We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very helpful front desk lady”
Review of The Monticello Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Monticello Inn
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Monticello
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Dated but nice. Just a couple blocks off the main drag. The proprietor at the desk was very pleasant and helpful. Clean and comfortable, no frills. Good bed, spacious shower and within walking distance to MD Roadhouse restaurant (recommended by proprietor at desk).

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (307)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

213 - 219 of 307 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2013

We were visiting Arches National Park July 3 with plans to spend the 4th with relatives in New Mexico. So we wanted to spend the night a little further down the road than Moab. Monticello was a good option, and never having been there, I read some online reviews and made an reservation on Priceline for The Monticello Inn. We pulled up after dark not expecting an old-fashioned motor-type inn where your car is parked right outside the door. But what a pleasant surprise! As road-weary as we were, it was just what we needed. Having the car outside the room made hauling suitcases and cleaning out and reorganizing the vehicle the next morning so much easier. The room was clean and comfortable and all of us enjoyed a quiet, restful night's sleep. I would not hesitate to stay here again. Tip: if you are traveling between Moab and Monticello this summer, you might experience the same road construction we did. We had to wait to be escorted through one stretch of the road the night we came through. I also think we missed some spectacular scenery between the two places since we traveled after dark.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soonermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Getting to town about dusk TA had helped me select the Monticello Inn for the nite. I was greeted by the owner who is very helpful and friendly. My room was very nice, clean, fresh smelling and çomfortable. I recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeannie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

I stayed here one night in June, 2013. The owner who checked me in was very friendly, and engaged me in good conversation. She had very good tips on where to eat, and even the best route to my next destination. The room was basic but very clean; good bed, microwave, refrigerator. The only caveat is that the air conditioner was a little loud. However, this was not a problem for me. The price was perfect for my budget, and the location is very good. Recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanyonTrekkerNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

In passing through the area over the past 30-40 years I make a point of staying here because it's always been clean, quiet, and reasonably priced. Plus both the former and current owners have been very helpful regard info on the area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Could not have asked for more. Saw the reviews that this place was not new, not fancy, and not expensive, but neat and clean. What more could you want? We learned that this facility is run by a couple that moved from Las Vegas and "bought themselves a job" in Monticello. Everyone was helpful and friendly. If you are looking for a clean decent place to stay this is it. We have traveled all around the AZ and UT scenic areas hiking and backpacking and this is one of the nicest places we have found to stay. We will definitely return to use the Monticello Inn as "base camp" again. Its almost like having family in the lodging business.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JerryC258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Old style roadside motel. Price was reasonable for a holiday weekend. $60 is typical double mon-holiday. Ladies at front desk very helpful. Wifi fast, but weak in our room, which they told us out front.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raferguson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monticello
0.6 mi away
Inn at the Canyons
Inn at the Canyons
#1 of 6 in Monticello
482 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#6 of 6 in Monticello
212 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wayside Motor Inn
Wayside Motor Inn
#5 of 6 in Monticello
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
Stone Lizard Lodging
Stone Lizard Lodging
#1 of 7 in Blanding
513 reviews
18.6 mi away
Four Corners Inn
Four Corners Inn
#5 of 7 in Blanding
172 reviews
0.3 mi away
Canyonlands Motor Inn
Canyonlands Motor Inn
#4 of 6 in Monticello
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Monticello Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Monticello Inn

Address: 164 E Central Street, Monticello, UT 84535
Location: United States > Utah > Monticello
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Monticello
Price Range: $43 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Monticello Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your The Monticello Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Monticello Hotel
The Monticello Inn Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing