We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Tour of Monument Valley”

Navajo Spirit Tours - Day Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Our guides will take you on an adventure through a land full of Beauty and Mystery. Navajo Spirit Tours is dedicated to sharing culture, history, geology and archeology of the area. It is important to us that you feel as though you are part of Monument Valley and not just a visitor.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing Tour of Monument Valley”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

My sister and I traveled to Monument Valley on a road trip. After seeing all the recommendations for Navajo Spirit Tours on Trip Advisor, I booked a tour and we were not disappointed. Our tour guide, Harry, was incredibly knowledgable and took his time with our small group. What was supposed to be a 2 1/2 hour tour ended up being 3 1/2 hour tour - it was worth every penny!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank AZHeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,175
    65
    12
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“By far the best tour guide we have ever had, period.”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

The tour guide, Michelle Holiday was so gracious, knowledgeable, personable and too top it off a professional singer. She gave interesting lively stories about the area, folklore, and Navajo culture. She made you feel how special a place Monument Valley is and a better sense of what value it all has for the Navajo for their culture and natural beauty. She is worth what ever her fee is for the tour.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank DocRam49092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Great way to see experience the place”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We went on a tour round Monument Valley with Navajo Spirit during our recent trip there, and thoroughly enjoyed it.

Having booked (and paid a deposit) by phone about 2 months before, we showed up about 10 minutes before the agreed time in the View lobby, and our guide was there waiting for us - exactly as planned.

Once we set off (about 15 minutes late, to give some stragglers a chance to show up), we had a great time in the Valley. The tour was slated to be about 2 1/12 hours, but in fact we were out for nearly 3. Larson was an excellent guide. He seemed to be a genuinely nice guy, who liked people and liked his job. He was also knowledgable and patient, and never made us feel rushed - unlike some of the other tours we saw, who were herding their guests around using loudspeakers !

As you can gather, there were a good few tours in the Valley that morning, but Larson did his best to keep us separated from them, so we got a good feeling for just how peacful this place can be.

All in all, a great experience. Recommended.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank RoamingScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Better than the Grand Canyon”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

This visit to Monument Valley was the culmination of a trip that my wife and I had planned for months. Even though we had to drive 3½ hours to get their and 3½ hours back after our tour the journey was worth every mile. When you visit the Grand Canyon you mainly look at it but in Monument Valley you get in amongst it and can be part of it. We spent over 3 hours out with Harry (just the three of us) and often it felt as if we were the only ones there. We visited parts only seen by some select tour parties and at times the silence is overwhelming. This is the best way to visit Monument Valley and I have already told friends that this was the highlight of our holiday.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alta Loma, California
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Best tour in monument valley”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I booked our tour thru email and paid cash after the tour. We were 15 minutes late but the receptionist at the View hotel called spirit tours and they came back for us which was great. We selected the open truck which has a lot of room for the 3 of us (husband and 5 yrs old daughter), I think the truck has 4 rows (not sure) and can seat more than 10 people. Our spirit guide was Larson who was very knowledgeable about the valley and Navajo culture, explained all about each stops, buttes and other sites around and answered all our questions. He gave us ample time to explore, take pictures and answer our questions on each site/stop areas. He even played his flute which we enjoyed. Great job Larson.
There are a lot of tour companies that we met on our tour but most of them are group tours and they were cramped on the open or closed truck which you cannot really enjoy the view esp if you are seated on the middle. There are other private tours, however, one of the tour guide from another company even asks our tour guide which way to go and reads from a paper what does the buttes/rocks means while explaining to the tourist.
The fee is worth the tour and its better to go private as compared for group tours. An extra penny is worth it. So, do not hesitate to book on Spirit tours.
TIP: You have to love outdoors to enjoy this tour. The road is bumpy and dusty but there are bars to hold unto. My 5 yrs old daughter enjoyed it.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank wildorchid99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Navajo Spirit Tours - Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Navajo Spirit Tours - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing