We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful tour and guide!”

Majestic Monument Valley Touring Co.
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a local and Navajo family - owned business operating on the Navajo Nation in Nizhoni (Majestic) Monument Valley. We are certified with the Navajo Nation to operate in the Monument Valley Navajo Tribal Park offering 4X4 vehicle, Hiking, & Photography tours for those who would love to enjoy the beautiful landscape of the Tribal Park and enjoy learning of our culture. Every tour is a cultural tour. Economically Friendly and a Quality Tour Experience, we offer both Non - private & Private tour options. We are happy to accommodate your preference and would love to be a part of your time here in Nizhoni Monument Valley!
Reviewed September 28, 2013

After researching several tour companies for Monument Valley, we decided to go with Majestic Monument Valley Touring Company and were delighted with our decision. Realizing that our timeframe was limited, with a lengthy round-trip drive from Flagstaff, we opted for the half-day private tour and met John, our guide, at the View Hotel as arranged in advance. John was an amazing tour guide, so informative about Navajo culture and history as it pertained to the park's sights and landmarks. His narrative was both educational and anecdotal, and we felt fortunate to have him as our guide. He was also extremely courteous and accommodating of our wishes to have photos of ourselves taken along the tour and to linger when we needed a few extra moments at certain stops. Above all, it was immediately apparent that the drive through the park is a challenging one for any vehicle, and we were relieved that we'd decided to leave our rental car parked in the paved lot and rely on John's expertise at navigating the rutted and dusty roads. We also would highly recommend the extra expense of a private tour, as sharing the trip with a larger group would have diminished the effect of this overwhelming and enriching experience-- we truly felt that we were part of a mystical landscape that transported us to the world of the Navajo with John as the guide on our journey. A wonderful, memorable part of our Arizona vacation!

3  Thank Steven P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
majesticmvtours, Owner at Majestic Monument Valley Touring Co., responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Thank you for your review of your tour experience with us. It was our pleasure to accommodate your touring of nizhoni (beautiful) Monument Valley!
We thank you for your business and are very happy you selected us to tour with.
Thank you for being nizhoni guests. We are very happy you enjoyed your touring with us!
Thank you.
Sincerely,
Holiday family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (324)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

243 - 247 of 324 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2013

I phoned Majestic to enquire about a tour that morning and if we could pay by credit card. As both ATMs at View Hotel were out of order this meant we didn't have sufficient cash to pay for a tour from the booth operated in car park of View Hotel as they will only take cash.

Lady I spoke to was very helpful and said they could accommodate us at 12 noon. I said I would call back in a few minutes to confirm once my partner returned to the room. When I phoned 15 minutes later I got the answering machine and left a message confirming we wanted to go ahead with the tour and left my mobile no. Two hours later there was no call back and I was still getting the answering machine! We ended up having to drive to Gouldings to use their ATM to get the cash for a tour from the booth at View Hotel but waiting around for confirmation from Majestic completely wasted our morning and impacted on our plans for the afternoon too.

Very disappointing service after a promising start

2  Thank JAMC7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
majesticmvtours, Owner at Majestic Monument Valley Touring Co., responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

We would have been happy to accommodate your touring of nizhoni (beautiful) Monument Valley if you had booked a tour with us.
We find this review unfair and inaccurate as you did not reserve a tour reservation requiring a confirmation with our company and we did not provide you any touring services.
We regret having to address this.
Sincerely,
Holiday family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I can't say enough great things about our tour, or this company! We had to reschedule our tour 3 different times because of scheduling conflicts on our part, and the weather, and they couldn't have possibly been more accommodating. I had read the reviews before we booked, and asked for Ron. I'm so glad we did - I can't imagine anyone giving a better tour. The roads were awful because of the flooding the 2 days prior to our visit, so we chose an enclosed vehicle (the boss's truck, it turns out). Ron was very personable, friendly, knowledgeable and awesome in every way. He let me stop and take pictures every where I needed to, not just the regular appointed ones. His knowledge of the area is unbelievable, and he made this an experience we will never forget! (so glad you dodged all of the potholes and didn't get the boss's truck dirty!) I recommend this company, and Ron, to anyone and everyone going to Monument Valley! When we come back, we will go with them again!

3  Thank Carol V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
majesticmvtours, Owner at Majestic Monument Valley Touring Co., responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

We thank you for your nizhoni review of your tour experience with us and of your business with us! We were happy to be accommodating to your vacation plans and thank you also for being nizhoni guests!
It was our pleasure and are very happy you enjoyed the beauty that is here and that you came away with a nizhoni experience in nizhoni Monument Valley, thank you!
Sincerely,
Holiday family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Took the 2.5 hour back country trip with John as our guide. The trip lasted closer to 3.5 hours and took in all the fantastic sights detailed in many other reviews. Suffice to say to say that despite the road conditions, the warnings in other reviews are well founded, we had a fantastic experience.
The open sided vehicle allows great views of the magnificent scenery, and we undoubtedly dropped lucky in having John as the guide as he was very knowledgeable, stopped on may occasions to allow photographs and gave us lots of information about the various landmarks.
We felt very comfortable with him and it was almost like discussing things with a friend as he was so relaxed and genuine.
An absolutely first class experience, and definitely worth an extra few dollars for the back country trip.

Thank Geoff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
majesticmvtours, Owner at Majestic Monument Valley Touring Co., responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Thank you for your nizhoni (Majestic) review of your tour experience with us. We were happy to accommodate your touring of a nizhoni place with our nizhoni guide. It was our pleasure and we thank you for have given us your business.
Sincerely,
Holiday family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Was with a small photographic group visiting Monument Valley. I think there's no worse type of group for a tour guide - "just one more picture", people scatter and wander and are totally wrapped up in their photography. These guides were masters at dealing with all the craziness that comes with a group of photographers. They got us around safely and efficiently, knew the light well enough to make suggestions but didn't do that "stand here, take your picture there" that some guides do. They enjoyed talking about the area - history, stories, geology - but didn't come off like they'd swallowed a tour book and NEEDED you to hear it all. They clearly enjoyed the beauty, and understand photography way better than you might think, take a look at the pix they've captured with their phones...

We went to the top of Hunts Mesa for sunset photography, and the trip up there is what I meant by "graduate seminar in offroading." When we got there, they pointed us to different areas with some descriptions of what we'd have to shoot from each, and then kept loosely in touch with us as we scattered off. After sunset we had a great fire-cooked dinner with a variety of sides, and then got a post-graduate seminar in offroading going back down in the dark. We also spent a day going through the park, with some doing a balloon ride while others went shooting on the ground. During the stretches of drive time, or waiting for light, we learned some about the Navajo culture and customs, about the geology and weather patterns, heard funny stories about things that have happened in the park. It was conversational, not lectures, and they were interested in learning about people in the group.

Overall, a just right combination of knowledge, technical skills, and a love of their location. We got to know several of the family over a couple of days, and they were all relaxed, friendly, and enthusiastic guides and drivers. Nice people to spend time with, who just happened to really enjoy showing us around.

2  Thank ed n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
majesticmvtours, Owner at Majestic Monument Valley Touring Co., responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Thank you very much for your nizhoni review of your touring experience with us. Our family enjoyed all the time we spent with you all over the course of your time in nizhoni Monument Valley. We are happy you are all pleased with your photos taken here, it was our pleasure to assist in this. We thank you very much for your business and the kind compliments to our family. We look forward to continuing to accommodate you all upon your returns to nizhoni Monument Valley!
Sincerely,
Holidays

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Majestic Monument Valley Touring Co. also viewed

 

Been to Majestic Monument Valley Touring Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing