We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They did give me a full refund.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western East Zion Thunderbird Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mount Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“They did give me a full refund.”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Last May I wrote a review stating the Best Western was fine except that we did not have any hot water. They responded by saying they would give me a full refund, which they did do. I was remiss in not posting a thank you to them for doing so. If I were out there again, I would stay there as it was an excellent stop over spot between Zion And Bryce Canyon.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank racinron64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    435
    137
    42
    15
See reviews for
346
469
38
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
118 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed one night. Very spacious rooms with a very unique in layout. Room is designed on a diagonal.
There's a front and rear door. Rear door leads to a nice grassy area then to the outside pool.
We enjoyed a late afternoon swim; Pool was very clean.
Very slow check-in however. There was only one person ahead of me, but took a half-hour to check us in.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phillywill1863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya M, Owner at Best Western East Zion Thunderbird Lodge, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
It sounds like you stayed in what we call our Golf Course units. My Grandma would always report proudly that those rooms were designed by a student of the famous Frank Lloyd Wright. She was quite proud of them. They were the first of her units to be built. I have no idea why it would have taken so long to check in. Whoever was working at that exact moment in time must have been having a brain dead moment. Usually the staff works quickly, and efficiently.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

If like me you traveling from Bryce to Zion instead of the other way around (and you are not a picky traveler used to opulence), this is a nice stop-over place. Zion visitor center is quite close and you also get to drive on the Zion-Mt. Carmel highway to get into the park instead of the conventional route through Springdale.

It is family run and the only staff I encountered (at the reception) seemed quite friendly and nice.

The rooms were neat and clean and parking is right outside your door, which is a plus if you have a lot of stuff.

The only complaint i have is the absence of central heating. You have to use a radiator instead and that isn't nearly enough to heat up the room, especially if you are traveling in late December like me. It got quite uncomfortable at night and early in the morning.

Other than that, I have few complaints.

The restaurant next door is OK, but they have very few veggie options. Then again, this is a problem with the entire Bryce region, which was even worse in terms of availability of veggie/vegan cuisine.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Psychoanalyst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya M, Owner at Best Western East Zion Thunderbird Lodge, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am glad you appreciate the beauty of the Zion-Mt. Carmel Highway and our location. I am confused as to why the room heater did not work sufficiently for you and I will look into this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Georgia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Our room was not good. Kinda spooky. Misterious doors that lead to God knows where. Old and run down. Get an upstairs room because the floors above sound like someone is walking on your head.

The Central location is excellent because of all the attractions nearby. Zion, Brice,North Rim,Cedar Breaks. The Thuderbird Restaraunt has the best breakfast in Utah. Over the top.
Dinner is average.

Room Tip: Get an upstairs room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joe b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya M, Owner at Best Western East Zion Thunderbird Lodge, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Ouch! Are you sure you stayed in the Best Western East Zion Thunderbird Lodge? The rooms are remodeled with hand made log furniture. Perhaps you are talking about the old motel across the street. In any case, thank you for your review although I am confused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Huge rooms. Very very friendly snd helpful staffs. Didn't like how the rooms were a bit far from the lobby where the restaurant was but thanks to that, I felt like renting a studio. Mattress was a bit too soft. Terrible temperature insulation from the outside temperature cause of the large glass wall. A.C./heat unit wasn't the best. You would have to turn it to 80 to feel 70. But I would return for another stay. It's a good hotel option if you are visiting Zion from the east. The food at their restaurant was decent too. Lunch is reasonably priced.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya M, Owner at Best Western East Zion Thunderbird Lodge, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
I am thrilled you would return and that like liked the large rooms and staff.


Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 28, 2012

My family stayed on night to visit Zion Canyon NP. The location was good to go to Zion NP but wireless internet was poor. Room space was enough for 4 people and nice view with golf course in front of door.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank HYOUNGSEOK K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya M, Owner at Best Western East Zion Thunderbird Lodge, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
I am glad you enjoyed the large room and the view of the Golf Course. We have implemented the best internet service that the area provides. Keep in mind however, that you are in a rural area of southern Utah, and probably here to visit some of the greatest landscapes in the world! With that comes one will loose some of the the inconveniences that are often found in the cities. That said, the internet service is usually quite good and very fast here - using a satellite service. If there was poor weather during your stay this can affect the service, or sometime things just happen and we report this to that vendor as quickly as possible.

Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Carmel
17.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springdale - Zion Natl Pk Area
17.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springdale Zion National Park
17.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites at Zion Park / Springdale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 16 in Springdale
1,827 reviews
17.2 mi away
Quality Inn at Zion Park
Quality Inn at Zion Park
#13 of 16 in Springdale
719 reviews
14.4 mi away
Canyons Boutique Hotel - A Canyons Collection Property
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western East Zion Thunderbird Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western East Zion Thunderbird Lodge

Property: Best Western East Zion Thunderbird Lodge
Address: Junction SR-9 & US-89, East Zion, Mount Carmel, UT 84755 (Formerly BEST WESTERN East Zion Thunderbird Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Mount Carmel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mount Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western East Zion Thunderbird Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zion National Park lodging at its best! The BEST WESTERN East Zion Thunderbird Lodge offers a refreshing pool, hot tub, 9 hole golf course and free club rentals. Our rooms are 100% smoke free, 100% pet free, with balcony views and patios that overlook the beautiful mountains and lush green golf course, DirecTV. In-room coffee and tea, guest laundry facilities, direct dial in-room phones, free local and 1-800 calls, internet connections, AAA, AARP. We are located 12 miles from the east entrance to Zion National Park, 60 miles from Bryce Canyon National Park, 85 miles from the North Rim of the Grand Canyon, 45 miles from Cedar Breaks National Monument, and 12 miles from the Coral Pink Sand Dunes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western East Zion Thunderbird Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western East Zion Thunderbird Hotel Mount Carmel
Best Western Mount Carmel
East Zion Thunderbird Hotel
Best Western East Zion Thunderbird Lodge Utah/Mount Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing