We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I would go out of my way to eat here again.”

Thunderbird Restaurant
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Colorado
Level Contributor
154 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“I would go out of my way to eat here again.”
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

I was very surprised with the quality of food here. Home baked breads and pies. Good steak fries. And the Reuben had the best corned beef, sliced from a big roast, with marble rye bread. The meat comes from a ranch in nearby Kanab. Outstanding! And our server was excellent too! Prices very reasonable.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jwhome100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    282
    153
    57
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
california
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“YUK!”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Staff was pleasant but the food was beyond mundane. I got the roast beef with gravy, baked potato and steamed veggies. The roast beef was tough as leather, the gravy had a weird aftertaste, the bacon bits on the potato were burned, and the steamed veggies were mushy. To add insult to injury, after eating practically NONE of this food, we were still charged for it. HUH? My DH got the grilled chicken breast and said it was pretty bland. Next time, we're going to the Subway across the street.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Califcutie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
420 reviews
290 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 353 helpful votes
“Great pies!”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Driving from Zion to Powell on a wet day we stopped here for coffee and pie and were glad we did. The apple pie with hot rum sauce (and ice cream on the side) was excellent and the place itself, though large, seemed pleasantly homey. Portions are vast (at least by European standards). There's an interesting history of the Thunderbird and the family that runs it on the back the menu - well worth reading.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JM49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
241 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Eat the pie, forget the burgers!”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We ate dinner and breakfast here because of the convenience. Service was pretty slow even though the restaurant wasn't really busy. Our burgers were very dry. Fries were pretty good. We ordered the hot apple pie with butter rum sauce for dessert. Really good! Breakfast was OK, but everything tasted like it was fried in oil, including the eggs. Stick with the pie and you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sonia719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iquique, Chile
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“2 thumbs up for the Pies!”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We had occasion to buy an apple pie (with brandy sauce), and a Thunderberry pie. Both were consumed with much enjoyment.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vikki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thunderbird Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Thunderbird Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing