We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“pay close attention to your bill....” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Homestead Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Homestead Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Midway
Riverton, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“pay close attention to your bill....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Make sure upon check out you read over your bill. They may have some hidden charges you hadnt agreed upon or think you wont catch. Overall the stay was good until we checked out and had to go back to the front desk 3 times to get it fixed!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank JAD43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TripXpert1, Front Office Manager at Homestead Resort, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear JAD43,
I want to personally apologize as I am the one that attempted to correct your bill for you at check out. It's a rare occasion that an inclusive package such as yours doesn't automatically calculate properly and I'm so sorry that I didn't pay closer attention when I made the manual entries to try to fix it. I'm grateful that we found the problem right away and were able to correct it before finalizing your payment. While it certainly was not intentional, I can understand your concern at the possibility of being overcharged.
Since your departure I've reached out to the proper departments to have this package billing issue fixed in our system so it does not happen again. We make every effort to bill accurately but we also know that mistakes can and do happen. We ask and encourage every guest to closely review their bill, as we did with yours, before authorizing any payment be taken on their credit card.
The entire team here works very hard at creating wonderful memories and I just hope that my error didn't completely overshadow their efforts. We all appreciate your business very much and hope that you'll return to The Homestead again.
Xandria Salonen
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    95
    51
    33
    34
See reviews for
113
125
7
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed at Homestead for a family wedding in July. The setting was just beautiful - from the grounds, to the gardens, to spotting deer in the meadows!
We stayed in one of the cottages across the road from the main resort. Our accommodation was excellent, very spacious and clean. We had a balcony not just from the living area downstairs, but also from our bedroom upstairs, which gave us views of a brook and a pond.
There is a range of accommodation available to suit different needs and different budgets.
Some rooms could perhaps do with a upgrade, but our cottage was first class.

We found the staff very welcoming and extremely helpful. There was live music on the Friday evening - we thoroughly enjoyed sitting outside on the restaurant deck listening to it.
The buffet provided for the wedding was delicious.

We took the time to have a soak in the crater - very relaxing!
This really was a stunning location for a wedding. Hope we can go back one day.

Room Tip: Cottage rooms are lovely and perhaps most modern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dm12358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehi, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

If you book a room with the homestead resort, PLEASE make sure there will NOT be a wedding going on right outside your door. We had blaring music that felt like the beat was rocking our room about 20 ft outside our door. Homestead offers wedding and receptions, so beware of this.

The music continued strong until midnight. I tried calling the front desk multiple times to find out when the music would turn off, but they would never answer my call. I then used my cell phone (instead of the room phone), and low and behold, someone answered on the first ring! I told them my concern about the unreasonably loud music and they were of no help. They basically said they had no idea when it would turn off.

When we checked out the next morning, I told the lady at the front desk about how loud the music was outside our door and how we couldn't sleep with it going on, and she basically made us feel like we were ridiculous for wanting to go to bed before midnight!

The inconvenience of the music was one thing, but the way we were treated/the situation was handled, was not professional at all. It it was handled in a better way, we might have considered staying there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TripXpert1, Manager at Homestead Resort, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Jenn K,
I was disappointed to read about the details of your stay, both in your comment card email as well as outlined here in your review. The joyous celebration of one guest is certainly no more important than restful night's sleep of another and I'm so sorry if we gave you any other impression. Please accept my apology, both for the disturbance as well as how it was handled. Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Its feedback like yours that allows my team a true glimpse of the guests' perspective and there is no better tool when training our staff in customer service.
I do hope you will consider staying with us again. I know our team has learned from this and would love another opportunity to give you a memorable Homestead experience.
Sincerely,
Eric Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Midway hotels

Midvale, Utah
Level Contributor
110 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

We went to the Homestead for our anniversary. We stayed in the Shaker house.

The Homestead is a really nice resort. The grounds are pretty (we were there in October so it was decorated for fall). The drive up was fantastic with the fall colors! We went to the crater for a mineral soak, which was expensive but fun. The staff was pleasant and every singe maintenence person we passed said hello and asked how we were, which was nice.

We had dinner at Simon's. The food was good, the servers very friendly. Fanny's Grill was closed for the season when we went, so the food choices were limited unless we had wanted to go next door to their sister resort, The Zermatt. The prices there are really high, so we stuck with Simon's. They served breakfast at Simon's as well, and though it was a small menu the food was good.

The room we were in was on the upper level of the Shaker house. The small patio overlooks a central area with a big fountain. The room was just okay. You could defnitely tell that the place could use a makeover. The "art" on the walls was faded and not great. The paint on the building was peeling in places. But the room was clean and comfortable, if outdated.

All in all it was a nice stay. I can't really rave about it, but I can't really complain either. It was pleasant. I would like to stay in the winter and do a sleigh ride.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jedigirl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt lake Lake, Utah, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

I feel like this was set up for a fun weekend but was frustrating. I will be specific so this is constructive-
1. We checked in at 4pm to find out we have to be out 20 hours later?!?!
2. i could not get a massage until 11 AM the next day and had to extend the checkout 30 minutes and could not relax and use the other spa amenities that I paid for because i had to hurry and check out,
3. the room was musty and dark and dingy looking and just a little depressing and old
4. for the price we paid i feel like we overpaid for an average weekend get away
5. the crater people at check in were not efficient and not friendly at the little shack,
6. my husband played golf and enjoyed himself, he did not like that he and his friend were forced to play with 2 others to make a foursome, they did not like the pace of the people and golf costs enough that they should not HAVE to play with anyone
7. at checkout they did not have our promotion correct and were overcharged, then to fix it we had to stand at the front desk for over 30 minutes, when the simple thing would have been to credit us the 50 and then fixed it on the back end, the first lady (younger) had a little book that clearly showed the promotion but neither her or the other lady could figure it out, the other lady (older) was all annoyed and huffy puffy and told us we got it in the original price and we both had to refer her to the book you have behind the counter that clearly outlines it, as customer I should not have to do this.
regardless, it was a rough experience and we will not be staying there again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

With an attitude of 6,000 feet above sea level, Summer is very ideal retreat in Midway. The receptionists were very friendly and specially the lady who was from California. The rooms were
spacious, the garden may need more flowers ( Rose and Dalia can grow very well at this type of temperature). To dip in the crater is a must, my son and my family loved it.
The breakfast is a bit lacking variety. The check-in time is a bit to late ( at 4:00PM).
Overall, we enjoyed our stay there. I can bring my office staff there this year and I will introduce it to my clients from China.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We attended on Aug. 17, 2013 for my daughters wedding and had a wonderful event. The staff was very helpful and the gal that helped my daughter was a gem. The staff made every effort to deal with an untimely rain storm and it turned out perfectly. The food was excellent and was prepared and served very well. The grounds provided a perfect backdrop for a wonderful evening. The rooms were comfortable and spacious. Everything worked well. The only negative points that I have are that a few areas are showing some age. Like the covering on the upper floor walkway deck and a couple detail things in the bathroom. Nothing big though. We would definitely stay here again. I would also recommend your services for a wedding. Thanks for helping my daughter have her dream wedding.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DR-Lei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Midway
8.0 mi away
The St. Regis Deer Valley
The St. Regis Deer Valley
#13 of 60 in Park City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
14.0 mi away
Newpark Resort & Hotel
Newpark Resort & Hotel
#9 of 60 in Park City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
19.5 mi away
Daniels Summit Lodge
Daniels Summit Lodge
#1 of 5 in Heber City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Landmark Inn
6.9 mi away
Stein Eriksen Lodge Deer Valley
6.9 mi away
The Chateaux Deer Valley
The Chateaux Deer Valley
#4 of 60 in Park City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homestead Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homestead Resort

Property: Homestead Resort
Address: 700 N Homestead Drive, Midway, UT 84049
Location: United States > Utah > Midway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Midway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homestead Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1886, Homestead Resort has been welcoming guests with warm hospitality and charming accommodations. Famous for the Homestead Crater, guests visit from all over the world to soak in the 96 degree geothermal spring water. Other onsite amenities include: two full service restaurants, conference and meeting facilities, 18 hole golf course, as well as expansive grounds for exploration and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Homestead Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead Resort Midway
Homestead Hotel Midway
Homestead Resort Utah/Midway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing