We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,393)
Filter reviews
6,394 results
Traveler rating
3,834
1,911
467
130
52
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,834
1,911
467
130
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno alcoholsunset and sunrisegreen chile stewgift shoptop floorvalley floornavajo nationfront rowunobstructed viewrooms facelives up to its namestar viewthird floorroom balconythe sun risefull moonplace to stay
Filter
Updating list...
3,361 - 3,366 of 6,394 reviews
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Monument Valley on the Utah Arizona border is a very special place, and the best times to view it are morning and evening. So staying in the area is a good idea, and The View Hotel is a great opportunity to be right there. The rooms are comfortable (if not as well lit as I would like), nicely decorated, and each (even the lowest priced--$149) has a balcony overlooking the Monument Valley loop drive and some of the best known landmark natural rock monuments. It is not inexpensive, but the $5 credit on breakfast pays back the Park entrance fee. The restaurant is very reasonable, and features southwest and Navajo style food. (No alcohol, as this is on the Navajo reservation.) Trying to book online is a frustrating experience, as nothing seems available. It may be that the Hotel holds back rooms from online booking, as we had no trouble calling the hotel directly and getting a room on short notice (in October). Tour buses do stop here, so they may be booked up times. The lobby with all its Navajo artifacts is quite nice, and the staff was very helpful. Lots and lots of public terraces to view the Valley and to take pictures.

Room Tip: Call the hotel directly. No need to pay for the Star View rooms unless you are really into astronomy.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coloradofan82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Positive visit/experience. $5.00 pp entrance fee collected from everyone can be applied to buffet breakfast. No wine or liquor in restaurant as this is in an Indian Reservation, part of the Navajo Nation. Staff friendly, rooms clean, neat, modern w/small freezer/refrigerator. All lights are CFLs which makes reading most difficult. One small elevator serves the 2nd and 3rd floors. Wifi in lobby only although we could connect from our room on the 2nd floor. Awesome views!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Les80435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Probably the main reason for choosing to stay at this hotel is the awesome views of the Mittens. The hotel itself is very good, friendly, clean with good decor, what you would expect from a good 3 star City Hotel. The restaurant again serves good food at surprising low cost compared to the rest of southwest US and much better than I expected after reading some reviews.
My main gripe is the cost, I paid $259 for 1 night. That is very expensive for what is offered. The views are free to one and all after paying the $5 pp entrance fee. As a visitor you can use the Restaurant Veranda which has views comparible to the hotel rooms if not better, and you can stay as long as you like. You get no preferential treatment or advantage being a hotel guest.

If you do decide to stay at the hotel and intend to take photos, get a room number above 107,207 or 307. Rooms with number below these are obscured by the restaurant veranda and all its visitors.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Welshman653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We were told that the View Hotel was so wonderful and we needed to stay there. It was hard to get a reservation there and I had to keep checking the web site until one availability appeared and I grabbed it. We stayed one night on our way back from a CO trip. Very disappointed. The restaurant was very poor. The room expensive and just so so. The view is beautiful but you can get that by driving through Monument Valley. I can not recommend this hotel as the greatest at all.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bhende
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

This is the only hotel in Monument. Valley although there are others reasonably close by and as you drive up to the parking lot of a fairly anonymous concrete building 200 dollars for one night seems expensive. But once inside things change. Friendly and helpful reception desk. A spacious lounge with an open fire. A clean, well furnished, comfortable room with a balcony looking out over The Iconic View. We saw the sunset, we saw the sunrise. We even got up at 3am to photograph the night sky. Truly amazing.

Food in the restaurant was wholesome and tasty. Good value too at around 20 dollars each for dinner. The portions were so generous we could only manage a starter each and a main course split between us. Even so we had to ask for a doggy bag and the leftovers made us breakfast using the microwave in the room. There was good Internet access in the lobby and patchy access in the room. I was pleased that we had chosen a room on the top floor as it gave us a good view of the night sky, but all rooms seem to get the benefit of the same view of The Mittens.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul6111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews