We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what it appears”
Review of Homestead Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Homestead Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Midway
Reviewed August 30, 2010

Resort is old and tired. Pet friendly rooms are located in one building which must be the oldest building in a very old resort. Room was clean but very dark and gloomy. Food was marginal. Pictures on web site must have been taken in a different era.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrankSandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (388)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

346 - 352 of 388 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2010

The Homestead Resort has everything you need for a beautiful and relaxing stay. Upon arriving the anxiety level drops way down. They will "bend over backwards" to make their guests happy ... seriously! They are professional and friendly ... at every level. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the food/service in both restaurants are of the highest quality. Thanks for a wonderful time!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keckersley52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2010

My 16 year old son and I stayed here enroute from Colorado to Salt Lake. A room with 2 queen beds was $129 on a Friday night. When we first arrived and saw the Americana kitschy decor and the stuffed animal on the bed...we were ready to run. But guests, especially families, come here precisely because it HASN'Tchanged a lot over the years. So I decided to walk the grounds and quietly observe. There were LOTS of families but there were also: couples, newlyweds, motorcycle Mamas and outdoorsy types.There is live music on the lawn on Saturday nights and kids were running around,rolling in the grass, playing tag, etc. while the adults were hanging out in lawn chairs tapping their toes. There are playgrounds, swimming pools, bike trails, the crater to swims/snorkel, volleyball, golf, etc. . We ate in the restaurant which was good. And yes, I could get a gass of wine ! It is just a few miles down the froad from Heber Cirty and the Historic Heber City Railroad trains. It is 18 miles from Park City and so you can easily head over there for shopping, thrill rides, etc. . Swimming in the crater was fun. I would have liked to have seen it 30 years ago.....

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelmutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2010

If you like the smell of lots of guests who smoke, this place is for you. The little cottages are very nice and the staff pleasant, but the cottages have balconies and patios to sit out on. They say No smoking, but I have never seen so many smokers sitting outside smoking in the evening and the morning. Our neighboring patios on either side both had a chain-smoker which completely ruined our vacation. We couldn't even enjoy the outdoors. They need to make the property NON-SMOKING. Or have a designated area on the property where all the smokers can gather.
The grounds were quite pretty with lovely trees - but we didn't get to experience that much. Nice large pool that opens at 6 AM for lap swimming.
I don't think we'll be back, since the place appears to cater to Smokers.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pasowine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

My wife and I enjoyed our getaway immensely! We were in an executive suite on the property. It was elegant, modern, spacious and homey. We have spent past anniversaries at the Sundance Resort and Stein Eriksen Lodge. All were wonderful in their own way. We hadn't stayed at the Homestead for many years and I was pleasantly surprised. The property compares in many ways with the others mentioned at a similar cost but has more activities close by and is wonderful for families too. The Homestead is less pretentious and more relaxed. We had a private patio to enjoy the wonderful weather in the afternoon we arrived. I played nine holes of golf early the next morning (something I couldn't do at the others) while my wife slept in and then we enjoyed Sunday brunch. Everything we tried was very delicious! We felt the food was even better than the brunch we had in Giltretind at Stein Eriksen's. The service was very friendly wherever we went. All in all we would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rmax62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2010

The hotel was very neat and something different! It is a bunch of buildings that must have made up a homestead at one point. We stayed in the barn, which was very cool. The bathroom wasn't as clean as it could be (hair on floor) and the a/c didn't work. We had someone come and fix it, but he fiddled with it for a while and said it was working, but it never got very cool. The restaurant (Fanny's) was very good! Unfortunately the gift shop wasn't open when we were there (Sunday night and Monday). The staff was great both at the crater and the hotel. The pools were the best! They had a huge indoor pool and hot tub with sauna, and an outdoor pool with both a mineral hot tub and a chemical hot tub. The crater was soooooo wonderful. It was warm and clear and very neat! We will be back and bring our extended family next time!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatherineNoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2010

The Homestead is a simple hotel and I mean that in a VERY POSITIVE way! The people here are warm and they sincerely appreciate your business. Old style lodging with many separate buildings, all of which have their own charm & distinctions. I've never stayed anywhere that had the rooms completely serviced and spotless before 10:00 A.M. but that happened here on both mornings of our stay. WOW! That's impressive. Our room in the Timp View Cottage building was huge with a fantastic bathroom that contained a jet tub. Lighted, covered porch. Felt like home & then some. The place is very clean & cozy. Quiet & relaxing, too. We were there for a wedding and the staff did a great job on that, too. Had a couple of meals @ Fanny's Grill. Good, hot food...and again...great service. The entire staff here just does a great job. If you're looking for a nice, quiet place to relax in a beautiful area, the Homestead Resort is a fantastic choice. We will definitely be back here many times in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PATHRCO7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Midway
6.9 mi away
The Chateaux Deer Valley
The Chateaux Deer Valley
#10 of 60 in Park City
605 reviews
6.8 mi away
Stein Eriksen Lodge Deer Valley
11.8 mi away
Sundial Lodge at Canyons Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Marriott's MountainSide
Marriott's MountainSide
#11 of 60 in Park City
603 reviews
6.6 mi away
Montage Deer Valley
Montage Deer Valley
#3 of 60 in Park City
874 reviews
4.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Heber Valley Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homestead Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homestead Resort

Address: 700 N Homestead Drive, Midway, UT 84049
Location: United States > Utah > Midway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Midway
Price Range: $128 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Homestead Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1886, Homestead Resort has been welcoming guests with warm hospitality and charming accommodations. Famous for the Homestead Crater, guests visit from all over the world to soak in the 96 degree geothermal spring water. Other onsite amenities include: two full service restaurants, conference and meeting facilities, 18 hole golf course, as well as expansive grounds for exploration and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Homestead Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead Resort Midway
Homestead Hotel Midway
Homestead Resort Utah/Midway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing