We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Homestead is not what it used to be” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Homestead Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Homestead Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Midway
Kaysville
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Homestead is not what it used to be”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

If you've stayed at The Homestead in the past, you more than likely had a great experience. Unfortunately It's not what it used to be. The Welcome Home Package is not worth the price. We had two small children and dinner took over two hours the first night. They didn't refill our drinks once, and we paid extra for them. When we tried to change to just a regular room without the dinner for the second night we were told it would cost more. The room was dirty, especially the carpet, and we killed four spiders. The fridge didn't work, and the second one froze things. The pool was murky, and most of the staff were rude. The new lobby is nice, but the rest of the resort is old, run down and dirty - especially the rooms. The Customer service was terrible, especially in the restaurant. The setting is beautiful, and the Crater experience was fun. Other than that, it was not worth the money. Sadly, we won't be staying there again any time soon.

Room Tip: Maybe the little cottages are cleaner and nicer. The regular rooms are old, dirty, run down, and ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TripXpert1, Manager at Homestead Resort, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Leslie J,
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us regarding your stay. Myself and my team take great pride in providing an enjoyable stay and it was disheartening to read that we fell short on so many levels. We use all guest feedback as a valuable tool for improvement. Since your departure we've looked into the items you mentioned and have made sure that any necessary corrections were made for our future guests. I know that this doesn't rectify your situation and I'm truly sorry that you weren't able to enjoy the Homestead experience that so many return for.
I know that we've attempted to reach out to you since your departure, but please feel free to contact me directly if you would like to discuss further. I sincerely hope that we will have another opportunity to show you a true Homestead Resort experience.

Eric Clark
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    95
    51
    33
    34
See reviews for
113
125
7
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Our family loves the Homestead! What a beautiful place!! We come every summer and always stay in the cottages which are a little pricier (but not terribly expensive) at about $120-$150 a night. My favorites are The Fairway Cottage and The Ranch House. Clean rooms, great staff, and good food at Simon's or Fanny's Grill. Beautiful golf course and 2 pools on-site. The Homestead is perfect for a romantic weekend or a family getaway. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorilowery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We are seniors, in our 70's and made reservations directly through the Homestead Resort website two months prior. We were traveling with our tiny poodle . We booked a Garden King cottage and from the picture on the website it was a lovely room with vaulted ceilings, beautiful bedding and a seating area with a sofa. We thought for $172 a night it was not a great deal, but reasonable enough. When we arrived we were told that the only room we could have with a pet was In the Ranch House. It looked kind of quaint but old on the outside but when we opened the door and looked at the room we went directly to the desk and told them it was unacceptable. The gentleman told us "too bad", that was the only building we could have our dog in. Paint was peeling off the walls, they were an ugly depressing dark red and the bedspread was hideous. The stopper in the sink was broken and the AC didn't begin to cool the room, there were ants in the bathroom and stains on the carpet. The mini fridge was dirty and iced over. The resort was almost deserted, being on a Sunday-Wednesday. Another more courteous woman at the desk did give us a 20% discount on the room as the picture on the website was "deceiving". We booked the Welcome Home dinner package, thinking the dinner was one night (welcome) but it was for all three nights and served 4-6 people. The first night we ate what we could of the dinner which was good but chicken overdone and we left more than we ate. The next night we ate it again, The third night we asked if we could exchange for something else, like a salad, on the menu and were told no, that is what we get, so we left and dined elsewhere. The grounds are lovely is about all I can say positive about our stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TripXpert1, Manager at Homestead Resort, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Dick V,
I'm so sorry that your recent stay with us didn’t meet your expectations. We take great pride in offering our guests a memorable experience, and when we don’t succeed, we try to learn from it.
We did research your initial, and possibly most problematic issue, the picture of the Garden King Room on our website. We understand how important it is to accurately depict our accommodations and can see how this discrepancy started your stay off on the wrong foot. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Our marketing department has since replaced the picture with one that better represents that particular room type. Your experience also prompted us to change the pet friendly verbiage on our website to better instruct guests to call our reservations department directly to make arrangements for their pooch, so they understand the room type limitations and there are no surprises at check in. We are also considering other alternatives to allow more of the resort to become pet friendly.
Thank you for your feedback regarding the Welcome Home Dinner Package. While it has been well received, I can certainly appreciate your comments in regards to a multiple day stay and the same meal each night. I like to encourage our guests to explore different package options as they can be combined during one stay to enjoy a variety of what the resort has to offer.
I thank you again for your valuable feedback and hope you will see for yourself that we've listened and taken the appropriate action.
Sincerely,
Eric Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Midway hotels

Sandy, Utah
Level Contributor
87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

We found an online deal for The Homestead so we decided on a two night couples getaway. We've played golf here before and eaten at Fanny's Grill but had never stayed. So we booked a king Garden cottage and absolutely loved it. The setting is peaceful and beautiful. The property is well taken care of with shade trees, lawns, and flowers. It was calming to be there and most enjoyable.

For activities, we did play golf which was great, and swam in the pool - particularly the hot pool. So nice. If you haven't stayed here before, now's the time. And if you have, you know what I'm talking about.

Room Tip: We asked for a 1st level floor and really enjoyed it. If you don't like doing stairs, ask for 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard4094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

My daughter gave us a gift certificate for my birthday it included a free night stay and breakfast. Was pleasantly surprised that it included gratuity and tax! We swam in the Crater which was an awesome experience! Loved the relaxed atmosphere! Although this is an older resort everything has been updated, very cozy and refreshing! Will definitely return!

Room Tip: The restaurants are a little pricey, but the food was delicious and the service was great. Kinda pus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2foxs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed sat night it was beautiful the grounds are so fabulous .The front desk was very nice. The pools are clean we went swimming inside and out sat in hot tubs mineral pool and sauna was very relaxing.we had brunch the food was very good.I would love to go again soon.our room was clean so I would recommend anyone that needs a relaxing get away GO its worth your time and money.

Room Tip: We stayed in the barn
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DKM956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Layton, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We went to homestead with two other couples. We drove up to cascade springs with the hotel little direction card on Friday and loved it. Played on 18 hole executive putt putt golf course at sister property the Zermott. Went to the Snake Inn Grill in Heber for dinner and then joined in the cowboy campfire which was so much fun and loved the cookies! On Saturday we golfed on the beautiful Cascade Springs golf course, went swimming in the crater, (bring goggles so you can look down). then we enjoyed the Shane Lee band on the front lawn with a picnic dinner. It was wonderful!!!! On our way home we drove the beautiful alpine loop and enjoyed the beautiful Utah scenery. Only disappointments: The package we purchased was supposed to be buy one get one free golf, but you had to have another person with you to golf right then not in the future. We were promised a $25.00 gift card for gas but got a $50.00 gift card to a theater in Park City we will probably never go to. The staff were so nice. We will go again, and again! We stayed in room 155 of the Lakeview house, (downstairs) it was nice! Be sure to ask for downstairs!

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for downstairs. 155 of the Lakeview house is great room, and a bay window for sit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Midway
8.0 mi away
The St. Regis Deer Valley
The St. Regis Deer Valley
#14 of 60 in Park City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
14.0 mi away
Newpark Resort & Hotel
Newpark Resort & Hotel
#9 of 60 in Park City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
19.5 mi away
Daniels Summit Lodge
Daniels Summit Lodge
#1 of 5 in Heber City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Landmark Inn
6.9 mi away
Stein Eriksen Lodge Deer Valley
6.9 mi away
The Chateaux Deer Valley
The Chateaux Deer Valley
#4 of 60 in Park City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homestead Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homestead Resort

Property: Homestead Resort
Address: 700 N Homestead Drive, Midway, UT 84049
Location: United States > Utah > Midway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Midway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homestead Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1886, Homestead Resort has been welcoming guests with warm hospitality and charming accommodations. Famous for the Homestead Crater, guests visit from all over the world to soak in the 96 degree geothermal spring water. Other onsite amenities include: two full service restaurants, conference and meeting facilities, 18 hole golf course, as well as expansive grounds for exploration and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Homestead Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead Resort Midway
Homestead Hotel Midway
Homestead Resort Utah/Midway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing