We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above and beyond”

Majestic Monument Valley Touring Co.
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a local and Navajo family - owned business operating on the Navajo Nation in Nizhoni (Majestic) Monument Valley. We are certified with the Navajo Nation to operate in the Monument Valley Navajo Tribal Park offering 4X4 vehicle, Hiking, & Photography tours for those who would love to enjoy the beautiful landscape of the Tribal Park and enjoy learning of our culture. Every tour is a cultural tour. Economically Friendly and a Quality Tour Experience, we offer both Non - private & Private tour options. We are happy to accommodate your preference and would love to be a part of your time here in Nizhoni Monument Valley!
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Had a fabulous experience with Majestic Monument Valley Touring company from start to finish. Booking was quick and efficient. Scheduled to go on the Grand Canyon Raft trip out of Page and then the government shut down occured a few days prior to trip. Majestic office staff was extremely courteous and helpful about offering suggestions in an area they don't even work in.
I did the Mystery Valley tour with my two eleven year old grandsons. Our guide was John. It was one of the best tours I have ever experienced and we have traveled all over the world. John was extremely knowledgable and included the boys at every opportunity when discussing his culture and history. The boys were totally captivated (and no electronics involved) Highest recomendation for this company !!

Thank NKB56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
majesticmvtours, Owner at Majestic Monument Valley Touring Co., responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

Thank you for your generous review, for sharing your tour experience! We are really happy you and your grandsons enjoyed Mystery Valley with us. Thank you for your recommendation of our company, it was our pleasure, and we also thank you for being nizhoni (beautiful, Majestic) guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (328)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

245 - 249 of 328 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2013

After researching several tour companies for Monument Valley, we decided to go with Majestic Monument Valley Touring Company and were delighted with our decision. Realizing that our timeframe was limited, with a lengthy round-trip drive from Flagstaff, we opted for the half-day private tour and met John, our guide, at the View Hotel as arranged in advance. John was an amazing tour guide, so informative about Navajo culture and history as it pertained to the park's sights and landmarks. His narrative was both educational and anecdotal, and we felt fortunate to have him as our guide. He was also extremely courteous and accommodating of our wishes to have photos of ourselves taken along the tour and to linger when we needed a few extra moments at certain stops. Above all, it was immediately apparent that the drive through the park is a challenging one for any vehicle, and we were relieved that we'd decided to leave our rental car parked in the paved lot and rely on John's expertise at navigating the rutted and dusty roads. We also would highly recommend the extra expense of a private tour, as sharing the trip with a larger group would have diminished the effect of this overwhelming and enriching experience-- we truly felt that we were part of a mystical landscape that transported us to the world of the Navajo with John as the guide on our journey. A wonderful, memorable part of our Arizona vacation!

3  Thank Steven P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
majesticmvtours, Owner at Majestic Monument Valley Touring Co., responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Thank you for your review of your tour experience with us. It was our pleasure to accommodate your touring of nizhoni (beautiful) Monument Valley!
We thank you for your business and are very happy you selected us to tour with.
Thank you for being nizhoni guests. We are very happy you enjoyed your touring with us!
Thank you.
Sincerely,
Holiday family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I phoned Majestic to enquire about a tour that morning and if we could pay by credit card. As both ATMs at View Hotel were out of order this meant we didn't have sufficient cash to pay for a tour from the booth operated in car park of View Hotel as they will only take cash.

Lady I spoke to was very helpful and said they could accommodate us at 12 noon. I said I would call back in a few minutes to confirm once my partner returned to the room. When I phoned 15 minutes later I got the answering machine and left a message confirming we wanted to go ahead with the tour and left my mobile no. Two hours later there was no call back and I was still getting the answering machine! We ended up having to drive to Gouldings to use their ATM to get the cash for a tour from the booth at View Hotel but waiting around for confirmation from Majestic completely wasted our morning and impacted on our plans for the afternoon too.

Very disappointing service after a promising start

2  Thank JAMC7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
majesticmvtours, Owner at Majestic Monument Valley Touring Co., responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

We would have been happy to accommodate your touring of nizhoni (beautiful) Monument Valley if you had booked a tour with us.
We find this review unfair and inaccurate as you did not reserve a tour reservation requiring a confirmation with our company and we did not provide you any touring services.
We regret having to address this.
Sincerely,
Holiday family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I can't say enough great things about our tour, or this company! We had to reschedule our tour 3 different times because of scheduling conflicts on our part, and the weather, and they couldn't have possibly been more accommodating. I had read the reviews before we booked, and asked for Ron. I'm so glad we did - I can't imagine anyone giving a better tour. The roads were awful because of the flooding the 2 days prior to our visit, so we chose an enclosed vehicle (the boss's truck, it turns out). Ron was very personable, friendly, knowledgeable and awesome in every way. He let me stop and take pictures every where I needed to, not just the regular appointed ones. His knowledge of the area is unbelievable, and he made this an experience we will never forget! (so glad you dodged all of the potholes and didn't get the boss's truck dirty!) I recommend this company, and Ron, to anyone and everyone going to Monument Valley! When we come back, we will go with them again!

3  Thank Carol V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
majesticmvtours, Owner at Majestic Monument Valley Touring Co., responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

We thank you for your nizhoni review of your tour experience with us and of your business with us! We were happy to be accommodating to your vacation plans and thank you also for being nizhoni guests!
It was our pleasure and are very happy you enjoyed the beauty that is here and that you came away with a nizhoni experience in nizhoni Monument Valley, thank you!
Sincerely,
Holiday family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Took the 2.5 hour back country trip with John as our guide. The trip lasted closer to 3.5 hours and took in all the fantastic sights detailed in many other reviews. Suffice to say to say that despite the road conditions, the warnings in other reviews are well founded, we had a fantastic experience.
The open sided vehicle allows great views of the magnificent scenery, and we undoubtedly dropped lucky in having John as the guide as he was very knowledgeable, stopped on may occasions to allow photographs and gave us lots of information about the various landmarks.
We felt very comfortable with him and it was almost like discussing things with a friend as he was so relaxed and genuine.
An absolutely first class experience, and definitely worth an extra few dollars for the back country trip.

Thank Geoff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
majesticmvtours, Owner at Majestic Monument Valley Touring Co., responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Thank you for your nizhoni (Majestic) review of your tour experience with us. We were happy to accommodate your touring of a nizhoni place with our nizhoni guide. It was our pleasure and we thank you for have given us your business.
Sincerely,
Holiday family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Majestic Monument Valley Touring Co. also viewed

 

Been to Majestic Monument Valley Touring Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing