We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax and enjoy the Grist Mill Inn - Monticello”
Review of Grist Mill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grist Mill Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Monticello B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2011

This place is a treat, Crystal is competent, efficient and very pleasant. The rooms are superb and the location is perfect for exploring Canyonlands National Park. The building is an old flour mill, it is spacious as well appointed. Monticello has a lot of accommodation but this would have to be the best. We loved it, even stayed on an extra day it is so good.

Room Tip: No bad rooms, take what comes and relax
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aaa_bbb_kkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 183 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2011

We chose to stay in Monticello for 1 night because Moab was pretty much booked out for that particular night (Labor Day weekend) and this way we were also closer to the Needles District of Canyonlands National Park, which we wanted to explore.
Monticello itself is a quiet small town and this B&B seems to be the best choice for lodging. Crystal was a very good hostess and also had some good advice for us on where to go for dinner. The house itself is charming and our room on the top floor was very comfortable and clean. Breakfast was good and kept us going for the day. After our short stay here we moved on to Moab to be closer to other parts of Canyonlands and also Arches NP. Looking back we are glad we were forced to look for a room outside of Moab that first night and thought this was the perfect combination. So if you want to see the Needles district or other attractions a little further down south and you want to safe yourself some driving after a long day we definitely recommend this place for a relaxed evening.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaBuMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

A great find. Welcome change on our vacation from hotels. Crystal was a wonderful hostess and great cook. Breakfast was awesome! Rooms were large and comfortable, Yes, we thought the bears were kind of weird. But, it is suppose to be a cabin themed room. Enjoyed talking with other guests at breakfast as well as our host and hostess. Only thing missing was a hairdryer in the bathroom.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Utah is a fantastic state with amazing landscapes! Monticello is nothing special. Last year me and my husband stayed in Moab (about 1 hour from Monticello) that offers a lot of services (pubs, restaurants, shops, hotels) but we decided to change and selected Monticello on the map. Once in Monticello we discovered a very small town at the cross of 2 main streets, no one around....it was a little bit scary! so, if you find yourself in Monticello (by mistake or not), you definitely have to stay at Grist Mill Inn B&B. You'll feel safe. The owner is lovely, when we were there she had a 6 month baby, so cute!
Our room (king size bed) was enormous, the forniture was a little bit weird, it has an old armchair with a bear on it and 3 trees close to it...! funny!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iaiaaaaaaaaaaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2011

My husband & daughter recently spent 4 days at the Grist Mill Inn, and it was a wonderful place to come to after a busy day seeing the sights. Ben and Crystal are a charming young couple eager to please and have made it so you feel right at home. There is a guest fridge so you can store all your food, they have made their kitchen available so you can cook your supper in case you are too tired after a long day. The accomodations are right for the money, and breakfasts are hearty and delicious. They made us feel like family not guests.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank veber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Felix W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cristina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monticello
0.6 mi away
Inn at the Canyons
Inn at the Canyons
#1 of 6 in Monticello
485 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Monticello Inn
The Monticello Inn
#3 of 6 in Monticello
309 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wayside Motor Inn
Wayside Motor Inn
#4 of 6 in Monticello
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#6 of 6 in Monticello
213 reviews
18.7 mi away
Stone Lizard Lodging
Stone Lizard Lodging
#1 of 7 in Blanding
518 reviews
18.6 mi away
Four Corners Inn
Four Corners Inn
#5 of 7 in Blanding
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grist Mill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grist Mill Inn

Address: 64 S 300 E, Monticello, UT 84535
Location: United States > Utah > Monticello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Monticello
Price Range: $56 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grist Mill Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Grist Mill Inn!Previously the Monticello Flour Mill, The Grist Mill Inn is the perfect setting for a quaint and unique Bed and Breakfast. It is an ideal couple or family get-away haven. To help guests in having the best experience possible, provided are seven individualized bedrooms, all containing a private en suite bathroom. A hot breakfast is also served each morning in our spacious Dining Area. If preferred to stay inside the cozy Inn, a mini-Theater Room is available to all guests. Also for the book lovers and located on the 3rd floor is a Library Nook for your imagination to travel!The Grist Mill Inn loves having large events held at the location. The possibilities are endless! From family reunions to weddings, The Grist Mill Inn is the perfect place to host your next special event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Grist Mill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grist Mill Inn Monticello, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing