We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perhaps older, but better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Blue Mountain Horsehead Inn
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Monticello
phoenix
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“perhaps older, but better”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

the property is older, but very clean & the staff is very friendly, helpful & knowledgable about the area. had frig, micro & free wi-fi, which all worked just fine. the bed was very comfy & i'm very picky! simple breakfast in the morning was good. on the main drag, but surprisingly quiet. very affordable compared to some others in the area. i am passing thru again next week & plan on booking a room again when i go to check out!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jogator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    78
    30
    12
    14
See reviews for
30
79
22
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Thanks to the local knowledge of the owners we had a fabulous trip to the canyon area. They gave us some suggestions to alter our itinerary and it made our stay! The rooms are simple and clean. The air cond was a little loud but it was easily worth the low cost.
We were originally going to stay in Moab but it was sold out with a large noisy ATV event.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back are nicer and quieter. We had no highway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drbackup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

It was ok, not really bad, not perfect. I saw worse motels, this one was ok. Typical motel, large clean rooms, elder furniture, no smell, friendly kind staff at reception. Free wifi, fridge, microvawe, cabel tv, free breakfast (waffles, bread, butter, coffee was not very strong, very good orange juice, fruits).
If I can compare (bad luck for Blue mountain ...inn) the night before in Ramada Holbrook, we got for same 66 usd in Ramada a better newer motel with pool, whirpool and fitness than in Monticello. Just wondering, how can some motels provide a very different value for very same price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Majkeel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

I stayed in Monticello rather than Moab because I wanted to spend a day in the Needles section of Canyonlands. If that is your story, reconsider and stay in Moab! It's further, but there is nothing in Monticello. It is a random little town with nothing in the way of interest, restaurants etc.

That said, for a cheap place to stay, the Blue Mountain was great. I'm surprised it's not the #1 choice for this town. The owner was friendly and helpful. My room was comfortable with new carpet, new beds and a great price. I was surprisingly pleased.

Like other independent properties, you'll get a better price by walking in or by calling versus using an online booking system like booking.com or similar. Owners have to pay a premium to be on those and I know that this property will give you a better price than you'll find online.

Room Tip: Like other independent properties, you'll get a better price by walking in or by calling versus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eyeterri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

Expected to stay one day here and eventually left four days later, Found the rooms clean, affordable and very much pleased with the staff. Located withing a short drive from so much history and within reach of many natural attractions, still did not have enough time before moving on.

Very pleased.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

We just stayed for short one night. The owner was very friendly and helpful for the directions where we should go to watch around the area. Thank you! I can say the facility is not new but kept cleaned.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paradise_island72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

The rooms are large, beds are very comfortable, everything was very clean !. We had excellent internet service and the people at the front desk told us some great spots to visit and were very helpful and nice ~! I loved this place ! They had a view, horses in the back, A wonderful place to stay but closed during the winter months !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FrancesIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monticello
0.3 mi away
Inn at the Canyons
Inn at the Canyons
#1 of 7 in Monticello
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Monticello Inn
The Monticello Inn
#3 of 7 in Monticello
3.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
2.0 mi away
Canyonlands Lodging
Canyonlands Lodging
#2 of 7 in Monticello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#5 of 7 in Monticello
3.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wayside Motor Inn
Wayside Motor Inn
#7 of 7 in Monticello
3.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
18.9 mi away
Stone Lizard Lodging
Stone Lizard Lodging
#1 of 7 in Blanding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Mountain Horsehead Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Mountain Horsehead Inn

Property: Blue Mountain Horsehead Inn
Address: 248 North Main Street, Monticello, UT 84535 (Formerly National 9 Inn)
Location: United States > Utah > Monticello
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Monticello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Blue Mountain Horsehead Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Blue Mountain Horsehead Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Mountain Horsehead Inn Monticello, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing