owned and operated by the same family for over half a century. Its nostalgic. Its also in a beautiful location between Escalante National Monument and Zion National Park. Its right at the crossroads of 2 highways.
The rooms have been redone and are furnished with beautiful log furniture. Even the lamps are made of logs. We were told not all of the rooms contain the log furniture, so make sure you request one of the remodeled rooms. The restaurant has been famous for its pies and the coconut cream did not disappoint. I hope you find the photos I have posted helpful!

Room Tip: Ask for a room containing the log furniture.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AmazingRacerWannabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya M, Owner at Best Western East Zion Thunderbird Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

What a wonderful review and your pictures are great! Thank you so much and I hope you stay with us again!

PS! Thank you for taking the time to learn about my Grand parents and the history behind the Thunderbird.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,092)
There are newer reviews for Best Western East Zion Thunderbird Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

717 - 723 of 1,092 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013

Last May I wrote a review stating the Best Western was fine except that we did not have any hot water. They responded by saying they would give me a full refund, which they did do. I was remiss in not posting a thank you to them for doing so. If I were out there again, I would stay there as it was an excellent stop over spot between Zion And Bryce Canyon.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank racinron64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank AWood1216
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tanya M, Owner at Best Western East Zion Thunderbird Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed one night. Very spacious rooms with a very unique in layout. Room is designed on a diagonal.
There's a front and rear door. Rear door leads to a nice grassy area then to the outside pool.
We enjoyed a late afternoon swim; Pool was very clean.
Very slow check-in however. There was only one person ahead of me, but took a half-hour to check us in.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phillywill1863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya M, Owner at Best Western East Zion Thunderbird Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

It sounds like you stayed in what we call our Golf Course units. My Grandma would always report proudly that those rooms were designed by a student of the famous Frank Lloyd Wright. She was quite proud of them. They were the first of her units to be built. I have no idea why it would have taken so long to check in. Whoever was working at that exact moment in time must have been having a brain dead moment. Usually the staff works quickly, and efficiently.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

If like me you traveling from Bryce to Zion instead of the other way around (and you are not a picky traveler used to opulence), this is a nice stop-over place. Zion visitor center is quite close and you also get to drive on the Zion-Mt. Carmel highway to get into the park instead of the conventional route through Springdale.

It is family run and the only staff I encountered (at the reception) seemed quite friendly and nice.

The rooms were neat and clean and parking is right outside your door, which is a plus if you have a lot of stuff.

The only complaint i have is the absence of central heating. You have to use a radiator instead and that isn't nearly enough to heat up the room, especially if you are traveling in late December like me. It got quite uncomfortable at night and early in the morning.

Other than that, I have few complaints.

The restaurant next door is OK, but they have very few veggie options. Then again, this is a problem with the entire Bryce region, which was even worse in terms of availability of veggie/vegan cuisine.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Psychoanalyst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya M, Owner at Best Western East Zion Thunderbird Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Thank you for your review. I am glad you appreciate the beauty of the Zion-Mt. Carmel Highway and our location. I am confused as to why the room heater did not work sufficiently for you and I will look into this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Our room was not good. Kinda spooky. Misterious doors that lead to God knows where. Old and run down. Get an upstairs room because the floors above sound like someone is walking on your head.

The Central location is excellent because of all the attractions nearby. Zion, Brice,North Rim,Cedar Breaks. The Thuderbird Restaraunt has the best breakfast in Utah. Over the top.
Dinner is average.

Room Tip: Get an upstairs room
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joe b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya M, Owner at Best Western East Zion Thunderbird Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2012

Ouch! Are you sure you stayed in the Best Western East Zion Thunderbird Lodge? The rooms are remodeled with hand made log furniture. Perhaps you are talking about the old motel across the street. In any case, thank you for your review although I am confused.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Huge rooms. Very very friendly snd helpful staffs. Didn't like how the rooms were a bit far from the lobby where the restaurant was but thanks to that, I felt like renting a studio. Mattress was a bit too soft. Terrible temperature insulation from the outside temperature cause of the large glass wall. A.C./heat unit wasn't the best. You would have to turn it to 80 to feel 70. But I would return for another stay. It's a good hotel option if you are visiting Zion from the east. The food at their restaurant was decent too. Lunch is reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya M, Owner at Best Western East Zion Thunderbird Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2012

I am thrilled you would return and that like liked the large rooms and staff.


Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Carmel
17.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springdale - Zion Natl Pk Area
17.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springdale Zion National Park
17.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites at Zion Park / Springdale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
#4 of 16 in Springdale
1,926 reviews
15.2 mi away
Zion Lodge
Zion Lodge
#1 of 2 in Zion National Park
2,006 reviews
14.4 mi away
Canyons Boutique Hotel - A Canyons Collection Property
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western East Zion Thunderbird Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western East Zion Thunderbird Lodge

Address: Junction SR-9 & US-89, East Zion, Mount Carmel, UT 84755 (Formerly BEST WESTERN East Zion Thunderbird Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Mount Carmel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mount Carmel
Price Range: $119 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western East Zion Thunderbird Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zion National Park lodging at its best! The BEST WESTERN East Zion Thunderbird Lodge offers a refreshing pool, hot tub, 9 hole golf course and free club rentals. Our rooms are 100% smoke free, 100% pet free, with balcony views and patios that overlook the beautiful mountains and lush green golf course, DirecTV. In-room coffee and tea, guest laundry facilities, direct dial in-room phones, free local and 1-800 calls, internet connections, AAA, AARP. We are located 12 miles from the east entrance to Zion National Park, 60 miles from Bryce Canyon National Park, 85 miles from the North Rim of the Grand Canyon, 45 miles from Cedar Breaks National Monument, and 12 miles from the Coral Pink Sand Dunes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Best Western, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western East Zion Thunderbird Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western East Zion Thunderbird Hotel Mount Carmel
Best Western Mount Carmel
East Zion Thunderbird Hotel
Best Western East Zion Thunderbird Lodge Utah/Mount Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing