We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,463)
Filter reviews
6,463 results
Traveler rating
3,883
1,926
471
130
53
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,883
1,926
471
130
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no alcohol sunrise and sunset green chile stew gift shop top floor lives up to its name valley floor navajo nation front row unobstructed view rooms face star view third floor room balcony the sun rise hotel lobby full moon
Filter
Updating list...
2,990 - 2,995 of 6,463 reviews
Reviewed September 26, 2012

The View Hotel is located in the Navajo tribal Park in Monument Valley. Visitor charge to get into the tribal park is $5.00 per adult. All of the rooms have the same view of the valley. We had a "star gazer" room on top floor but the view of the stars isn't really any different than any other room..To watch the sun coming up in the morning at 6:30 with the red rocks/mountains in the foreground was worth the visit. The dining room had great choices with authentic Navajo dishes on the menu. The tribal trading post next door to the dining room has good buys on Navajo rugs that are purchased directly from weavers in NM and Arizona. There is a 4% Navajo nation sales tax in this area. make sure you take the 17 mile round trip dirt drive through the park. The worst part of the road was the beginnming and the end when you go into/out of the canyon. You can take guided tours in jeeps that are open air but be prepared to get a lot of red dust blowing on you. Taking your own vehicle was better as you can stop to look at whatever you want. This is the ONLY place to stay when visiting Monument Valley.

Room Tip: Any room has great views. Try to get farther away from area you check into to as it has less light from the dining room/trading post area.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobseelos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We spent two nights last summer with my family in this hotel, in a star view room.
I had reserved well in advance in this place for our US trip, thinking it would have been a great place and actually it is!
It is a real wonder staying in the room and admiring sunset and dawn on the buttes and mittens.
I woke up around 5pm to experience minute by minute the sun growing in the valley, enjoying the evolution of colors and lights. Visiting Monument Valley is fantastic, but I would recommend to anyone who is in the area to avoid saving bucks and staying in a standard motel/lodge in Kayenta or nearby, beacuse the experience you get here is unique and well deserves the extra money that, in any case, I found reasonable for the position you get.
If you want to save some bucks, you can reserve a standard room, because what you want to see is the valley and not the stars, and the hotel is pretty well designed so that upper floors do not limit at all the view on the Valley.
Besides what you can admire from your room, you should not miss the John Wayne point on the hotel terrace, and if you want to make a short hike, then I suggest you get the trail from the back of the hotel to the upper part, that gives another angle of view of the Valley and at the same time some interesting rock formations on the path.
A must-have experience.
The food in the restaurant was OK and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Corrado R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We had a fabulous time at The View. We were on the 3rd floor with a large balcony and yes, the view was to die for. The sunrises were outstanding and worth getting up to see. The staff was VERY pleasant and accommodating. We couldn't have asked for a better experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a large balcony if you are traveling with friends,
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The View Hotel sits right in Monument Valley, and if you haven't been there before, this is a great way to see the place. But if you have been to the Valley before, this will be a shock. What used to be a quiet, unspoiled, strikingly beautiful place that required a Navajo guide to see has now been opened up to cars. And there's a steady stream of vehicles, all day and into the night, right in the view of the hotel. The hotel itself is okay, although not as beautiful or as full of Native crafts as the pictures on line might lead you to believe. All the rooms have balconies looking out over Monument Valley, and all are great for star-gazing - assuming it's not cloudy, as it was the night we were there. The info handed out at the front desk contradicted the info online regarding hiking trails....We finally found the one that was supposed to start at the hotel (there were no signs) but it was just sand in all directions, including going up. All in all, it was hard to appreciate the serenity of Monument Valley from The View, because of all the cars coming and going and because the place was jammed with tourists from all over the world who seemed to have no appreciation for a sacred spot. Don't buy anything in the gift shop - the prices are insanely high. We loved Monument Valley when we first saw it 20 years ago, pristine and unoccupied, so this was a bit too much to take.

Room Tip: All rooms face east, into the Valley. The third-floor rooms are called Star Rooms, because there's no roof above your balcony. You pay a premium for them but honestly, you can see just as well from the first and second floors.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gayle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Monument Valley is the second most spiritual and healing place [the pyramids of giza being first] that I have ever been. There is something magical to me about those red rocks and the Navajo surroundings. The hotel was gorgeous and all rooms face the two big "mittens"! I could have sat on that balcony forever and just looked out at the valley! The architect did a wonderful job fitting the hotel right into the surroundings without taking anything away from the area itself. Staff was very friendly, and room was great with a really comfortable bed! We did sunrise and sunset from the terrace near the attached restaurant. AWESOME!! It is not cheap to stay here, but we felt that for the two nights we were there, it was worth the splurge to immerse ourselves in the entire atmosphere. My only hope is that the Navajo Nation is part of the profits of this establishment.

Room Tip: All rooms face the valley so there is no problem with that. The hotel is only 3 floors, so if you take a top floor room, you have an unobstructed view of the night sky with millions of stars!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Worldtgardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews