We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ho-made pies! LOL!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thunderbird Restaurant

Thunderbird Restaurant
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
South Louisiana
Level Contributor
102 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Ho-made pies! LOL!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

The Thunderbird is a throwback to my traveling days in the 60's - fun stuff! When the original owner didn't have enough room on his handmade sign, the legend goes, he shortened 'homemade' to 'ho-made' which didn't pose an issue until more recent years. Well, they sure do make yummy pies, however they're made. Our strawberry rhubarb was excellent, full and just tart enough. Nice stop when you're between Zion and Bryce national parks.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CampingJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    263
    142
    55
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
103 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Best pies on the planet!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

I am a pie afficionado and make one killer of an apple pie and I will say that this rivals mine. We also had the Thunderberry pie as well as the coconut cream pie. I rate the CCP as one of the best I have ever eaten in my lifetime. We had lunch there on our way to Zion. Both my husband's open-face turkey dinner and my "ho-made" egg salad and fresh bread sandwich and slaw were magnifico as well. It's a hoot that they are the "Home of the ho-made (LOL) pies" (you have to read the story about that one). Great, friendly service and great grub make this one a winner every time.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
135 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“apple pie is wonderful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

Waiter was slow. Steak delicious but the gravy on my mashed potatoes was so heavy it ruined them. Apple pie is out of this world.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank sassywm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
79 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Start”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

We decided to start our day at the Thunderbird Restaurant with breakfast . We both had the French toast with all intentions of more later. We were surprised at the size of the slices and could barley finish them. The staff was very courteous and helpful. Our drinks were never empty. Next time we are in the area we will have to try dinner and their pie.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DdayLasVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level Contributor
123 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A fun little eatery...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

Stopped at the Mont Carmels Thunderbird Restaurant. Has a ful little history with Ho'made pies. The Thunderberry pie was warm, flakey crust and wonderful! My ham and cheese omelet was very filling and the scones I ordered were awesome as well with the honey butter.
Its a mus ttry when yuo are in the are between Zions and Bryce National Parks.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ashone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thunderbird Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Thunderbird Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing