We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Monument Valley Navajo Tribal Park
from $65.00
More Info
from $240.57
More Info
from $90.00
More Info
from $90.00
More Info
Reviews (6,208)
Filter reviews
6,208 results
Traveler rating
4,921
852
248
114
73
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,921
852
248
114
73
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the loop view hotel guided tour john wayne self drive navajo guide entrance fee dirt road rental car mile drive gift shop visitor center three sisters rock formations navajo tribal park low clearance grand canyon
Filter
Updating list...
655 - 660 of 6,208 reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2017

After staying overnight at Kayenta, we drove the 26 miles to Monument Valley NTP. We paid $20 to park and get information at the Visitors Center. Many folks were booking tours but we decided to drive the 17 miles of dirt road through the park. Some of these massive monuments soar 1000 feet. We stopped along the way to take photos and videos but you don't appreciate the magnitude until you stand directly below its grandeur. Well worth a stop.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank Dianne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2017

We loved every minute of driving through and stopping for pictures. There are many merchants out selling their homemade goods. We also booked a horesbeck trip through the Valley with Dineh. We stopped here as one of our stops for our family's Amazing Race trip out west. I loved watching the sunrise and sunset on these monuments as well. Well worth the money and time!

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank kinzieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2017

Monument Valley has firmly had a place at the top of my bucket list since I was a small child. I grew up watching the great films of John Wayne and John Ford, awed by the stunning desert vistas in the background. My husband and I finally made it a reality this summer.

After making our way from Moab, we planned to spend one night on the Navajo Tribal lands while spending a day and a half at the valley. As we drove along the highway we began to see the significant change in rock formations and knew it was going to be fabulous. We arrived after 7:00 pm and entered freely into the park. First on the agenda was to view the famous "mitten" rocks from the parking lot of the "view" hotel and restaurant. They were more impressive than I had even imagined! Little did I know that they would indeed become even more beautiful as we ate dinner at the "View Restaurant". As we waited for our entrees the sun continued to fall behind the horizon, the rocks began to glow. Make sure you see the monuments at sunset. The red rocks turned to a golden, red hue and were truly spectacular. This made the moment even more magical! It was perfect timing for easy entry into the restaurant and for stunning vista views.

The next morning, we awoke from our tipi at the Monument Valley Tipi Village
(off site, see corresponding review). We were greeted by a beautiful sunrise and were perfectly positioned to watch the sun break the horizon between two of the beautiful monuments. After enjoying a peaceful morning sunrise we made our way into the park.

The park will cost $20 for entry. It seems a bit pricey, but it is well worth it. Also realize that many of the Native Americans rely heavily on the patronage of tourists to the area.

After entry, we made to the "View Restaurant" again for morning coffees. It was a slow morning as the sun was still making its ascent to the sky. We found two chairs and enjoyed our morning cup of Joe sitting at John Wayne's Point. Perfect. Perfect is what it was.

We then headed out to make the driving tour through the valley. Be warned that the road is extremely rough, but worth every minute. To be under the monuments give you a new found perspective of their grandeur as they rise abruptly from the desert. If you're in a rental or are fearful for your vehicle, many Native Americans offer guided tours with stops along the way in the back of retrofitted trucks. Probably a very rough ride, but with great commentary and opportunity to see Mystery Valley as well.

Be sure to stop by John Ford's Point. It offers a new view of the famous monument and there are many artisans selling their wares. For $5 you can also have your photo taken on a horse, positioned on a cliff overlooking the valley. Best $5 I have ever spent!

All in all , Monument Valley is worthy of a place on your bucket list and is a real destination to witness. Though it's not typical tourist attraction with lots of shops and restaurants, it offers beautiful views of Southern Utah, Northern Arizona scenery and an interesting perspective into Native American Life. Meet some of the people of the Navajo and Ute nations and have a thoughtful discussion.

Date of experience: July 2017
4  Thank Lindilynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2017

My husband, myself, and our 21-month-old daughter drove through this area on our way from Page, AZ to Arches NP. We originally planned on taking a different route that would have saved us about 45 min drive time. However, we decided to drive through and make a 45 min stop at the park to see the monuments. The entry fee was worth the ability to see the main monuments from a nice elevation at the visitor center. Additionally, the gift shop inside was wonderful, and the bathrooms were clean. After snapping a few photos, we were back on the road. We would have liked to have stayed longer to drive the road, but this was still worth the stop for us even with a packed schedule.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank brittanyaih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2017

Great cultural experience. Leave your car at the carpark and take a tour as the roads are very rough.

Date of experience: June 2017
1  Thank Fchsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews