We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice...however we expected a little better going by the reviews...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mount Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Arrowhead Country Inn & Cabins
Ranked #1 of 1 Mount Carmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice...however we expected a little better going by the reviews...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2008

We had a comfortable 4 nights in Arrowhead. Great location for National Parks. Clean, quiet, comfortable.

However, we had expected 'out of this world' accommodation following the reviews here on Tripadvisor.

No tea making facility in cabins (we don't all drink coffee).

Breakfast was a cholesteral city!! plenty of fried foods, very little fruit and no facility to make toast or a continental type breakfast.
One had to crowd around a small buffet table to get breakfast.

Jacuzzi did not seem to be available, although we did not ask.

Now I don't want to nit pick or be negative, these are just small things I would have expected an accommodation with such excellent reviews to have.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank majorvonhapenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArrowheadBB, Owner at Arrowhead Country Inn & Cabins, responded to this review, October 7, 2008
We at Arrowhead appreciate the advice that our guests take the time to give us. When a matter is brought up that we can fix, adjust or otherwise change for the comfort of future guests, we do so. For example, several guests have requested that we provide an internet kiosk in addition to the free Wi-Fi we already offer. To accommodate our guests, we plan to have a kiosk available shortly. However, sometimes guests ask that we change the style of our Inn to be more like a large hotel. Yet, in becoming more like a hotel, we would lose much that makes us a unique, family-owned bed and breakfast Inn.

As an Inn, Arrowhead has a certain charm to it which appeals to most people; however there are those who don't appreciate the idiosyncratic nature of a Country Inn and would prefer to stay somewhere more formal, with less personality. We cannot cater to both at once, so we choose to cater to those who appreciate the antique collection in our lounge, the stunning views of the White Cliffs from the dining room at breakfast and dinner, Jane's personalized after-breakfast trip-planning advice, the friendly horses in the pasture, the immense movie collection in the game-room, the great location of the Inn between Zion, Bryce and the Grand Canyon, and all the other wonderful things that make Arrowhead what it is.

A few other things that make Arrowhead unique: Breakfast is family style and includes a main dish which changes daily (such as Blueberry Pancakes, Raspberry Vanilla French Toast, Strawberry Waffles, Potato Egg & Green Chile Casserole, etc.) as well as bacon, sausage, scrambled eggs, a large platter of fresh fruit, cereals, orange juice, coffee and tea. Toast is available on request.

All of our cabins have at the very least a coffee-maker, fridge and microwave. Coffee is provided as an in-room amenity, and tea bags are available in the main lodge.

The jacuzzi is always open, except for occasional down-time for maintenance. If a guest is unsure about the availability of one of our amenities, please just ask!

Thank you for your interest in Arrowhead Country Inn - we are always happy to answer any questions you may have.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    33
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
35
118
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2008

All I can say is wow! Arrowhead was a fantastic place to stay during our trip to Utah. First off, the location was great- not far from Zion, Bryce, or the North Rim of the Grand Canyon. Planning these day trips from Arrowhead was also extremely easy- their website has itineraries and suggested plans.

We stayed in the Homestead Room, which was in the basement of the main house. It was not an ensuite bathroom, which I knew at the time of booking (it said on their website). The room was spacious, quiet, and clean- exactly what we needed after a tough day of hiking and site-seeing. They had a small pool (which we never used) and a hot tub, which we did use. It was a bit noisy, but felt great on our aching muscles.

The breakfasts there were filling and much more than I expected. Every morning, there was an array of cereals, as well as bacon and sausage and some type of eggs. And every morning there was a different main dish- the 4 mornings we were there, we had french toast, some peach pancake type thing, pancakes with berry toppings, and a potato and egg quiche type thing. It was all delicious and a good way to start the day. We ate on the deck every morning and enjoyed the views of the cliffs while we ate.

The other guests were very friendly, as were the inn keepers. We especially enjoyed all the animals. The cats were extremely friendly- be careful when you sit down oustide- you WILL have a cat in your lap! The dog was very cute and the horses were also attention hogs (who knew?). There were also chickens and ducks wandering the property.

All in all, I'd recommend Arrowhead to anyone who is visiting the area. I don't understand why anyone would stay in a regular hotel when given the choice- our room was cheaper than a hotel room, plus we got all that great food. The cabins are a bit more expensive, but seem ideal for a family or group or a couple looking for more privacy.

This would also be a great place for a family with kids- not as hectic as a hotel, plus there are animals to pet and more room to run around.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sedutta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Boston, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2008

During our Southwest Adventure we stayed here for 3 nights. We stayed in the Cottonwood Cabin it was set back from the road which made it very peaceful and quiet. We enjoyed watching the horses in the pasture in front of the cabin. We were also lucky enough to have nature put on a great triple rainbow show one morning as we were sitting out on the front porch of our cabin waiting to go to breakfast. It was a great way to start the day.

If the restaurant is open when you stay - be sure to have dinner there as it was one of the best meals we had during our 15 night adventure. I purchased their cookbook before heading home.

Breakfast was served promptly at 8:30 each morning and was delicious - pancakes, fresh fruit, cereal, Frittata, bacon, sausage, scrambled eggs were some of the choices we had during our 3 mornings.

I would definately stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lrgardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
180 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2008

Our family of 4 recently stayed in one of the Orchard cabins at Arrowhead. It was perfect after the hectic week spent in Vegas beforehand.

The location of Arrowhead is perfect for the day trips that they recommended, we seen the Grand canyon, Byrce, & Zion Canyon & Lake Powell.

Breakfast was very good served promptly at 8.30 am. Fresh fruit, & homemade pancakes, muffins etc were served daily with a cooked breakfast also available. We also ate at the restaurant on 3 evenings, the menu is the same every evening but the food was excellent. Wine can be purchased on site but if wanting to sip wine at your cabin, be advised that the nearest place you can buy wine is 20 milesaway. Best buy before comimg into Utah.

We really enjoyed our time there, a very friendly place with also vidoes available to watch in your room.Wi -fi is available in the lounge of the main area, but if the owners were able to provide a old computer for guests use that would be brillant. Travelling from Ireland we were unable to bring our laptop with us.Just a little suggestiion!!

Would recommend this place to anyone, children will also love the animals, the horses, ducks cats & dogs.Really lovely

  • Liked — Very homely, and lovely locatiion
  • Disliked — No computer for guests to use
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank providence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2008

We were very surprised on arrival to find that our expected tranquil cabin was as close to a busy highway as legally allowed. There was traffic noise all night and when a heavily loaded truck passed by, the cabin vibrated. We would have gladly given up our view of the cliffs for a more peaceful location away from the highway!

The cabin was basic but comfortable. Room cleaning and linen make up/change was by request only. Breakfast(buffet) was plentiful and with lots of choices however we would rate it as average for a B&B in this price range. Dinner was above average and recommended. Our hostess was wonderful and we bonded with many of the other guests around the communal breakfast table. The location was exactly what we wanted to tour Bryce Canyon, Zion National Park, Cedar Breaks National Monument, the north rim of the Grande Canyon and Lake Powell.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay. The positives and negatives balanced each other out. If it wasn't for the cabin's location - and the fact the Inn doesn't clearly disclose verbally or on its WEB site the proximity of 2 of the cabins to Hwy 89 - we would give this property an "Above Average" rating.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Proximity to highway.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank grumpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArrowheadBB, Owner at Arrowhead Country Inn & Cabins, responded to this review, October 7, 2008
We constantly work to perfect our service, rooms, dining, and website. Thank you to everyone who has taken the time to review our Inn and given us ideas for improvement. We appreciate the compliments, too!

Our sincere apologies for not stating clearly enough on our website that two of our cabins (Juniper and Willow) are near Hwy 89. Though I did attempt to describe their location (near the front entrance of the property, and the property is right next to Hwy 89), I have adjusted the cabin descriptions to emphasize their location even more clearly. I've also enlisted a graphic designer to create a map of our property to highlight the location of each cabin. This map should be on our website within the next few months.

We do have three larger cabins which are set way back from the Hwy. These larger cabins are more expensive, not only because of their size and added amenities but also because of their locations. The two smaller cabins near the front are much more economical because they aren't as big and are near the Hwy. However, they're a great deal when you consider that each is an in-suite private cabin with great views of the White Cliffs, breakfast for two included, and access to all the amenities of the Inn.

Thank you for your business!

The Staff at Arrowhead Country Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2008

Arrowhead is in a good location - an hour from Bryce and 30 minutes from Zion's east entrance. This makes it nice if you want to visit both parks during a single trip. Two of the cabins are on the road, including the one we stayed in. Other cabins are behind the main property and more desirable. The cabin was smaller than we expected but simple, neat and clean. The breakfasts were terrific and we met nice folks who shared stories about sites and hikes. We had dinner one night and had an EXCELLENT soup with our meal. Jim has an awesome collection of old movies which he shares with guests. The horses on the property are beautiful.

  • Liked — food in the restaurant
  • Disliked — cabin small and on the road
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayKayNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2008

This is a lovely B&B. We stayed in the Willow cabin which was roomy with a nice couch and comfortable bed--the cabin was very clean. The food was excellent. We ate dinner there one night and ended up buying the cookbook they produce of their recipes. The breakfasts too were quite good with excellent coffee. If you choose to stay here, it is worth staying for dinner one night especially after hiking or sightseeing all day. Also the changing light on the rock cliffs behind the property during the sunset was wonderful. The proprietors are very nice and helpful with directions. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Comfortable bed, nice accomodations, great food
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MLBBaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Carmel
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN East Zion Thunderbird Lodge
18.7 mi away
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 16 in Springdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,771 reviews
18.5 mi away
Cable Mountain Lodge
Cable Mountain Lodge
#2 of 16 in Springdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Zion Lodge
Zion Lodge
#1 of 2 in Zion National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,856 reviews
19.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springdale Zion National Park
12.0 mi away
Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort
Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort
#2 of 2 in Zion National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arrowhead Country Inn & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrowhead Country Inn & Cabins

Property: Arrowhead Country Inn & Cabins
Address: 2155 S. State St., Mount Carmel, UT 84755
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Mount Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
***Arrowhead Country Inn and Cabins is the perfect BASECAMP between 3 National Parks!! We are only 15 minutes to the East Gate of the spectacular Zion National Park, and 1 hour to Bryce Canyon National Park and 1 1/2 hours to the pristine Grand Canyon North Rim. Arrowhead Country Inn and Cabins is a charming, intimate and romantic Bed and Breakfast in Southern Utah on Scenic Highway 89, across the street from the historic Home Studio of western artist Maynard Dixon. ***A great big full Country Buffet Breakfast is included in the price of your stay ~ Enjoy! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Arrowhead Country Inn And Cabins
Arrowhead Country Inn & Cabins Hotel Mount Carmel
Country Inn Mount Carmel
Mount Carmel Country Inn
Arrowhead Country Inn & Cabins Utah/Mount Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing