We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed at Christmas”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Goulding's Lodge & Campground
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Monument Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Winter is the offseason although Xmas can be busy. Generally it was kind of quiet during our stay, which we liked. We were put in a large unit away from the main hotel. It was very reasonable for what we got--it would have slept 6 easily; 2 bedrooms 2 bathrooms, kitchen, living room laundry. Kind of ridiculous and under 100 per night. Now it was a doublewide, with lots of clashing patterns in the decor; but we were happy there. Stayed 3 nights. The dining here is limited. Their dining room is pretty standard fare and kind of pricey. They do have a nice salad bar. But Gouldings has a good grocery store, so if you have a kitchenette you can happily cook your own stuff.

We took the One day tour of the valley and related canyon. It was wonderful and had a good, amiable tour guide.

The valley is the most spectacular place I have ever seen. We also made a loop through Mexican Hat to Natural Bridges, to Bluff and back--also spectacular.

Great trip

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank heyU7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gouldings, Manager at Goulding's Lodge & Campground, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Thank you for your comments about your stay at Goulding's. You have provided some valuable tips for our future guests and we are pleased that you enjoyed the tour. For those that have time, the all day tour is a great way to experience Monument Valley and Mystery Valley.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,866)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

996 - 1,002 of 2,866 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stayed not in the main lodge, but in one of the separate houses -- actually double-wide mobile homes -- about a half mile from the main lodge. It had plenty of room for our group --3 bedrooms (including a king), fully equipped kitchen, and huge living room area. Front windows face right toward Monument Valley. No noise from other units because, except for another double-wide, there are no other units. Off-season rate of $98 + tax was great considering all we got. People at the front desk were great. We probably couldn't afford Goulding's in the summer, but during a sunny week in December it was great.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RoadTripRoger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gouldings, Manager at Goulding's Lodge & Campground, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Thanks for your positive comments about your stay at Goulding's. The double-wide mobile home you mention is great for families and friends traveling together. As stated, December is a wonderful time of year to visit. Not only are the rates lower than summer, but you can enjoy a less crowded Monument Valley Navajo Tribal Park and soak up the quiet and beauty of the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stayed only one night in a double queen room and were very pleased. It's not spacious but it was enough as it has a separate small hall at the entrance next to the toilet. The room was very clean and the bed was really comfortable. The shower was not that good but it worked and the toilet was clean too. We should mention that even we arrived late to the restaurant for dinner, they allowed us to eat there past 9 pm when they close (We called in advance though). We totally recommend staying here if you are going to visit Monument Valley, which is only a 10 minutes drive.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Tiki P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gouldings, Manager at Goulding's Lodge & Campground, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Goulding's Lodge is so pleased to hear that this guest enjoyed their stay with us at our historic property. Winter is a great time to visit Monument Valley! Thank you for your comments...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

Off season price reasonable. Only other choice is the View hotel. Location of the View hotel is located closer to monuments. Would go to the View hotel the next time. Gouldings older and paper thin walls so you hear everything. Restaurant here and at the View pricey. Beds comfortable and patio with view. Refrigerator but would have liked a microwave too. Gouldings gas station - grocery store and convenience store nearby. Would never stay in high season as it way over priced for what you have. Cameron Az has trading post hotel but that is a good hour + away.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank mjb60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gouldings, Manager at Goulding's Lodge & Campground, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Goulding's Lodge management and staff is so pleased to hear that this guest enjoyed their stay with us at our historic property. Established in the 1920s as a Navajo Trading Post, Goulding's provides the guest with the true American southwestern experience. Thank you for your comments....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

We enjoyed our stay. The rate was good. Family had fun. Kind of cold but was still beautiful. Food good and reasonable at Gouldings but not The View Hotel food was not good and was limited on selection. would recommend as affordable.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NaturePhotographer77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gouldings, Manager at Goulding's Lodge & Campground, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2013

Goulding's Lodge management and staff is so pleased to hear that this guest had a fun time and enjoyed their stay with us at our historic property. Thank you for your comments....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

This is our second stay at this resort. We love Monument Valley and staying at Goulding's is part of the experience. The room itself was small and the furniture dated. There was a bed, a couch, and a dresser with TV - no table or chairs. It was fine for a night but would not be very comfortable for a longer stay. The food is in the restaurant is average but I take into account they are in an isolated area. The fry bread is good. Restaurant costs are high. Our biggest complaint was that wi-fi and cell phone coverage did not work in the bedroom or the lodge business office. We did find one spot in the restaurant which had coverage.

Room Tip: After reading other reports it sounds like there is a difference in quality of rooms so perhaps one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Deborah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gouldings, Manager at Goulding's Lodge & Campground, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Goulding's Lodge management and staff wants to thank this guest for taking the time to comment on their stay with us at our historic property. Goulding's Lodge is a large property of one square mile, with a variety of different lodging accommodations and facilities. The property has a gas station/fast food court, grocery store, campground along with the restaurant, museum and gift shop. Again, Thank you for your comments....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I arrived after dark the night before thanksgiving. We had no idea what to expect. What a nice surprise. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was clean and warm. (We has snow on the ground .) we stayed 3 nights and enjoyed the home cooked thanksgiving meal Thursday and the leftovers Friday. We loved the little museum and gift shop. We had low clouds that provided unusual light on the snow covered red rocks. Amazing photos! We rented John Wayne / John Ford movies shot in the valley and at the hotel in the 30's.

What a magical restful stay!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gouldings, Manager at Goulding's Lodge & Campground, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Goulding's Lodge management and staff is so pleased to hear that this guest enjoyed their Thanksgiving holiday stay with us at our historic property. To wake up and view the spectacular panoramic view from the Goulding's Lodge balconies is definitely a unique and memorable experience. Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monument Valley
21.0 mi away
Kayenta Monument Valley Inn
19.7 mi away
Wetherill Inn
Wetherill Inn
#2 of 4 in Kayenta
831 reviews
5.4 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#1 of 2 in Monument Valley
5,867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The View Campground
The View Campground
#1 of 3 in Monument Valley
268 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Goulding's Lodge & Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goulding's Lodge & Campground

Address: 1000 Main Street, Monument Valley, UT 84536
Location: United States > Utah > Monument Valley
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Monument Valley
Price Range: $89 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Goulding's Lodge & Campground 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Otel and HotelsClick so you can book your Goulding's Lodge & Campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goulding`s Lodge And Campground
Goulding`s Lodge & Campground Hotel Monument Valley
Gouldings Hotel Monument Valley
Gouldings Hotel Campground
Gouldings Lodge Monument Valley
Goulding Lodge
Goulding's Lodge & Campground Monument Valley, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing