We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lived up to our great expectations” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Runnin' Iron Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Monticello
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Runnin' Iron Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Monticello B&B and Inns
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Lived up to our great expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2011

I stumbled on a review of the Runnin' Iron Inn on here before our trip and immediately decided that this somewhat offbeat place would be perfect after a long drive across southern Utah. We informed the owners of our expected arrival time and made dinner reservations. Proximity to the Needles District of Canyonlands was an added bonus.

We arrived at 7:30PM and after getting settled in our very comfortable room (upstairs from the dining room) we went to the dining room for dinner. The owners allowed us to bring in our wine (this is Utah, with different liquor laws than many are used to) and they uncorked it and provided glasses. We both had the filet mignon. The steak, salad and extras were superb.

Having read on another review that breakfast was not served in the restaurant, we came prepared with our own food. The owners had coffee ready for us and allowed us to use one of the tables in the dining room for our breakfast. They could not have been more accommodating and we enjoyed talking with them during dinner and breakfast.

This is a most unique property and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. We will definitely stay here again when we return to Canyonlands.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelingBear47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    10
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
10
25
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
388 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2011

We think this is probably an interesting place to stay. It certainly looked fascinating. Sadly, the management is a bit strange and we didn't get to stay as we had hoped for two nights. We had picked it specifically for its proximity to the Canyonlands Needles District - closest lodging by far.

Arriving at 11 p.m. as planned, we were greeted by a note that we would have to find another room. Hmm, strange customer service. Never encountered that one before.

Knowing in advance we would be arriving late, we talked to the manager who gave us explicit on finding our room and just asked us to be quiet and not disturb the other guests. There was no effort whatsoever to assist us with our rooms there, despite the advance arrangements.

The good news is that the manager did ultimately agree to get us a room in Monticello and we were introduced (again) to the Grist Mill Inn which was fantastic.

I suspect this place is interesting and fun, and we heard great reviews of the steakhouse. But definitely go there with an open mind and pay close attention to the rules. This is not a typical hotel, which might be a big plus. Sadly, we didn't get to experience it and we will definitely not go back.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TumbleweedandCactus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City, Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2011

We stayed one night and ate dinner there. The rib eye steak was huge and absolutley great quality! My husband had the orange-maple salmon with pecans and said it was the best he'd ever had. The salad, the garlic toast, the beans, the mushrooms, pickled asparagus, potatoes, the friendly service... everything was superb! The best! Everyone there was just so friendly, happy, and helpful. It was comfy like home except we were catered to for everything. We might just drive there (about 400 miles) for supper alone! And they saved our leftover food in the fridge for us... it was just as good for breakfast! The rooms are basic but so clean and comfortable. There is no phone, TV, hairdryer in the room so be prepared. The Inn has lots of character, antiques, bear skins, pottery, traps, mining things, saddles, old west stuff. It's a great place and a definite go back to!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SunCitySojourners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2011

Found this wonderful western experience on Tripadvisor and I was not disappointed. The owners, Bob and Jane, are delightful people who strive to make your time with them special. The rooms are rustic but meticulously clean. This is not an inn as much as an invitation to stay at a friends home. Maybe you have to be mature to not be upset with a lack of a TV, hair dryer, or designer shampoos in your room but then you would miss a world class experience. We came on a Sunday and had made a dinner reservation at their beautiful restaurant and found that they usually didn't cook on Sundays. We felt quilty about the mix up but Bob insisted on cooking just for us (and Jane). The evening was truly magical and my wife and I will remember it our entire lives.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrGary105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logan, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2011

My wife and boys stayed here for about 3-4 days and enjoyed every minute! My wife and I ate at the steakhouse with my in-laws and enjoyed the food and western humour of Bob (owner)...
Everyone should meet Bob because he's such a funny character!

This place was a perfect place to go on day expeditions to Canyonlands National Park, Moab, Arches National Park, Monticello, and Devil's Canyon without being surrounded by touristy time-wasters (this is nature at it's finest!).

All services are offered in Monticello without dealing with the congested traffic in Moab.

The Runnin' Iron Inn is also the Linecamp Steakhouse and the Roughlock R.V. Park all rolled into one. They offer accomidations from a single room, a family size Lodge, or R.V. / Tents.

We plan on going back and are excited to visit more of the beautiful canyons and hike this amazing area! Totally worth it! -G.

Room Tip: Call ahead and talk with Jane or Bob.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GVEARL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2010

Stayed here after reading reviews on Trip Advisor - what a great spot! We had a lovely room with big bed and private balcony. Restaurant was A+. We stayed one night, and both of us enjoyed a big ribsteak dinner - total bill for bed and board was a little over $130. Wish we had planned to stay more than one night.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EasyWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
689 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 568 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2010

They only want $59 a night for this? Wow!

Having been to some grotty places on road trips in the US, the Runnin Iron Inn was like an oasis. The welcome could not have been better and we got some great travel advice which we took the next day (we were too tired to go out again that day).

Our room was very clean, brimming with character and had a lovely balcony. There were no toiletries as you might expect in an inn, so make sure you have shampoo at least. The bed was a little too soft and springy for my liking, so I was a bit stiff in the morning, but I did sleep soundly for 9 hours!

We also had steak in the restaurant and I would recommend buying a bottle of wine as there is no corkage to open it and beers are pricey at $3-4 per bottle. Steak was good, but if you don't like pepper do say beforehand. The steak is served with an excellent salad and tasty garlic bread.

They accept credit cards, but not Amex (rates are sky high for them apparently).

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank masaccio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monticello hotels
18.2 mi away
Canyonlands Lodging
Canyonlands Lodging
#2 of 7 in Monticello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
15.9 mi away
Inn at the Canyons
Inn at the Canyons
#1 of 7 in Monticello
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
16.5 mi away
The Monticello Inn
The Monticello Inn
#3 of 7 in Monticello
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#5 of 7 in Monticello
3.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
16.5 mi away
Wayside Motor Inn
Wayside Motor Inn
#7 of 7 in Monticello
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
16.5 mi away
Grist Mill Inn
Grist Mill Inn
#1 of 2 in Monticello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Runnin' Iron Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Runnin' Iron Inn

Property: Runnin' Iron Inn
Address: Rte 191, 8 miles north of Monticello, Monticello, UT
Location: United States > Utah > Monticello
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Monticello
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Runnin' Iron Inn Monticello, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing