We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was good; service friendly.”

The View Restaurant
Cuisines: Native American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Buffet
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Food was good; service friendly.”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Liked the authentic Navajo food, the atmosphere and the service. The view of the "Mittens" gave it a special appeal.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gary V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,098 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    429
    762
    604
    183
    120
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“We liked it”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

The food was good and the portions generous. Really liked the blue corn fry bread. I had their bison short ribs which were also good. Our biggest quibble was they brought the entrees out before we had even begun to make a dent in our salads or appetizer. But our waiter was so nice and the food good.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank mjsTwinCities
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
summit
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed at The View for two nights which was a perfect way to experience Monument Valley. There are two hotels in the immediate area, but I am glad we chose the View. The view of the valley is spectacular from the outdoor terraces, the room terraces and even the elevator! The rooms were beautiful and comfortable. Our guided tour of the valley originates on a road right at our hotel. And the fantastic 3.2 mile walk also originates in our parking lot. I also recommend the Dining room for dinner (over the other hotel’s dining room) if you want authentic Native meal choices. Visiting Monument Valley is a MUST. It may be the most beautiful place in America. Also a MUST is taking a guided tour (I recommend Monument Valley Safari tour) to learn about the history and culture.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank njtraveler321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Ridge, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
943 reviews
405 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 735 helpful votes
“No complaints.”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Maybe we just got lucky on this trip, but I'm starting to wonder if the people with the horror stories were eating/staying at the same places we did! I guess it's more likely that some people don't allow for bad days, or legitimate and unavoidable circumstances that led to bad experiences.
The restaurant is attractive and the menu has a nice selection of Navajo and other dishes. Prices were not that bad, with the possible exception of the $8 charged for a chips and salsa appetizer. They don't provide bread or complimentary chips and salsa as would be expected at nearly every other diner, restaurant or cafe in North America!
The Navajo Sampler ($24) provided a very nice selection of favorite Navajo dishes, and was fairly filling - at least for normal appetites (I realize I eat a lot).
The traditional Navajo tea was very good with dessert, which I ordered without realizing what I was getting into. I ordered the frybread with honey and powdered sugar (Essentially a Navajo sopapilla). Then I made the mistake of takking the server's suggestion to have it a la mode. I hear a la mode, and I think a scoop of vanilla ice cream. The reality was essentially a fry bread banana split - thankfully without the banana, but with scoops of vanilla, chocolate and strawberry and toppings! The foreign travelers at the next table looked at it with what appeared to be a mix of awe and horror as they had seen what I had already consumed for dinner. But seriously, it was VERY good, and I nearly finished it! Just plan on sharing it with someone (Or maybe six someones).
NOTE: Though I gave this a $$$ below, it isn't a reflection of any sort of dress code. We were dressed for dessert walking.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HowlnBubba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livorno, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Very bad service”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We had lunch at the View restaurant. Of course nothing can beat the view! But food was average and service was the worst we found in all Navajo nation. Although the room was not full, we had to wait for a very long time before getting food. A vegetarian dish came with addition of beef (which we hadn't asked for). The guacamole we ordered never arrived (but we were charged for it). We got 3 different wrong bills, before finally getting the correct one.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The View Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The View Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing