We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unimpressed !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Canyonlands Motor Inn
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Monticello
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Unimpressed !”
Reviewed November 7, 2011

While the outside seemed tidy and the room was clean, I was terribly disappointed that the heater's thermostat was broken. So it was either on or off; you were cold or hot and constantly getting up to turn it on or off! I asked if they had TV and the answer was, 'Of course'. There were no ABC, NBC or CBS channels, so don't expect to get anything much of interest. There was a microwave and frig, but that didn't out-weigh the inconvience of the heater and TV. There was no coffee, shampoo; was an ice machine along with soda vending machine. Could have been coffee in the lobby, but it was locked when I left just after 8AM. The bed was comfortable, but I'd never stay there again and wouldn't recommend it to anyone. I was looking for a small, quiet motel, but made a big mistake with this one.

Room Tip: If I had had the opportunity to talk to the manager/owner before I left, I would have told him not t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    40
    33
    19
    6
See reviews for
24
46
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
172 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 400 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2011

This review (it starts after the dashed lines below if you want to straight to it) is part of a 'set' of hotels/motels/attractions I stayed in/experienced whilst touring the region in and around southern Utah, aiming to visit the fantastic National Parks there, by hire car in May 2011.

I have created an extensive Trip Advisor 'Trip List' which details the numerous significant attractions I visited/the places I stayed in enroute and includes a tour map and (hopefully) lots of helpful information/Internet/Trip Advisor links.

Trip Advisor haven't (yet ?) properly integrated it for direct access: to get to it you start by doing the required action to see my individual TA reviews/photos/videos (which I hope you will !) by mouse-clicking my profile 'name' located in the top-left corner of this review, below my profile picture of the Giza Pyramids, then mouse-clicking the blue 'Reviews' link from the resulting pop-up window. As well now being able to see my reviews, you can then access my Trip List by looking in the left-hand 'Contributions list (there you can also see my photos/videos direct) and select 'Trip List' - it is entitled 'Las Vegas + South Utah National Parks + Monument Valley, Arizona - May 2011'; click the title link and away you go - easy, NOT ! (TA admin please note !)

For accommodation my price range was $50-$60incl/night (occasionally up to $90incl due to local 'inflation'), for non-smoking rooms in establishments which were best located for visiting the nearby venue (sometimes for several days), that were TA reviewed as quiet/clean and should be well-equipped (eg fridge, wi-fi); I was not too bothered about what eateries etc were in the local area, nor if there were things like a swimming pool, as my days were maximised for visiting the associated National Park/hiking etc, the room being used to reflect on the day/'unwind'/sleep in !

-------------

I arrived at the Canyonlands Motel after an enjoyable day visiting Monument Valley/Goosenecks SP on my way to a planned visit of the 'Needles' district of Canyonlands NP the next day. On the strength of TA reviews which largely rate all the places in Monticello (a non-descript town sitting astride the busy highway 191) the same, as usual for a stopover I went for value and reserved a room at Canyonlands Motor Inn via their website sometime before ($55incl/night for single/queen-bed). Whilst checking-in the helpful and pleasant lady at reception agreed to my request for a room at the back; it didn't cost any extra, despite having twin-beds - otherwise I think my room would have been in the front section, vulnerable to noise from traffic on the adjacent highway which runs through the town.

Armed with my room key and the handy 2-sided information sheet listing the cable-TV channels/local eateries (why can't all places provide such info ? I've got better things to do than flick through some 99 TV channels of, mostly, absolute rubbish !) I moved onwards to see that the motel wasn't busy, but parking space was unlikely to ever be a problem.

First impressions of the room were OK; it was large/clean with all the advertised in-room facilities (eg TV, fridge, microwave) - on entering I did detect a slight 'pong' of some kind of air/carpet freshener, but after just a few minutes it had gone (if it were bad I would have been irritated by it, so it must have been relatively innocuous as I have sensitive senses !). I did quickly spot that some of the furniture/fittings were a bit dated but everything was perfectly functional. There were also a couple of wall 'blemishes', but they were nothing significant and soon not noticed as my eyes were either fixed on my notebook using the motel wi-fi, the other more modern appliances/TV or the inside of my eyelids as I slept on the comfy bed; no bed bugs (I have never had them in ANY bed in ANY hotel and am of the opinion that reviews which mention them are malicious !).

Like most cheaper motels no breakfast was supplied in the morning but you could get freshly made coffee from reception.

And that's it ! Whilst mostly unremarkable, the Canyonlands Motel does not disappoint as somewhere to be used as a stopover enroute to/from the Canyonlands region. By now the 7th place I'd stayed at on my touring, I can say that the nightly cost was slightly lower than the norm for this kind of place but with above-average room facilities. Whilst the room itself was not pristine, it was clean, noise-free and perfectly liveable-in; no complaints from me !

Room Tip: At the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LPWilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2011

i booked this hotel because it was a last minute stop heading to the grand canyon. the hotel like before smelt like moth balls. the rooms looked from the 80's but the manager was super nice. had fridge, tv was old school and bathroom was hilarious. it had a timer/sauna from the 80s. relatively quite since its on the main highway

Room Tip: take febreeze, air out your room prior to sleeping
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carmenh12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Monticello hotels

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2011

I guess you get what you pay for... the only good thing -- the owner/receptionist lady was nice. The room smelled (mold?) and looked very old and run down. The stairwell to the second floor was dirty. It was hard to carry suitcases up to the second floor because the doors were hard to open and too close to the stairs. The hotel looks ugly form the outside.
we didn't dare check the swimming pool.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigmatilda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2010

This place was great, it was clean and cheap. The manager was fantastic and they provided us nice big room in the back. It was clean and the beds were brand new. My wife and I have not had a good nights rest like that for months. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jrogers123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
231 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2008

After a long day on the road we stayed here. I wondered why there were no other cars inthe parking lot. We opened the door to our room and were hit with the overpowering smell of air freshener, which evaporated after we left the room door and window open for over 3 hours with the air conditioner on full blast. Had a spider on my bed, however the sheets were clean, I woke up with no bites on me. The bathroom was clean and had been repainted. The carpeting in the unit was stained as was the upholstry on the two "easy" chairs actually cheap office chairs next to the rusted air conditioner. The furniture is vintage mid 70s heavy fake mediterranean, swag lamps etc. The price was inexpensive. Close to the little cafe Peace Tree which we enjoyed.

  • Liked — Clean bathroom
  • Disliked — Overpowering air freshener, soiled floor and chairs
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Roadrunnergo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2008

Okay place. If you are going looking for a 4 star motel this isn't the place but the rooms are clean and great for an overnight stop.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank whichwaydidtheygo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monticello
0.2 mi away
The Monticello Inn
The Monticello Inn
#3 of 6 in Monticello
291 reviews
0.7 mi away
Inn at the Canyons
Inn at the Canyons
#1 of 6 in Monticello
462 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wayside Motor Inn
Wayside Motor Inn
#6 of 6 in Monticello
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#4 of 6 in Monticello
204 reviews
18.4 mi away
Four Corners Inn
Four Corners Inn
#5 of 7 in Blanding
165 reviews
18.5 mi away
Stone Lizard Lodging
Stone Lizard Lodging
#1 of 7 in Blanding
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canyonlands Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyonlands Motor Inn

Property: Canyonlands Motor Inn
Address: 197 S Main St, Monticello, UT 84535-8001
Location: United States > Utah > Monticello
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Monticello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Canyonlands Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canyonlands Motor Inn located in the heart of Utah's most coveted National Parks - Canyonlands, Arches and even Moab! A fully modern motel at 7,060 feet elevation near the foothills of scenic Blue Mountains. We are the nearest hotel to the gateway to Canyonlands National Park. We offer clean, comfortable rooms, an indoor heated swimming pool, hot tub and a central location that allows you to walk to restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Canyonlands Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canyonlands Motor Hotel Monticello
Canyonlands Hotel Monticello
Canyonlands Motel Monticello
Canyonlands Motor Inn Monticello, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing