We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation”
Review of Homestead Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Homestead Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Midway
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Relaxation”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

This resort is quaint. The buildings make you believe you are visiting in the 1800's The room we had was great, had a wonderful porch to sit on. The amenities are modern. I enjoyed the peace and quite. Located away from the city the air was fresh and the only noise were the birds. My husband was nervous about the hot spring as he is afraid of heights. The hot spring was one of the highlights of the trip. While required to wear a life vest ( no life guard) he relaxed and soaked in the 96 degree water and imagined what it would have been like in the late 1800s when you entered the spring from the top of the dome instead of the current tunnel. We will be going back again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    110
    57
    36
    35
See reviews for
123
140
10
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Morrison, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We traveled to the Homestead Crater for my son's underwater scuba certification. The Homestead Resort was a very convenient place to stay and worked great for us. Rooms were nice, pool was in good shape. Did not eat at the hotel resturants due to cost (a little high for a family).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColoradoDi32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midvale, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband and I chose The Homestead Resort to celebrate our anniversary. This was our first trip there but it won't be our last. The staff couldn't be friendlier! From check in to check out it was first class. Our room was in the Ranch House, it was a small, cozy room but it had a porch and chairs for sitting right outside the door. Our view was of the grassy common area and we chatted with other guests as they enjoyed the evening. It was so nice to hear birds chirping! Very peaceful and relaxing. Dinner at Simon's was very very good, we enjoyed the whole experience, our servers were consistently friendly and courteous, attentive but not smothering. The ambience was so relaxing, we loved the real-wood fireplaces. I highly recommend the chocolate skillet cookie! We enjoyed our complimentary soak in the crater, that's an experience that shouldn't be missed. Once again the staff was so very nice. We will certainly be back.

Room Tip: We recommend choosing a room that faces away from the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
1 review
Reviewed April 7, 2013

the spring setting was beautiful. we swam and enjoyed the atmosphere of other families spending a vacation together. it was calm and peaceful on the property for a morning walk, with birds singing in the tall, established trees. the personnel were very friendly and accommodating. we really appreciated this. we loved this upper room in the willow house. it was spacious and clean with lots of natural light. very quaint. very quiet for restful sleep. we will stay again, hopefully in this same room. we'd like to come back to stay for a night and attend one of their evening outdoor concert series perfomances on the front lawn. we've been to those and it makes for a very enjoyable summer evening in Midway, Utah.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jzaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We had a wonderful time at the Homestead Resort! We loved the variety of accommodations and were amazed at how reasonably priced they all were. We just had breakfast at the restaurant, but it was great as was the service. My daughter got her scuba certification at the crater and the entire activities staff were amazing! Ask for Eddie if you want a great scuba experience!

Room Tip: I would suggest calling rather than booking online to get the type of room you need. They have so ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Forks, North Dakota
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed at the Homestead before. Always for local family vacation getaway. The separate cottages are nice and Iike the fireplace venue. The granddaughters love swimming in the natural springs hot pot and you cane even scuba dive there.

This time, the room design was still good and so was the hot pot, and but service was poor, and some trash around the building was unsightly... It seemed like the staff was a bit lacking. Plus, the hotel restaurant food was very poor. Overcooked meat, poor tasting food across the board. I won't go back to the restaurant...

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertDHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We went stayed over night and did the lodge and tubing package. Our room was spacious and clean. We ate at the resorts restaurant- Simon's for dinner, the best prime rib I've ever had! We also walked over to the activity center and bought passes for the crater, so cool!! The water is perfect for relaxing in.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Froggy91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Midway
8.0 mi away
The St. Regis Deer Valley
The St. Regis Deer Valley
#13 of 60 in Park City
838 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Chateaux Deer Valley
The Chateaux Deer Valley
#9 of 60 in Park City
590 reviews
19.4 mi away
Daniels Summit Lodge
Daniels Summit Lodge
#1 of 5 in Heber City
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Stein Eriksen Lodge Deer Valley
14.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Landmark Inn & Pancake House
8.9 mi away
Marriott's MountainSide
Marriott's MountainSide
#11 of 60 in Park City
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homestead Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homestead Resort

Property: Homestead Resort
Address: 700 N Homestead Drive, Midway, UT 84049
Location: United States > Utah > Midway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Midway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homestead Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1886, Homestead Resort has been welcoming guests with warm hospitality and charming accommodations. Famous for the Homestead Crater, guests visit from all over the world to soak in the 96 degree geothermal spring water. Other onsite amenities include: two full service restaurants, conference and meeting facilities, 18 hole golf course, as well as expansive grounds for exploration and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Homestead Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead Resort Midway
Homestead Hotel Midway
Homestead Resort Utah/Midway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing