We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Once-in-a-lifetime experience...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black's Hiking, Jeep Tours and Trail Rides

Black's Hiking, Jeep Tours and Trail Rides
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Once-in-a-lifetime experience...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

My husband and I booked a one-hour trail ride with the Black's family for 07/26/13, and it turned out to be the #1 highlight of our Arizona trip. Our guide, Marlow, was wonderful and kind and entertaining, telling us about his native american family background and even singing a traditional birthday song for me :) The horses were, contrary to what some other reviews might say, well taken care of and in good shape. Furthermore, they were mellow and easy to ride, even for beginners. I cannot imagine a better way to explore Monument Valley and to get to see some breathtakingly beautiful scenery off the "beaten path".

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Marit1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    30
    4
    3
    22
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
113 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“The only way to see Monument Valley!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

We pre-booked our horse riding tour through Black's website months in advance of our trip and found the website very clear and precise. There were no problems booking the tours and the 5 dollar fee into the park is mentioned on the website so we were aware of this before we got there. The directions to Black's stall on the website is correct and we checked in there at the designated time of 3pm. I find it very difficult to see how anyone could have been mislead by the website (as stated in the review below) if they had done the proper research. We were doing the sunset tour and it was due to begin at 4.30. We were slightly delayed as another family had booked too and we were waiting for them. I commend Black's for waiting for that family, as they could easily have started the tour without them. Once we got set up with our horses (mine was a beautiful horse named Apache) we headed off on our tour with our guides Leandro, Spencer and little Joshua (a 10year old pro!!). It was one of the most enjoyable experiences of my life. The horses were fantastic and the views were spectacular. We got to see lots of places that you would not have seen on the jeep tour or in your car. The horses are so well trained that even beginners like ourselves had no problems. Unfortunately Leandro was injured in the middle of the tour and had to leave but he was quickly replaced by another guide, it was so well organised. I hope that Leandro is doing well after his injury. We were out on the horses for the full 3 hours and we saw the beautiful sunset over Monument Valley. This is an absolute must do if you are coming to Monument Valley. Great company and very well run tours.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmaFatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Horse Trail 3 hours with Clifford”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

I had booked the tour one day in advance, we was picked up at the Visitor Center (our RV would never have made it to the stable ..., Shuttle is highly recommended). Clifford was our driver and the horse-ride-guide. As the tour ahead of us had a slight delay, we got a light Jeep Tour for free. At the stable, the horses were matches up to us, saddles was adjusted so we had a good start. Plus the instructions "how to operate a horse". So far for the technical aspects. The tour itself: Wildlife, Plants, Heritage, History, Slow, Galopp, quiet, deep in the Valley, a Song sung. Even though only my two daughters have riding experience, this was never a problem but a joyful morning. We did not regret to not have gotten the sunrise tour. Actually our ride was from 07:00 (pick up) until 11:30 (drop Off). Pricing? Well, Check Out their Website, this is not a fast food quick cheap fun, but we as a Family very much enjoyed (clothes dirty, heart and soul satisfied) and found it well worth the Money.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Olaf H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Ask For Clifford and Marlo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

My wife and I have had an horse tour of two ours today with Black's Hiking.
The landscape is amazing and it has been a fantastic experience that bring us into the spirit of West.
Our Navajo guides, Clifford and Marlo, have been really good. They open themselves to us telling the history of their family and Navajo's tradition. They were really interested to know about our language (Italian) teaching us some words their. Clifford sing a Navajo song for us during the break made for the horses' health in the shadow at the creek.
We really enjoy this two ours because of the wonderful landscape and the cultural exchange that happen between us.
Thank you Marlo and Clifford!!
We hope to see you in Italy one day!!

Francesca and William

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank WilliamVerdelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Curelty to animals and people”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

When we first arrived at blacks so called stables. That wasjust a horse trailer and a horse coral with 2 feet of horse poop in it. The horses were in terrible condition with bad feet and half of them didn't even have horse shoes on thier hooves. A lot of the horses were under weight and were missing hair from thier straps area and dirty. I have been on a lot of horse back rides and I have never seen horses in such bad condition. When we were there one horse collapsed from being so tired with a rider on it twice and the guides tried to force the horse to go out the lady that was on the horse didn't even go out she was probably scared that her horse would die on the trail so she stayed behind. The guides were very rude and didn't care very much or tell us anything about the area and talked bad about the people who did not Speak English in the group. I had a horrible experience felt bad for the poor animals and it was very over price for krap and they added extra charges just for driving out there they need to have the human society come and get thier horses they shouldn't be doing trail rides at all. they don't even let thier horses rest they just go out with the same horses with every group. So you animal lovers stay away from blacks stables they should be closed down for animal cruelty.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank Ragware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black's Hiking, Jeep Tours and Trail Rides also viewed

 

Been to Black's Hiking, Jeep Tours and Trail Rides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing