We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly guides but not always very knowledgable and far too overpriced”

Majestic Monument Valley Touring Co.
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a local and Navajo family - owned business operating on the Navajo Nation in Nizhoni (Majestic) Monument Valley. We are certified with the Navajo Nation to operate in the Monument Valley Navajo Tribal Park offering 4X4 vehicle, Hiking, & Photography tours for those who would love to enjoy the beautiful landscape of the Tribal Park and enjoy learning of our culture. Every tour is a cultural tour. Economically Friendly and a Quality Tour Experience, we offer both Non - private & Private tour options. We are happy to accommodate your preference and would love to be a part of your time here in Nizhoni Monument Valley!
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We took two tours: one of Mystery Valley and one sunrise tour of Monument Valley. The Mystery Valley guide was not exactly knowledgable or conversant but played the flute beautifully! We felt a little ripped off as a group of 5 persons at $250 for about 3 hours. To be fair you could only see this valley with a local guide, but still. For the monument valley tour we had a more knowledgable and very cordial and sincere guide but still thought it was rather pricey at $250 for 5 persons for 3 hours.

3  Thank OscarWilde1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
majesticmvtours, Owner at Majestic Monument Valley Touring Co., responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2012

We regret that you weren't satisfied with our all-day touring of beautiful Monument Valley. We applied our group rate and gave you what we felt to be a very fair price of $100.00 each for a sunrise and sunset tour. Included in the price of the sunrise tour, was a continental breakfast of traditional kneel down bread, a natural corn mush that is put into the husks and cooked underground, pastries, Navajo Tea, fruit, and bottled water. We also included fresh fruit and an ice cooler of bottled water for you all for your Mystery Valley tour.
We agree that our guides are friendly and this is the most important characteristic our guides must have. Also important is they share with all, our culture and the land we live in here. As it is with people, our guides have their own individual personalities and perhaps your guide for Mystery Valley did not speak non-stop and let there be moments you could reflect on what he was sharing and what you were viewing. We are happy you enjoyed his flute playing, and we agree it is beautiful to hear.
Continue to enjoy your travels. Sincerely, Dwayne & Lucille Holiday

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (291)
There are newer reviews for Majestic Monument Valley Touring Co.
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

242 - 246 of 291 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2012

Our Navajo guide grew up in the region and could tell us the traditions and history of the area. He hiked with us and patiently guided our grandchildren who always wanted to climb everything. His knowledge and intimate understanding of the area led to our impression that we were in a very special--even sacred--place. We could not have had a better experience!

2  Thank Norma1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
majesticmvtours, Owner at Majestic Monument Valley Touring Co., responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2012

Thank you for your review. And we thank you for touring with us. We are very happy you all enjoyed your tour and it was our pleasure to show you Mystery Valley in the beautiful Monument Valley Navajo Tribal Park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

If you'd like to see the best of the Monument valley and Mystery valley, you have to go with them. You'll find the most courteous, honest, patient and knowledgeable owner and guide. Our group ( 12 people) were thrilled for every single moment. Thanks a lot for the great memory!

Thank TheMusicCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
majesticmvtours, Owner at Majestic Monument Valley Touring Co., responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

We are really happy you all enjoyed your tours of Mystery Valley and the backcountry with us. Thank you for taking the time to write about your touring experience with us and thank you for your generous review. We are very appreciative and thank you too for your business. It was a pleasure to have your family tour with us. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We went to Monument Valley to celebrate my husband's 50th birthday. Although, we had the option of driving a section of Monument Valley on our own, we decided to explore areas that required a Native American guide. Because this would be an especially memorable trip, we hoped to find a tour company that would fit the occasion. We found that, and more, with Majestic Monument Valley Touring Co., a business owned and operated by a local Navajo family. Lucille took the time to explain the different tours and their aspects. Their son, Quanah, led our private tour, making our experience memorable and meaningful. We highly recommend this company because they are professional, have fair prices (compare them to the large tour companies) and, most importantly, gave us an authentic and intimate experience.

1  Thank AZRver2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 28, 2012

Hi, thank you for having let us share in the honor of your husbands 50th birthday! It is an honor and pleasure to have given you both the tour in beautiful Monument Valley! It makes us and Quanah happy that you both enjoyed your time in Monument Valley with us and on your special occasion. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Just finished our tour! We are ecstatic with the total experience. From superb guidance at the time of booking, to our wonderful on tour experiences, to our terrific guide. A day we will remember forever!.
Lucille guided us to a full day tour that consisted of a sunrise tour of Monument Valley that began at 5am followed by a sunset tour of Mystery Valley that began at 5pm. What great advice! Thanks Lucille!
Aaron and Lucille's daughter met us at 5am and off we went deep into Monument Valley to experience the magic of sunrise in the valley--Magical! Not only the sites but the insight, wisdom and wonderful music from his heart that our guide of guides provided. With water, Navajo tea, fruit and pastries we delighted in a meal along the way. What a morning.
At 5pm there was Aaron waiting for us and we set of to Mystery Valley- totally unique with terrific views of totally different scenes and visits to many Anasazi ruins. We saw only one other vehicle with two people in it along the way--too bad for the many who miss this part of the area when they visit! Aaron again shared great wisdom from his people that resonates loudly in todays world. Then back to the hotel for the Sunset- terrific timing and a terrific end to a great day!
The tour could not have been better--we used an open air truck in the morning--and a closed vehicle for the evening (it was hot!) another piece of advice from Lucille. The timing was perfect--never rushed yet never too much time at any given spot. Clockwork!
For those seeking a lifetime experience Magestic Monument Valley Tour company is the team to turn to!!!

2  Thank Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 28, 2012

Hi, we are really happy you both enjoyed touring all day in Monument Valley with us. It really is a beautiful way to experience Monument Valley, from watching the Sun rise so early in the morning to watching the Sun set. And touring in beautiful Mystery Valley adds to this beautiful experience, experiencing our culture and more so of the ancient Ancestral Puebloan Culture. It was our pleasure and Aaron's to share with you our Navajo culture, and the Ancestral Puebloan Culture and the land that we live in here. Thank you very much for selecting us to tour with and we thank you for submitting this generous review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Majestic Monument Valley Touring Co. also viewed

 

Been to Majestic Monument Valley Touring Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing