We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food, service and decor”
Review of Runnin' Iron Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Monticello
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Runnin' Iron Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Monticello B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 25, 2012

We just returned from a 2500 mile expedition through the SW. We had our best meal of the whole trip at Bob Musselman's Line Camp Steakhouse. The steaks were excellent. Thank you "cook" as I did not find out your name. Given it was early March, we were the only ones in the diningroom that night. Bob and the staff were a delight to talk to and provided great service. I assume that in the "tourist" season they are packed, so suggest you make a reservation.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
There are newer reviews for Runnin' Iron Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 49 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2012

I stay at the Runnin Iron every time i visit the area. The cleanest rooms available and the rustic old west setting is just the experience i want and worth the price. Best steak house in Utah too! go to dinner HUNGERY
The rooms are quaint they do memory foam bed toppers very comfortable but no private tv or phones in rooms but that is ok i go on vacation to get away from all that stuff anyway. there is a community tv and dvd player if you want. Bob the owner and operator is a character and takes pride in his establishment, but he is kind of an old fart as well. if you are willing to play along with some of the funnier aspects of the Inn your stay will be so much fun. He dose not like late check ins, and i have seen him turn rude people away. But he loves to meet and talk to new people and Bob has the best big fish stories to go along with the movie prop, cattle ranch and other wild west stories. He also has an impressive collection of antiques and Indian artifacts.
I recommend that everyone stay and eat hear, plan to arrive before 9 pm and bring your appetite.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobbyJane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

We stayed one night in the Madam Roz room and it's only since revisitng photos and websites to write all the reviews from our trip I see from the Runnin Iron website that the room was supposed to have 2 Queen beds. It didn't; just the one you can see in the various photos here on Tripadvisor. Our welcome was fine and the room OK - even though there was only one bed I'm pleased we went for one of the more expensive rooms as I took a peek into one of the smaller rooms the next morning and they ARE cozy. We only ever use the TV for the weather channel so no TV didn't bother us but we do like to have decent seating in the room and the settee was a nightmare - perhaps it was a sofa-bed, which would explain the apparent lack of second bed, and sofa-beds are notoriously uncomfortable seating. The room was adequately clean but there wasn't any wow factor to the experience. We did sit outside on the balcony for a while but there's no real view !

We ate in the restaurant where there was only one other table occupied, by non-residents, it turned out we were the only residents that night.

The food was OK - the steak was all right but not exceptional and with garlic bread and beans and potatoes it was all a bit too much. The food turned up in a strange order too. We're used to the American habit of salad first but then the garlic bread arrived and then the beans but then nothing happened for ages so we wondered if we were supposed to eat the bread and beans as a seperate course. Then the steaks and their accompaniments turned up and we were asked if we would like sauted mushrooms and we said we would. Well it didn't bother us that we were served straight from the saucepan but these mushrooms were stewed not sauted and if they were fresh then they certainly didn't taste like it. I had to leave most of them.

We were presented with the bill for the room with the food bill at the end of the meal which wasn't a problem but the 'helpful' calculation of 20% and 25% for 'service' was on the full amount. Luckily we're OK at mental arithmetic and worked out 15% on the food bill we didn't feel the service was much more than perfunctory. We didn't realise when we went to bed that we were the only residents and the next morning the place was a bit eerie as it was deserted. I guess if we'd had a problem and shouted or knocked on other building's doors there might have been someone around but it felt weird to us.

I should have said we managed to miss the turning on our first pass along the road as the sign doesn't mention Runnin Iron, just says Inn, Camping and Steakhouse. Also we weren't invited to take advantage of the seating area which we assume is for residents ?
All in all, not our best accommodation, nothing awful but just not awesome. I won't add any photos, the ones already on here show the potential the Inn has, pity it didn't 'do it' for us.

Room Tip: Madam Roz and Shady Lady have much more floor space and balconies.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rojanich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

I was first charged by Murdock Rental on my credit card before I got there. Have no idea about the name. Then the management there charged me again when I got there. When I called about the first charge, a guy called Jerry -- said it's for this hotel. Then they denied the second charge and asked me to show proof. The place was fine but the billing issues were really time consuming!!!!! will not stay there again and will definitely be care next time.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
2  Thank Anding s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

I grew up in Monticello and brought the family back after 35 years to show them around. This hotel is great. Very quiet. Nice people. We arrived late Sunday afternoon. Bob was very accommodating. Rooms were spacious and clean. If you are looking for a place to stay that is outside the cookie cutter approach that most places take---this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 60403Mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

I stumbled on a review of the Runnin' Iron Inn on here before our trip and immediately decided that this somewhat offbeat place would be perfect after a long drive across southern Utah. We informed the owners of our expected arrival time and made dinner reservations. Proximity to the Needles District of Canyonlands was an added bonus.

We arrived at 7:30PM and after getting settled in our very comfortable room (upstairs from the dining room) we went to the dining room for dinner. The owners allowed us to bring in our wine (this is Utah, with different liquor laws than many are used to) and they uncorked it and provided glasses. We both had the filet mignon. The steak, salad and extras were superb.

Having read on another review that breakfast was not served in the restaurant, we came prepared with our own food. The owners had coffee ready for us and allowed us to use one of the tables in the dining room for our breakfast. They could not have been more accommodating and we enjoyed talking with them during dinner and breakfast.

This is a most unique property and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. We will definitely stay here again when we return to Canyonlands.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelingBear47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2011

We think this is probably an interesting place to stay. It certainly looked fascinating. Sadly, the management is a bit strange and we didn't get to stay as we had hoped for two nights. We had picked it specifically for its proximity to the Canyonlands Needles District - closest lodging by far.

Arriving at 11 p.m. as planned, we were greeted by a note that we would have to find another room. Hmm, strange customer service. Never encountered that one before.

Knowing in advance we would be arriving late, we talked to the manager who gave us explicit on finding our room and just asked us to be quiet and not disturb the other guests. There was no effort whatsoever to assist us with our rooms there, despite the advance arrangements.

The good news is that the manager did ultimately agree to get us a room in Monticello and we were introduced (again) to the Grist Mill Inn which was fantastic.

I suspect this place is interesting and fun, and we heard great reviews of the steakhouse. But definitely go there with an open mind and pay close attention to the rules. This is not a typical hotel, which might be a big plus. Sadly, we didn't get to experience it and we will definitely not go back.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TumbleweedandCactus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monticello hotels
16.0 mi away
Inn at the Canyons
Inn at the Canyons
#1 of 6 in Monticello
478 reviews
16.5 mi away
The Monticello Inn
The Monticello Inn
#3 of 6 in Monticello
303 reviews
16.5 mi away
Wayside Motor Inn
Wayside Motor Inn
#5 of 6 in Monticello
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#6 of 6 in Monticello
211 reviews
16.5 mi away
Grist Mill Inn
Grist Mill Inn
#1 of 2 in Monticello
178 reviews
18.2 mi away
Canyonlands Lodging
Canyonlands Lodging
#1 of 5 in Monticello
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Runnin' Iron Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Runnin' Iron Inn

Address: Rte 191, 8 miles north of Monticello, Monticello, UT
Location: United States > Utah > Monticello
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Monticello
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Runnin' Iron Inn Monticello, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing