We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fajitas!”

Tarahumara Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 18 Restaurants in Midway
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Description: Tarahumara Restaurant is an authentic Mexican restaurant that serves fresh food daily. We provide outdoor (seasonal) or indoor seating for our restaurant, cantina and bakery. Our restaurant has counter service in our restaurant and bakery, and a full wait staff in our Cantina. Face painting is free for children every Tuesday, and kids are always welcome to draw and have fun! We put lots of crayons on every table in authentic Mexican food cans for the children to use (Please don't confuse these cans for food! They are only decorations that we purchased as a creative way to hold the crayons. Someone actually accused us that they weren't decorations, but we like them and so do our regulars so we're keeping them!). Our adults-only Cantina offers a full bar as well as a full-menu. We also offer live music in our Cantina, Friday through Sunday. Come see us for great food, fun, and maybe even a little dancing ;)
Lindon, Utah
Level Contributor
96 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great fajitas!”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

If you are looking for a nice, quiet restaurant - this isn't in. You walk up to the counter and order your food and then you go find your seat. The fajitas were good and so was the service!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sheri2567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    104
    38
    27
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Utah
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“By Far Our Favorite Local Restaurant”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We are "regulars" at Tarahumaras. It reminds us of dinners we've eaten in Rocky Point, Mexicco for years. This is not like a Cafe Rio, although I like that too. This is very authentic. My favorite dishes to order are the chicken or shrimp tacos and the mango, shrimp salad with passion fruit dressing. They marinate their chicken overnight in some kind of lime juice marinade that comes out juicy every time and it's cooked without oil so it's very healthy. I usually won't order shrimp unless I'm on the coast, but theirs always taste great and they are huge. Their shrimp cocktail appetizer is made the way they serve it in Mexico too. Instead of "American" shrimp cocktail where you have chilled shrimp and a sauce to dip it in, "Mexican" shrimp cocktail serves their shrimp in salsa with chopped avocado. It's served on crackers in Mexico, but I still prefer to eat mine with their amazing fresh chips. They have an extensive salsa bar and I am addicted to their homemade chips.

The owners are so warm and friendly. We usually eat on the "family side" of the restaurant since our kids love to eat there too. We also like to go with several couples and they have large tables to accommodate larger groups. When my husband and I go out on our own, we like the cantina side with live music on the weekends. In warmer weather, we love the outdoor seating under a large pergola. This is a popular restaurant, so we usually try to go for an early or late dinner to avoid much of a wait.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vacationmommaUtah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
137 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Best Mexican food in the area!”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We go to Tarahumara regularly and it is by far our favorite restaurant in the Midway/Heber area. They serve fresh Mexican food with awesome variations (duck tacos, shark tacos, etc). They have an awesome cantina side for adults that features live music on the weekends and a full bar. The margarita selection is vast and they are continually changing it to add new twists. We have never had to wait more than 15 minutes even on a crowded Friday night.

Service here is top-notch with friendly staff and extremely prompt service. The prices are right on the mark with affordable meals for the whole family. The salsa bar has 20+ salsas to choose from while you wait for your meal. Overall a great atmosphere and great food. No need to look anywhere else for Mexican food!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MontanaPilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“None better!”
Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

Had the charbroiled steak sandwich.
Was large, enought for two people and it was delicious! I love everything gab out this place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TEMPE AZ
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Exceeded every expectation!”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Visited this restaurant at the recommendation of a local. Having lived in Arizona, we're pretty accustomed to good Mexican food, but this was great. It's a casual venue with an amazing salsa bar. The entrees are delicious, with more than generous portions. Our server was friendly and we can't think of a single reason not to go back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DOT2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tarahumara Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tarahumara Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing