We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG-The BEST Ever”
Review of The View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The View Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Monument Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 21, 2011

This should be in your best views from your hotel room ever, they have done a remarkable job in building this hotel, very green, all balconies have privacy walls, rooms are quiet with flat screen TV,frig, microwave, comfy beds. We left the sliding balcony door open all night and could watch the stars from our bed. For the above reviews complaining about the remoteness and cancelation policy, that is exactly why you come to this beautiful place for it's remoteness, don't bother if you are not into that.Also, the cancelation policy is stiff because of this. Most remote hotels or lodges have a stiff cancelation fee because it is extremely hard to rebook these kind of places on short notice. They make it very clear when you reserve a room about their cancelation policy. They have a no liquor policy,to respect the Navajo people. We could all learn a lesson from these people.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scgFortCollinsCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,895)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,374 - 3,380 of 5,895 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2011

Monument Valley is a wonderful place to visit with absolutely iconic sights to see. Our decision to pay a little more and stay inside the park was well justiifed when we walked into our room and saw the view. Absolutely wonderful. We ordered takeout from the restauarant which was really nice and we ate it sitting on our balcony enjoying the sunset.

One things that surprises us was that we were unable to sit in the restaurant and have a coffee. Back home in Australia this is a normal occurrence but not allowed at The View.

One other thing, and this is not the fault of the staff, but there was a really inconsiderate guest nearby that smoked a cigar on his balcony. It was really disgusting. I guess that some people don't understand no smoking!!!! So if you are a smoker please be mindful of other guests.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greatimes4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2011

Everything was perfect : The booking, the communication, the readyness of the room on arrival, the friendliness of the staff, the cleanliness and amenities of the room, the location and most of all, the amazing view!!

The only downside was the price tag! ($196 for the room for one night) But it came with what you'd expect for the monehy and the stunning view was absolutely worth it!

Restaurant service was a bit slow - we waited quite a while for our orders to be taken and again for it to be brought to our table, but it came with an apology and a smile and we were not in a hurry anyway.

We'd go back any day and would recommend this hotel as an absolute must do splurge!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aussie_Travel_Writer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2011

The best view from a hotel room we had in our whole three month holiday. amazing! nearly matched by the quality of the hotel restaurant food. outstanding. Service was good and the room itself was comfortable. A must to stay here if visiting monument valley - totally worth it. The presence of the Ntaive Indian culture is also a nice aspect to this hotel! This place doesnt have a pool as water is so scarce in the area, it would be offensive to indulge in a pool! LeTo be honest though - with amazing scenery like this we didnt come here to swim!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MathewMariani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2011

My room at the View Hotel had a great view of Monument Valley, a photographers dream of a balcony. The room was clean and comfortably furnished, precisely what one expects of a mid-range motel. The restaurant is somewhat understaffed but the food is good and includes some Navajo specialities. I enjoyed the pork posole, a hearty dish of corn, chile, and pork served with Navajo fry bread. The breakfast buffet is pretty basic, but a bargain at $6 if you use the coupon issued when you check in. At breakfast you may have to ask for them to restock the buffet.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank areview28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2011

This hotel is what all mid-priced hotels should strive for. I can't think of a single thing wrong with it. The view is mind-blowing. The beds were great. The room was spacious. It was super clean. The decor was understated, if a bit motel-ish. The lobby is stunning. Staff were polite. Breakfast was a bargain. Gift shop was excellent, but a bit expensive. The price was spot-on. Did I mention the view? Let me mention it again. The VIEW is incredible!!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindagaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2011

The View hotel can only be described as the best location you can imagine for a photographer. The layout of the hotel, allows you to capture sunrises and sunsets right out of your room in the balcony. Nights are incredible as there is no light shining on your balcony blocking your view of the stars.
Great place to relax and admire an incredible landscape.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank curaloco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monument Valley
5.4 mi away
Goulding's Lodge & Campground
Goulding's Lodge & Campground
#2 of 2 in Monument Valley
2,881 reviews
20.5 mi away
Kayenta Monument Valley Inn
19.3 mi away
Wetherill Inn
Wetherill Inn
#2 of 4 in Kayenta
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The View Campground
The View Campground
#1 of 3 in Monument Valley
270 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The View Hotel

Address: Indian Route 42 East, Monument Valley, UT 84536
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Monument Valley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Monument Valley
Price Range: $160 - $354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The View is the only hotel inside the Monument Valley Tribal Park. Every guestroom has a private balcony with a view of the iconic formations of Monument Valley - so close that you feel like you can reach out and touch The Mittens! Guestrooms feature flat screen TVs, coffee makers, refrigerator, microwave, and wireless Internet. Enjoy the panorama of Monument Valley while dining in The View restaurant with views to the rising sun and the sunset as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and TravelUp so you can book your The View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
View Hotel Monument Valley
The View Hotel Monument Valley, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing