We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideally placed for Bryce Canyon and Zion” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN East Zion Thunderbird Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN East Zion Thunderbird Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mount Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Ideally placed for Bryce Canyon and Zion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

We booked two nights to enable us to have full day at Bryce Canyon and then visit Zion the second day, en route to Mesquite. We booked online, via a hotel booking website and paid about £200 in total, including taxes and breakfast both mornings.

We were originally allocated a ground floor room, but were given a second floor room, on request, as one was available. It was a corner room (208) overlooking the pool. It was huge! Two queen sized beds, table, chairs, TV, fridge and coffee maker and a small balcony with chairs.

We ate in the hotel restaurant both evenings and, as vegetarians, were pleased to find a reasonable choice available to us. The food was good, as was the wine and prices reasonable. Servers were efficient, friendly and helpful.

We were given breakfast vouchers and were told we could choose anything from the breakfast menu. Again there was good veggie choice and everything we tried we enjoyed e.g. eggs, hash browns, French toast and pancakes. Portions were large, orange juice available and, of course, the refillable coffee cup.

Could not fault reception, housekeeping or restaurant staff and we were made to feel very welcome. Although somewhat isolated with regard to location, we found everything we needed on site, including fuel for our car and the Lodge's location suited us perfectly for the road trip we were making.

We don't play golf, but noted that there is a 9-hole golf course attached to the hotel. The swimming pool is small, but adequate for a refreshing dip and there is a good sized hot tub.

Room Tip: Would recommend 208 as corner room and very large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clogmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya M, Owner at BEST WESTERN East Zion Thunderbird Lodge, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
". It was a corner room (208) overlooking the pool. It was huge! Two queen sized beds, table, chairs, TV, fridge and coffee maker and a small balcony with chairs."

That would be our middle building. My Grandma who chose the design and had the units built was always so proud to say that a "student of Frank Lloyd Wright" made the plans for her 3 hotel buildings. This middle building has so many different sizes of balconies. Some are HUGE, others are small, and I am not sure why, but it is what it is. The one thing that we do have in common with all our rooms (except 2 that were shrunk to add a laundry room years ago) is that they are HUGE by today's standards and they are not cookie cutter rooms. Each has it's own uniqueness to it. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your review. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    420
    132
    39
    13
See reviews for
333
448
37
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
228 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

We were two couples travelling together, and were fortunate enough to get two rooms side by side, booking last minute. The rooms were spotless, very spacious, modernized furnishings, we really liked the unique wood crafted furniture. Free wi-fi. There was a mini fridge which we appreciated. Our rooms were right on a 9 hole golf course on the property. There was a slider door too with outdoor seating, a nice view of the surrounding area. There is a restaurant, gift shop, gas station/convenience store on the property. There was a swimming pool and hot tub we did not get a chance to try but they looked very clean and inviting. We found this to be a very convenient location as were on a "see all the parks" road trip and they are well situated for that. We liked that we could park directly in front of our door. We actually wished we were staying longer than just the one night, and even thought about circling back, but in the end did not. We found the rates right in line with everywhere else we stayed, around 100 dollars. This location has a lot of history attached to it, which we enjoyed learning about when we tried the restaurant. We ate at the restaurant for breakfast and dinner and thought it was great value for money. The service was very good on both occasions. We completely recommend and would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yyesiamtrish2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya M, Owner at BEST WESTERN East Zion Thunderbird Lodge, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
" We actually wished we were staying longer than just the one night, and even thought about circling back, but in the end did not."

This is the best compliment a business could get. I really appreciate your review! Thank you :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights in September. We pre-booked with BW online and got a B&B rate of $100+tax/night.

The accommodation is motel style. The rooms are older but perfectly serviceable, clean and of a decent size. There was afridge but no microwave.

As many have stated, the standard rate does not come with breakfast. As we had booked a B&B rate online we were given breakfast coupons to use in the restaurant. Breakfast choices were reasonably sized but not big (I had a small ham steak, hash brown, egg, toast, coffee and juice both days). There didn't seem to be many other guests using breakfast vouchers, however, and the ones who were "paying" for their meals seemed to get much better service.

The swimming pool and hot tub were nice and stayed open until 10pm.

The main attraction of this place is its proximity to Zion National Park. It really is a very convenient place to stay if you intend to visit. If you're not planning to visit the park you could probably find similar places with breakfast for less money a little further afield.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya M, Owner at BEST WESTERN East Zion Thunderbird Lodge, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Yes, our location - 12 miles from the east side of Zion National Park, 12 miles from the Coral Pink Sand Dunes, 60 miles from Bryce Canyon National Park, 85 miles from the North Rim of the Grand Canyon, 45 miles from Cedar Breaks make Mount Carmel Junction a wonderful place to stay.

Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibsonia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

We were there 9/14 and had one of the outside entrance rooms. It was completely modernized with new furniture and fixtures and a larger than normal hotel fridge. A separate vanity/sink area from the tup/shower and toilet are a plus. We enjoyed the convenience of parking right at the front door and having our own patio. The staff was very friendly and the place reminded me of times when I toured with my grandparents, only better. Pool with a hot tub and a little golf were a bonus. My new bride and I enjoyed the whole atmosphere. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BNB612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya M, Owner at BEST WESTERN East Zion Thunderbird Lodge, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for your review. All our downstairs rooms have the convince of parking right in front of your door. I have always enjoyed this in lodging myself. It might be a bit old fashioned, but it is certainly the way in southern Utah and that is where you came to visit. We have one building that are all one story and 2 buildings that are 2 story. I like let the fresh clean air of southern Utah saturate my room. After all, that is one of the beauties of our place - lack of light and noise pollution, lack of air pollution and most of all - a stress free place to just lay back and unwind.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
105 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

We were somewhat disappointed considering the nightly charge of the room (even with AAA discount). The hotel is very, very old. Probably built in the 50's or 60's based on the design, also has outdoor corridors and you park in front of your door. Although it has been updated as far as the bathrooms, the carpeting, drapes and bedspreads were not modern, nor was the furniture. It was, however, very clean and the staff was very nice. The rate does not include breakfast as there's a restaurant on site, which makes the nightly rate in my opinion too high. The rooms have refrigerators but no microwaves, so if you want hot food for breakfast you have to go to the restaurant. However, it's the only motel located between Zion and Bryce, so supply and demand probably allows them to over-charge.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lahord59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya M, Owner at BEST WESTERN East Zion Thunderbird Lodge, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
I am proud to say that my Grand parents homesteaded the land the hotel sits on in 1930. My Grandfather died, but my Grandmother pushed on and built the 3 units you saw. All 3 buildings were built at different times - about 10 years apart and have been remolded and updated often. I would have to guess you were in the single story units and got one of the very few rooms in that building that we have not finished updating yet. In fact, if you did not have hand crafted log furniture in that room, it was certainly one of the few that we are currently updating.

Thank you for your comment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groton, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

The rooms were quiet and nicely kept by housekeeping - very clean, well-stocked, and the staff was responsive when needed. A broken iron was quickly replaced, extra coffee and sugar was provided upon request, etc. The exterior patio was a nice feature to have, and the wi-fi worked great in the room. Overall, the motel itself was a lovely place to stay, and would do so again. I would also recommend it to friends and family traveling through that area of the country.

However, I did respond on the Best Western survey that there were two things needing correction going forward: the hot water was off and on when taking a shower (was ok for a bath - but shocking at times when showering), and the restaurant (which I believe is under different management - but is still part of the same property) needs serious help. Perhaps they can be provided with a copy of this review? The quality of the food is pretty good for the most part, but the service is severely lacking. Gaby is the #1 waitress there, and should be made shift manager - or better. She really had it together in the mornings. The two gentleman that worked in the evenings were good as well, but several of the female waitresses (morning and evening shifts) were not timely, responsive, or helpful at all. They all seemed either over-loaded, under-slept, didn't like their job or all of the above. A more efficient seating and table assignment process is also in order there. Further, if a customer asks a question about the food, the staff should be able to either answer it or get it answered from the chef and get back to you about it. This did not happen for us - twice. Lastly, someone needs to keep a better eye on when the salad bar is running out of items offered. It was always low or out of something.

Other than the hot water being unpredictable and restaurant service needing help, the overall motel staff, rooms, service and amenities were all great. Thanks for a lovely stay! :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya M, Owner at BEST WESTERN East Zion Thunderbird Lodge, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
" I would also recommend it to friends and family traveling through that area of the country." This is what I love to hear! Thank you

I will be sure to pass this review on to those that do manage the restaurant. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Check in was very smooth and fast. The lady who greeted us was very nice and helpful. The rooms were very spacious. However, one of our rooms had an onion smell in it. The other room's air conditioner wasn't strong enough to cool the room. It was hot in August.

We had dinner in the hotel. The entrees were meh, but the pies were DELICIOUS!!

Bryce Canyon was about an hour away. We had just driven from the Grand Canyon, so we weren't too happy to hear that we had to drive another hour to get to Bryce. You are also on the East end of Zion. So, it takes time to get to the actual park.

The hotel was definitely worth it for the price. But, I would probably stay closer to Bryce one night and then stay in Springdale when visiting Zion. I didn't like driving so much. But, if you don't mind it, then I would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tripsrfun07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya M, Owner at BEST WESTERN East Zion Thunderbird Lodge, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Hello and thank you for your comments. I am glad to hear check in went well, the rooms were large and the price is great. You mention how hot it is in August, so I thought I would point out how much cooler it is in Mt. Carmel Jct. rather than Springdale. The elevation difference is enormous. Springdale though does have his benefits, but so does Mt. Carmel Jct.

We are located 12 miles from the east side of Zion National Park (which is the opposite end from the parks visitor center), 60 miles from Bryce Canyon and 85 miles to the entrance to the North Rim of the Grand Canyon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Carmel
17.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springdale Zion National Park
17.3 mi away
Quality Inn at Zion Park
Quality Inn at Zion Park
#12 of 16 in Springdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
15.2 mi away
Zion Lodge
Zion Lodge
#1 of 2 in Zion National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springdale - Zion Natl Pk Area
17.2 mi away
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 16 in Springdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,752 reviews
17.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites at Zion Park / Springdale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN East Zion Thunderbird Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN East Zion Thunderbird Lodge

Property: BEST WESTERN East Zion Thunderbird Lodge
Address: Junction SR-9 & US-89, East Zion, Mount Carmel, UT 84755
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Mount Carmel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mount Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN East Zion Thunderbird Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zion National Park lodging at its best! The BEST WESTERN East Zion Thunderbird Lodge offers a refreshing pool, hot tub, 9 hole golf course and free club rentals. Our rooms are 100% smoke free, 100% pet free, with balcony views and patios that overlook the beautiful mountains and lush green golf course, DirecTV. In-room coffee and tea, guest laundry facilities, direct dial in-room phones, free local and 1-800 calls, internet connections, AAA, AARP. We are located 12 miles from the east entrance to Zion National Park, 60 miles from Bryce Canyon National Park, 85 miles from the North Rim of the Grand Canyon, 45 miles from Cedar Breaks National Monument, and 12 miles from the Coral Pink Sand Dunes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Best Western, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN East Zion Thunderbird Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western East Zion Thunderbird Hotel Mount Carmel
Best Western Mount Carmel
East Zion Thunderbird Hotel
BEST WESTERN East Zion Thunderbird Lodge Utah/Mount Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing