We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING Hotel in the Heart of Monument Valley!”
Review of The View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The View Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Monument Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 2, 2013

The only place you should stay when visiting Monument Valley! All rooms look right out to 3 amazing Buttes including the Mittens. The view from the room is worth every penny of the cost of the room! The lobby and hallways are tastefully decorated with Navajo art and photographs. The tradingpost there has wonderful items to purchase and prices are reasonable. Hotel guests get an extra 10% off purchases. The View Restaurant had good food. The Navajo Fry Bread was delicious and try honey on it for a real treat. The Green Chili Stew was delicious as was the Navajo Taco (but get the petitie order as it is HUGE). All the staff at The View were friendly and attentive. I woulod highly recommend this wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: Stay on the top floor for an amazing view and no noise above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JillVA5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,872)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,483 - 2,489 of 5,872 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2013

Trip was planned well in advance as part of our Silver wedding anniversary. it was the most expensive hotel booked on the trip which includes a stay at the Bellagio at the start of our trip followed by stays in Zion, Bryce, Williams and finally back at Venetian so no expense spared and happy to pay for quality.
I booked a premium room which I thought was on the second floor but ended up at the end of a long corridor on the bottom floor. The plumbing was extremely noisy and when anyone in the adjoining room or the two rooms on the floor above used the bathroom it sounded as if it was coming from our room. We wanted a lie in but this was impossible due to the noise.
We were booked in for 2 nights but checked out after the first night as I didn't feel that it was worth the $190 for the second night. You can pay $10 to enter the park and see the same view and take the same tours.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank callywally1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

You pay for the view. When you book you know you are paying for the view. There is nothing wrong with the hotel but it is nothing very special. It blends in with the landscape and the rooms are large and comfortable. The service is a bit haphazard; in order to use the phone I had to go down to reception to ask them to answer the phone. Nice enough girls but very occupied with each other. We stayed on the third floor mostly to avoid having people above us. The view from this height is staggering and yes, it is probably pretty good from the floor below as well. The A/C unit was unbelievably noisy and we turned it off, the following morning we saw maintenance replacing a series of units so they must suffer from sand infiltration. I am glad we stayed here, despite the over-inflated price, just to see the view at both ends of the day.

Room Tip: The top floor was pretty good but pricey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mittxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

As others have said, it is all about the view here. Given that there are few options for staying in the area, we were pleased to find this hotel so carefully tended. After all, they don't have much competition.

It was bright and clean and the view--well, there's nothing like it. Absolutely spectacular. The lobby and common areas were nicely appointed with Native American and Western art. The restaurant had authentic Southwestern cuisine: fry bread tacos, green chili stew, posole.

We stayed only one night, and I'm not sure we were took advantage of all that there was to do. (I actually don't think there *was* that much to do; my husband thinks there was more to do but we just didn't do it.) Either way, the hotel staff might have done more to suggest activities or areas to explore. I actually didn't mind: I like that it didn't feel like a tourist trap. Prices were more than fair and everyone was pleasant. We arrived in time for a sunset drive, dinner, and awoke to a lovely sunrise. That was worth it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Havamama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We booked a king suite on the second floor. We tried to check in at 2:00 p.m. Too early, we were told. We came back 4 minutes after the official check-in time (4:00 p.m.) and were told that the hotel is sold out and the only room available to us is the one on the ground floor, all the way at the end of the hall. To reach the room was a hike itself and there was a huge mound of dirt in front on our balcony partially blocking the view.
The restaurant has stunning views so that you get distracted from the quality of food.
The bottom line... No matter what you book and pay for, they'll give you what they want.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vhurych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

This is your only option for a hotel if you want to stay and see Monument Valley, but it was a great hotel. Large rooms, comfortable beds and clean bathrooms. The view from all the rooms is amazing. We didn't bother spending more for premium views because all of the rooms have a great view. You can also stand on the large balcony outside the restaurant as well. The restaurant was decent. The food leans toward Navajo food but I had the fried chicken which was very good. For breakfast there is a breakfast buffet which was very affordable and we were given $5 off coupons.
Touring Monument Valley was amazing. This is not like a national park with hiking. The beauty of the park is appreciated by driving the 17 mile loop and stopping at different areas for pictures. While I wouldn't spend more than one night here due to the limited activity it is well worth the trip for the sunrise alone.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smokan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We spent one night at the view hotel during our trip to various national parks around May2011. We spent most of the night at camp site therefore, the View Hotel was a treat for this trip. It was a fantastic experience. However, I don’t think the staff was friendly and restaurant was quite pricey. But I enjoyed every moment there. I took photos of the monument valley from dusk till dawn. My camera was shooting almost continuously for all the time we stayed there. At night, the night sky is so clear that we could see the milky way rising from the horizon. Monument valley is one of the best place for night photography. My neighbor was doing Astrophotography with his telescope as well. I was no alone! I slept around 4am and we woke up at 6am to catch the sunrise. We didn’t dine out but enjoy simple camping food together with a bottle of wine to enjoy the sunset while waiting for the night to get dark. We ate breakfast and enjoy a cup of tea while my camera was doing the timelapse photograph of the sunrise over the valley. It is a great location and I got what I want. We never regret and we left with a smile in our face and a lot of pictures for memory. It deserves five stars for the location but three stars for the service.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IY P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monument Valley
5.4 mi away
Goulding's Lodge & Campground
Goulding's Lodge & Campground
#2 of 2 in Monument Valley
2,869 reviews
20.5 mi away
Kayenta Monument Valley Inn
19.3 mi away
Wetherill Inn
Wetherill Inn
#2 of 4 in Kayenta
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The View Campground
The View Campground
#1 of 3 in Monument Valley
268 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The View Hotel

Address: Indian Route 42 East, Monument Valley, UT 84536
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Monument Valley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Monument Valley
Price Range: $153 - $354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The View is the only hotel inside the Monument Valley Tribal Park. Every guestroom has a private balcony with a view of the iconic formations of Monument Valley - so close that you feel like you can reach out and touch The Mittens! Guestrooms feature flat screen TVs, coffee makers, refrigerator, microwave, and wireless Internet. Enjoy the panorama of Monument Valley while dining in The View restaurant with views to the rising sun and the sunset as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and TravelUp so you can book your The View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
View Hotel Monument Valley
The View Hotel Monument Valley, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing