We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very overpriced, but nice.”
Review of The View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The View Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Monument Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I don't think reviews should be based on a view, which seems to be the case with most here. Anyone can see the view here without staying in the hotel. With that said, they have designed the hotel to take advantage of the view, which is, obviously, the whole point of staying here.

I hope whoever designed this place isn't a professional hotel designer because it is very poorly designed. The only part you see in the photos is that back that overlooks the valley and it is very impressive. The rest of the hotel is totally incoherent. There is only one elevator for the whole place and it is sort of stuck in a closet behind the front desk. The lobby is attractive, but the rest of the hotel is very basic and has an institutional feel to it. There are weird afterthoughts sort of stuck in odd places. For example, there is an aluminum ladder to the roof bolted to the wall in the elevator lobby on the third floor.

You have to go outside to get to the restaurant and there is minimal signage to direct you. We're good at following directions and figuring things out, but we weren't sure we were in the right place until we walked in. You can't charge anything to your room, so I'm not sure why they need a credit card for "incidentals", but whatever.

The rooms are fine, but anywhere else these would be less than $100 per night, not $270. The decor is sparse and sort of tossed into the space with no thought at all. The drapes do not block sunlight which shines directly into the rooms at dawn, so you have no excuse to miss the sunrise over the valley. A/C is set to a minimum temperature of 74 degrees, but it wasn't hot when we were there, so it didn't matter. The Navajo blankets used as bed covers are a nice touch. We didn't hear any noises through the walls and only the usual sounds from the corridor. Bathrooms are large and very clean. In fact, everything in the hotel is clean, which is a big plus.

The food in the restaurant varied from terrible to average. It isn't as overpriced as you might expect in a place like this. Service was always friendly, but disorganized. Stick with the Navajo dishes for best results. Breakfast is a buffet that isn't even up to the standards of the free breakfast at most motels. They charge $12.95 per person for it, which is outrageous. Hotel guests get a coupon for $5.00 off, but it is still too much to charge for something so basic. At the rates this hotel charges, breakfast should be included. Here's a tip for you: The hostess stand in the morning says "Seat Yourself" and "Please Wait to Be Seated" at the same time. Seat yourself and a waitress with bring juice and/or coffee and offer a choice of bacon or sausage. The hotel does not serve lunch. There are pre-made sandwiches in a cooler by the cashier, but stock up at breakfast because they often sold out by noon.

We were told wi-fi is only available in the lobby, but we were usually able to connect in our room at the far end of the hotel. It is free.

The road into the valley starts from the parking lot, so it is very convenient. You don't need to take a tour. They tell you all over with signs in red bold print that the road is rough, but it seems to me they mostly want to sell guided tours by scaring people. We saw many regular cars do it with no problem. Only the first mile or so is rough and requires care to maneuver, but the rest of it is a normal dirt road. It is very wide, so no problem stopping to look at whatever you want.

This hotel is the only choice if you want to stay right in the valley. Goulding's is a couple miles away across the highway, but still close enough. There are chain motels in Kayenta about 45 miles away. If you can afford it and are willing to put up with the quirks of this hotel, then I'd say go for it at least once.

Room Tip: All rooms have the same view. No need to pay for the premium StarView room unless you want the 3rd f...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank davegidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,734)
There are newer reviews for The View Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,319 - 2,325 of 5,738 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2013

Everything you are paying for is out the window. What views! Expensive, yes. But, the location is superb. The room was very quiet , comfortable and nicely decorated. We learned that it is privately owned by a local family. They provide employment for Navajo people living in the area. I certainly hope they are sharing the profits with their employees.

Room Tip: They all face the valley so you can't go wrong.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lauramcamis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

You have to stay here at least once, not because of the hotel, but because of the wonderful view during sunrise and sunset without having to drive in the dark in order to get there in time. I consider the hotel itself pricey, you really pay for the site and the view itself. But it is very convenient to just step out on the balcony to enjoy one of the best views in the Southwest. The hotel was very clean, however staff was very 'rigorous'. Check-in was at 4pm, so check-in is at 4pm, neither negotiations nor nice asking worked. My room was very clean, with a nice touch of Navajo appliances. The beds were very comfy and the bathroom had nice treats to offer. I cannot complain about loud bathroom appliances, of course you heard people getting up before sunrise but that's why 90% of the guests stay there. I cannot comment on the restaurant as I chose to eat on the balcony of my room. However, you should watch out when shopping for souvenirs at the shop. Staff tends to forget to subtract discounts for certain products.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms have wonderful views of the night sky.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sunsetd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Incredible location and very nice rooms. We had a second floor room on the far end -- it is probably best to call the hotel to ensure you know exactly what type of room you will receive -- they were very helpful. The restaurant was very average, but, it was the only option. Also, with the location in the Navajo Nation, there is no wine with dinner.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 50Continental_Drift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

The location of the View Hotel is spectacular. Room facing the valley provide a breath taking overlook. However, the hotels location does not live up to much else other then the view. Wi-Fi is not accessible in the room, a trip to the lobby is required to connect. Restaurant food can not be added to room charge. An addition fee is added if Amex is used. Room were clean, lacking amenities for the price. Bathrooms were adequate. Access to hotel required $5.00 fee per person at reservation gate. If you left hotel fee was required again. Food was O.K., breakfast buffet only, not the best. For the high price of the room Goulding is a better option.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PhnxUnion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

The Monument Valley is a must visit area in US SW, and you need to experience it up and close for one night. Every room (I am told) faces the 3 Mesa formations which are situated right outside your balcony. Nice big clean rooms with all the fittings you would expect. They state at reception WiFi only works in foyer but I had it going in my room which was one of furthest away from foyer. Make sure you turn up by 4pm not earlier as they may not have room ready for you.
Great restaurant attached, Gift shop, Info desk and display room all here. Note you have to pay a toll to get into the Facility boundary (I think it was $5 per head).

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bluemtns2777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Fantastic hotel in fantastic location. The magnificent Monument valley. The views from the hotel are awesome, especially in the morning, during breakfast, which was included. The rooms are large with a big and comfortable bed, and a nice bathroom. Big parking space in the front. Lots of car tours around the valley, guided tours, walks and hikes. Nice souvenir shop in the front. The most breathtaking place I visited in my life. Will be back one day !!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VidNikolic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monument Valley
36.9 mi away
Goulding's Lodge & Campground
Goulding's Lodge & Campground
#2 of 2 in Monument Valley
2,801 reviews
20.4 mi away
Kayenta Monument Valley Inn
19.3 mi away
Wetherill Inn
Wetherill Inn
#2 of 4 in Kayenta
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
40.3 mi away
Ticaboo Resort
Ticaboo Resort
#1 of 1 in Lake Powell
167 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The View Hotel

Address: Indian Route 42 East, Monument Valley, UT 84536
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Monument Valley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Monument Valley
Price Range: $169 - $359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The View is the only hotel inside the Monument Valley Tribal Park. Every guestroom has a private balcony with a view of the iconic formations of Monument Valley - so close that you feel like you can reach out and touch The Mittens! Guestrooms feature flat screen TVs, coffee makers, refrigerator, microwave, and wireless Internet. Enjoy the panorama of Monument Valley while dining in The View restaurant with views to the rising sun and the sunset as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TravelUp so you can book your The View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
View Hotel Monument Valley
The View Hotel Monument Valley, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing