We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Inn at the Canyons

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inn at the Canyons
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Monticello
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

Small town inn with big city service. Got an extra soft blanket with no difficulty, husband likes air conditioning. Decent breakfast in the morning. And bonus, saw deer in the fields behind the inn at sunset!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    183
    76
    22
    8
See reviews for
139
175
31
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zwolle, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
76 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

In this motel you get an excellent room and a good breakfast. It is new and comfortable. It has the build for a 5 star motel. For us the problem was that that there is a problem with the wind. We sleep, if posssible, with the window opened. In the middle of the night we woke up because the door of the room was banging because of a heavy draught to the corridor. Putting a towel between the door and the door post helped a bit, but we didn't get a quiet sleep. Something is not right in the closing of the doors from the corridors to the outside. When I mentioned this the next morning to the staff, I did not get the feeling that they thought this was a problem. Maybe here lies a chance for improvement, because in the breakfast area the attention of the staff was also minimal.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank msp60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckeye, Arizona
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

Seen previous reviews and for the most part the reviews seemed to be good, so we thought we would try it. Since this is a small town options are limited, so that needs to be taken into consideration. The rooms were a little outdated, but very clean, and the service was good. No coffee pot, but the lobby was open at 6am, easy access to go down and get coffee. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here one night to visit Needles. So glad we chose this hotel once we arrived in Monticello and saw the other hotels. The rooms are clean and spacious. The staff very friendly. There's an indoor pool/hot tub if you like that sort of thing. The continental breakfast was usual fare. Only complaint was excessive use of styrofoam instead of biodegradable or re-usable dishes.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StrayCatsCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

The room was clean, the continental breakfast was fine, it was quiet. The only issue we had was the wireless signal was so weak it was useless. We had to go into the hallway or breakfast area to get a signal. That was annoying, but since we only stayed one night we just accepted it.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MJRinNV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rio rancho, nm
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

Monticello is very limited for options in lodging so overall this was not a bad deal. We paid 89.99 through Booking.com and received a clean room which was nicely appointed. Hot tub and pool area were very well maintained including all the live plants decorating the pool room. Desk clerk was accommodating when we requested a ground floor room (no elevator to the second floor). We were a bit surprised to come out of the pool area to see the clerk with 4-5 of her family members sitting in the guest lobby watching TV. Breakfast was nothing special but adequate. The only down side is that I know I left my phone charger plugged into the wall and when I called later that day (same day we checked out) they said no one had found it. Really?? Also be aware dining choices in Monticello on a Sunday night are VERY limited...only 2 places open. The room key advertised free delivery for a local pizza place but they were also closed on Sundays.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ny2nm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
73 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

2 big cons, the worst ever!
1.We booked a DELUXE King with AARP rate at USD110 +t. Checking-in, we asked why we got a regular King, the girl answered: all rooms have the same size, you only have the better view. Afterwards, we remarked that they actually had some Deluxe Kings... Julia at the reception said: 'well, these are occupied or accessible'. It was impossible to give us the Deluxe we booked: 'I'am so sorry about this'. Upon our insisting to get a refund of the difference, it was really hard to get satisfaction. First, we should be refunded USD10 +t ., although the difference was 15 +t. It took a long while to get a rude answer 'you'll get USD15 + t.'. I argued that the new rate was 90 +t and we were obliged to pay 95, quite uncorrect again. Further I asked to be granted some compensation and get a better rate, this was not at all possible.
They broke their contract with us and we were unable to cancel. Such practices are NOT DONE IN BUSINESS. Never.
It gave us a very bad feeling about this uncorrect, unprofessional hotel,
2.Of course, we wanted to cancel another reservation for some days later. You can book very easily on their own website - now they go via Booking.com - you cannot cancel yourself this booking. Julia did it for us and o whaw, no written cancellation was possible, no email,just writing a number on our reservation, with a smile 'don't you trust me?'. Maybe you, not this hotel was our answer.
In the evening, we insisted again upon getting a written cancellation. Impossible! So we went to the POLICE DEPARTMENT of Monticello to complain about these fraudulous practices and oh wonder: the next morning the cancellation was there together with the invoice for a standard King, at a too high rate for that moment, but we got a refund at least.
Do they do this because we are foreigners, special rate??? Anyway, this hotel was the baddest, the only fraudulent of all during our trips through over more than 25 States in the past years.
There are no good choices in Monticello, you find 1 regular hotel in Blanding: the Quality Inn, only a 20 min. drive from Monticello. And it is good price/quality.
This hotel is fraudulent in any case they can. They teach their staff to lie and be uncorrect with their guests.
Management: go elsewhere and learn first of all a correct behaviour and stop managing a hotel, you are not at all capable of doing so. Look for a job or better: stay at home and do not cheat upon other people.
The rates are further too high for the oldfashioned , bad smelling rooms.
GET THIS HOTEL CLOSED ASAP.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vondel33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monticello
2.2 mi away
Canyonlands Lodging
Canyonlands Lodging
#2 of 7 in Monticello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Monticello Inn
The Monticello Inn
#3 of 7 in Monticello
3.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#5 of 7 in Monticello
3.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Stone Lizard Lodging
Stone Lizard Lodging
#1 of 7 in Blanding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wayside Motor Inn
Wayside Motor Inn
#7 of 7 in Monticello
3.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
19.0 mi away
Four Corners Inn
Four Corners Inn
#5 of 7 in Blanding
3.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at the Canyons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Canyons

Property: Inn at the Canyons
Address: 533 North Main Street, Monticello, UT 84535
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Monticello
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Monticello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn at the Canyons 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect accommodations for your next Canyonlands, Utah vacation, our recently renovated lodging is nestled between the beautiful backdrop of the San Juan Mountains and Canyonlands National Park, near picturesque Moab, Utah, Inn at the Canyons awaits to fulfill your every expectation. New beds, indoor pool, clean, great service and family owned! We do allow pets, please call the hotel for details and to register for a pet room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Inn at the Canyons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Canyons Hotel Monticello
Days Inn Monticello
Monticello Days Inn
Inn At The Canyons Monticello, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing