We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE place to stay in Monticello/Moab”
Review of Inn at the Canyons

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn at the Canyons
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Monticello
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 1, 2011

The most friendly, considerate and helpful staff I've seen at any hotel! New, nicely renovated rooms and pool. The beds are great! Clean sheets, plenty of pillows and the rooms are large and clean. Bathrooms are big and the massage shower is great. The owner is around and makes a point to see everyone and check on your stay, very down to earth, caring guy! Best rated hotel in Monticello for a reason. If you planning a trip to the area, staying at this hotel will make your trip that much better! Did I mention that this is the MOST military friendly hotel I've ever stayed at!? My stay was wicked awesome and I will absolutely stay here on my next trip!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (478)
There are newer reviews for Inn at the Canyons
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

356 - 362 of 478 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2011

The rooms are renovated and huge. Beds and carpets are new. The bath is large with a shower massage. Tina the counter clerk was very friendly and helpful. The owner happened to be working the graveyard shift when we came in and was a very nice salt of the earth kind of guy. A sign says they don't take pets but apparently they now have pet friendly rooms because they were very accomodating to our little four pound puppy. The price was great. Definitely would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lorin g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2011

I used to stay at the San Juan inn over in Mexican Hat, but when they refused to honor their winter rate I opted for Monticello as a gateway location for both Monument Valley and the Moab area. That's when I found the Inn at the canyons and I'm sure glad I did. The room rate was half of what I am usually charged in Mexican hat for countless more perks: free morning breakfast and heated indoor pool and jacuzzi. The lady at the check in was the friendliest I have encountered in a very long time and the room was spotless. I don't leave many reviews, but I am surely glad I'm leaving this because this hotel and the people who run it deserve it. Thank you, I will defenitely come back VERY soon!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NYCAlfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

I spent one night at the Inn at the Canyons on a recent business trip and was glad we chose to stay here. While the background decor of the room (wall coverings, basic furniture, etc.) was standard and somewhat dated, the room was clean, there were no lingering odors (the entire property is non-smoking), and the bed I slept in was wonderful: comfortable to sleep in with bedding that felt and looked a big step above what I had expected. One of my co-workers was less enthusiastic about the beds in her room, so I wondered whether I had been given a more up-to-date room than she had. I used the wireless internet with no problems at all, and data speeds were great.

The bathroom was immaculate. It had a nice tile floor, and the walls were finished with a pretty antiqued texture. The bathtub itself looked a bit old but the shower curtain and shower head were new and comfortable. The bath towels were a bit on the small side, but it didn't really bother me. I used the hot tub and was really glad to be able to soak at the end of a long, busy day. I liked the pool area, especially the tropical plants. Breakfast was nothing out of the ordinary (bagels, the usual hot drinks, toast, etc.) but met my needs. Out the window of my room, I could see a lot of deer in the fields behind the hotel. Overall, I enjoyed my stay and would definitely choose to stay here again under the same circumstances.

Room Tip: Any upstairs room on the side that's away from the road will be relatively quiet and will have a...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RJSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We have traveled quite a lot in the western U.S. and have never stayed in a place that provided more overall value. The owners (Jared and Heidi) are actively involved in the Inn's operation and it shows. The place is spotless and the staff is as cordial and helpful as any we have ever encountered. By chance, we arrived near the end of the tourist season, so we didn't experience a large number of people in the common areas (e.g., breakfast), but I doubt it would have made much difference. The place is just top-notch, with comfortable beds and plenty of water pressure in the showers. From the Inn, we drove to and hiked Canyonlands National Park and also drove over to Natural Bridges National Monument. In both cases, the drives were easy, although they take about an hour each way. That said, because the Parks are relatively remote, there really are few - if any - closer launch points. Monticello is a one-stop-light town, but it too seems to be full of friendly people. We visited a couple of restaurants, the library, and a washateria and found nothing but good service and helpful people. Frankly, we enjoyed our stay at the Inn and recommend it highly. -- Jim & Faye, Memphis, TN

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

My husband and I were traveling with my brother on a hiking trip from Moab, Utah, and onward to Durango, and spent a night here. We were quite pleasantly surprised by the quality of the room in this little town. Our room looked out over a field with mule deer grazing in the early evening. A nice surprise. We ate across the road at a local open area restaurant. Simple but good food. If you are traveling this area, I'd pick this hotel. Breakfast is simple.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travel-Bug-369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Went to Monticello for a family reunion and stayed here for 2 days. The room was big and clean and so was the indoor pool. (which was nice and warm) The manager, Tina made sure we were taken care of as did all the staff! The kids are still talking about the pool! We will stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank benny a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monticello
0.6 mi away
The Monticello Inn
The Monticello Inn
#3 of 6 in Monticello
303 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#6 of 6 in Monticello
211 reviews
19.1 mi away
Stone Lizard Lodging
Stone Lizard Lodging
#1 of 7 in Blanding
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Wayside Motor Inn
Wayside Motor Inn
#5 of 6 in Monticello
136 reviews
19.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn &Suites
Rodeway Inn &Suites
#4 of 7 in Blanding
268 reviews
2.2 mi away
Canyonlands Lodging
Canyonlands Lodging
#1 of 5 in Monticello
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at the Canyons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Canyons

Address: 533 North Main Street, Monticello, UT 84535
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Monticello
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Monticello
Price Range: $89 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn at the Canyons 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect accommodations for your next Canyonlands, Utah vacation, our recently renovated lodging is nestled between the beautiful backdrop of the San Juan Mountains and Canyonlands National Park, near picturesque Moab, Utah, Inn at the Canyons awaits to fulfill your every expectation. New beds, indoor pool, clean, great service and family owned! We do allow pets, please call the hotel for details and to register for a pet room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Inn at the Canyons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Canyons Hotel Monticello
Days Inn Monticello
Monticello Days Inn
Inn At The Canyons Monticello, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing