We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It’s all about the View! Sunrise to Sunset”
Review of The View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The View Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Monument Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I stayed here in a tent on the same spot in 1998 & the hotel in September 2012 and had some reservations on how it would be. In fact it’s very good and overall the hotel is very quiet and relaxing. It does not really feel commercial when compared with the head of the valley in general and the restaurant but that’s due to the overall popularity of Monument Valley, although it quietens down a lot towards evening in the valley. We stayed in a star room which gets slightly better views than the ground floor but that’s about all the difference. The rooms are very pleasant, clean with Navajo inspired décor & all come with a balcony and that ever present uninterrupted view! The lobby has huge picture windows and is filled with Navajo artefacts. The restaurant is good but very busy so don’t expect a romantic meal or fine dining, but it’s well priced and serves authentic cuisine. The advantage of the View is just for a small moment in time you become part of the valley and can experience how the landscape changes throughout the day, it’s slightly expensive but it’s the best place to stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DES32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,810)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,636 - 2,642 of 5,810 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

Breathtaking view of the monuments from our balcony as the sun set. We plan to be up at sunrise - the colors of the landscape is hard to imagine. Warm welcome from the staff when we arrived and a very large and comfortable room awaited us. Large bathroom and lots of hot water. Simple but good food in the restaurant. I had a fairly spicy green chilli chicken and root vegetable stew with pie and ice cream for dessert. The trading post next to the hotel has Navajo pottery, jewelry and blankets for sale - some beautiful and authentic pieces.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alysonth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed one night at the hotel and to be honest when we booked we thought it would be pretty basic. After all, you are only staying there for the views and these are fantastic. But in fact it exceeded our expectations, it was comfortable, clean and very pleasant. The staff were friendly, professional and helpful. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patriot12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Ok, so we all know the view is the only reason to stay here, but for these prices, they really need to make a drastic change in the quality of the food. It just plain sucks, and is no better than a nasty corporate cafeteria. Shame on the chef, who is advertised as something special. It is not complicated to cook some decent food. I realize that because of the location, everything must be frozen and fresh food is difficult to manage. Also, it would be nice if someone told the restaurant staff that this is 2012, and we now all know that disease is spread by dirty hands. I doubt if any of the people working in the restaurant know this because everyone's hands were noticeably filthy. But, we know that the mgmt. do not care about any of this, because this place is 100% booked all the time. The view can not be beat, and that's why we pay the $$ and suck it up.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank lizzyloopy59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

good hotel in iconic setting.Watch the sun go down-set your alarm and see it rise.The desert is full of colour. The restaurant has an interesting menu, the food is good and value for money. Great breakfast.Watched the outdoor screening of classic John Wayne film from my balcony-fab.
Staff were helpful and courteous.
Worth every cent.

Room Tip: top floor rooms have sky view for stargazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wanderingmum52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

The view is by far the hotel with the best view in all of the Four Corners area. Service is very good, Navajo staff is professional, courteous although shy and not completely at ease with tourists. No complaints about the room, it had comfortable beds, clean, not noisy and great big picture windows all over the hotel. One highlight besides the obvious spectacular natural view of the monuments was western movies shown at night on the hotel premises. Fun to see old westerns in the area they were filmed in. The food service was good but could use a bit more selections especially if you stay more than two nights. I would love to go back and recommend it highly. The story behind the owner is inspiring and we are happy to be customers to a progressive Navajo enterprise.

Room Tip: Most rooms are great, they all have a wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DocRam49092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

The location is great and the athmosphere is superb ( at night there is an apen air projection of westen movies just set there). You wake up and see thet spectacular view. What impressed me much is the sky, the silence and the magic of this place. Do not miss also the horse back with the navajo... If it's too hot you can do just 30 mins ride and I think it is enough... The rooms are simple but clean and the terrace is just amazing. The staff was very very unfriendly.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Marco M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monument Valley
36.9 mi away
Goulding's Lodge & Campground
Goulding's Lodge & Campground
#2 of 2 in Monument Valley
2,832 reviews
20.5 mi away
Kayenta Monument Valley Inn
19.3 mi away
Wetherill Inn
Wetherill Inn
#2 of 4 in Kayenta
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The View Campground
The View Campground
#1 of 3 in Monument Valley
258 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The View Hotel

Address: Indian Route 42 East, Monument Valley, UT 84536
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Monument Valley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Monument Valley
Price Range: $150 - $348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The View is the only hotel inside the Monument Valley Tribal Park. Every guestroom has a private balcony with a view of the iconic formations of Monument Valley - so close that you feel like you can reach out and touch The Mittens! Guestrooms feature flat screen TVs, coffee makers, refrigerator, microwave, and wireless Internet. Enjoy the panorama of Monument Valley while dining in The View restaurant with views to the rising sun and the sunset as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TravelUp so you can book your The View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
View Hotel Monument Valley
The View Hotel Monument Valley, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing